Starflight: The Plane That Couldn't Land (Airport 85)(Starflight One) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Starflight: The Plane That Couldn't Land (Airport 85)(Starflight One) Reviews

Page 1 of 1
July 10, 2017
Ok I will not watch this movie to boring sorry, and it's too old freshened!
½ January 18, 2016
So bad. So so bad. There are points where even the cast looks like "Why am I here?"
½ December 31, 2015
From the writer of "Escape to Witch Mountain" and the director of "Gomer Pyle" and "Walker, Texas Ranger" comes an awfully forgettable Airport disaster film ripoff. I'd dismiss the film as TV movie quality, but it actually was a TV movie and features TV stars like Lee "Six Million Dollar Man" Majors and Hal "Barney Miller" Linden. And like most disaster films of this time, there was the usual mix of famous stars of the past (Ray Milland, Robert Webber, Jocelyn Brando [sister of Marlon in her final film appearance]) and familiar faces of the moment (Lauren Hutton, Tess Harper, Terry Kiser, Gail Strickland, George DiCenzo, and Heather McAdam). The story here involves the first "hypersonic" passenger airplane, but something goes wrong (Titanic style) on it's maiden voyage. Corny, even by 70s disaster film standards.
½ October 27, 2012
The first hypersonic plane for commercial flight lifts off only to wind up in space. Rescue attempts fail until Lee Majors guides it back into the earth's atmosphere with space shuttle Columbia's help. Million to one odds. A triumph for NASA.
½ May 13, 2012
Very cheesy and predictable.
½ September 13, 2010
Very cheesy and predictable.
½ November 23, 2009
First 'hypersonic' passenger flight has trouble when it launches itself into space. This one drags out all the cliches the AIRPORT series milked over four films. Special mention to pit crew for landing, servicing and relaunching the space shuttle several times during the crisis and Hal Linden for routinely coming up with simple solutions to very complex problems. I suspected Starflight One would land safely when Lee Majors put on his lucky hat.
July 2, 2009
Fun, crazy hard to find disaster movie. Saw it on VHS back in the day while visiting my dad at the weekends so have some fond memories of it.
½ March 3, 2009
The first hypersonic plane for commercial flight lifts off only to wind up in space. Rescue attempts fail until Lee Majors guides it back into the earth's atmosphere with space shuttle Columbia's help. Million to one odds. A triumph for NASA.
February 16, 2009
This is an extreme version of the Airplane disaster movies (although not officiallly one of the franchise). It is a poorly acted and directed film, although for pure fantasy realism it has to be given some credit. One thing is for sure, this won't be Branson's in-flight movie for his Virgin space trips!
December 18, 2008
This movie is not a normal catastrophe movie and thats what I like so much about it.
Page 1 of 1