Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace Reviews

Page 1 of 2047
May 22, 2019
I think the biggest criticism of the prequel trilogy is that it was not like the older movies and was too childish and goofy. What these older fans also don't realize, is that this prequel trilogy was meant for kids. Growing up with this as a childhood favorite, I can speak that all kids I knew at the time enjoyed this movie. I believe it will be looked at better overtime as the younger generation gets older and more and more kids get to experience it the right way-from a child's point of view.
½ May 21, 2019
Young children will probably enjoy The Phantom Menace, but ultimately, when you compare it to the original trilogy, everything about TPM is awful. New canon is terrible, old canon is trampled upon, and let's be honest, no one wants to watch a space opera film just to be mired down with politics involving an incompetent bureaucracy.
May 20, 2019
Much hate has been given to the Star Wars prequels but The Phantom Menace did give us a proper beginning for the greatest villain in film history...Darth Vader. Jake Lloyd plays Anakin Skywalker with a slyness which predicts his downfall and corruption leading to the darkside. Fanboys may not get it...try reading Joseph Campbell.
May 20, 2019
A spectacular beginning to the saga!
½ May 20, 2019
Star wars is sciece-fiction movie. Star Wars is set on a galaxi. This movie is a fight betwem rebels and empire.
May 19, 2019
Not sure why people rag on this movie so much, yes it had its flaws but it was still a movie with a lot of neat concepts going on. Way better than the junk Disney gives us.

1) Actual Aliens
2) Podracing
3) Duel between Darth Maul
4) Naboo and Otah Gunga
5) Battle Droids and Destroyer Droids
6) Ewan McGregor and Natalie Portman

Just a few things which were amazing with the film, not sure why theres so much hate plus George Lucas directed it. As far as Im concerned this is absolute gold and always will be compared to the terrible crap that we have to watch right now like the Last Jedi.
½ May 19, 2019
If you just take out Jar Jar Binks, then the film is gold. This film's only problem is Jar Jar. While the kids will find him funny (I did when I was a kid, and stil do) he is a bit extra. Take him out and you've got a story about a wise Jedi Maverick who frees a child slave so he can live out his dream of being a Jedi, as well as Qui-Gon's belief that he is the Chosen One. Then, just sprinkle in a bit of beef with the Jedi Council, and the return of the Sith, and you got yourself gold.
½ May 19, 2019
People are overreacting when jar jar comes up
May 19, 2019
Story about how Rebuplic has fallen into corruption and cannot solve problems because of said corruption to Jedi Order that was offended by possibilty of Sith return.
Qui Gon as paragon type character and his student who are is conflict because of Jedi order. Palpatine masterfully create crisis with his pawns Trade Federation and he manage to be elected to be chancellor which was first step of his plan. Soundtrack is among best ever and lightsaber duel was best and only ep3 tops it.
Finally we saw universe where technology is not like that bucket millenium falcon. Its good to see new vehicles and new species and new technology.
½ May 9, 2019
It the Good Star Wars franchise ever... I felt like a kid when this movie came out in theater.
May 9, 2019
All good except the pod racing scene.
May 7, 2019
Great film with a lot of fun and interesting world building on how things use to be before the empire.
½ May 5, 2019
An underrated film by all. Amazing cast and interesting plot. as a film that wasn't Star Wars this would be great but as a Star Wars film it lacks the "Star Wars Magic"
½ May 5, 2019
terrible - just terrible
May 4, 2019
Look, this isn't the worst movie ever. I wouldn't even say it's... terrible. But this is still a really bad movie. The crappy effects, the dull writing and direction, and the ungodly pace are the main things that make me want to sink The Phantom Menace deep into the Naboo Abyss.
½ May 4, 2019
This is now the 10th time I've seen Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace and sadly I can't even say that it's a third as good as Episode IV: A New Hope.

Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace is the 4th Star Wars film and the 1st Star Wars prequel. The film was directed by George Lucas who also directed Episode IV: A New Hope. The film stars Ewan McGregor as Obi-Wan Kenobi and Liam Neeson as Qui-Gon Jinn.

The acting was just plain bad from the emotion to the dialogue delivery. Now A New Hope may not have the best acting ever, but at least it was confident. The only person in my opinion that did a good job was Liam Neeson as Qui-Gon Jinn.

The characters are bad for the most part especially the Devil himself Jar Jar Binks, but I do have to say that a couple characters like Darth Maul and Qui-Gon Jinn I did enjoy to watch on the big screen.

The cinematography was steady with a couple cool shots of the characters and scenery, but nothing that special.

The settings were mixed for me because I did like a couple of the destinations, but I have to say that most of the planets were either rehashes from the original trilogy or just very bland.

The set designs and props were strong, but sadly the film tries to use special effects over the practical effects.

The film in my opinion also has some good costume design especially with the Jedi and Sith.

The special effects in my opinion are very dated and really distract from the film. Personally I think that George Lucas should have stuck with the puppets.

The action wasn't bad, but it wasn't necessarily good either. The Lightsaber fights were entertaining, but whenever it would involve the droids or ships it would just drag on.

The music was definitely the best thing within the film especially the song Duel of the Fates. Personally I think that John Williams is one of the greatest conductors of all time.

The story in my opinion felt off throughout the runtime of the film, but I want to say that I'm not against the idea of making a prequel to Star Wars if done properly.

The comedy was one of the most annoying things within the film especially with the character Jar Jar Binks. Every time Jar Jar Binks did something 1/2~comical' I just wanted to turn off the TV and go outside.

The film also had some very interesting ideas, but sadly they were executed wrongly.

The film is also quiet boring and hard to get through. Plus In my opinion I felt that it wasn't even a Star Wars film until the very end.

Over all I give it a
3/10
32%
1.6/5

Darth Maul was cool, but not enough to change my mind on the film.
May 3, 2019
Ugh this movie has a few great ideas but many, many awful ideas that drag it down sooooo much. Great ideas are Darth Maul and Qui Gon Jinn. Qui Gon is a very interesting character and was incredibly likable and has always been one of my favorite characters in the saga. Darth Maul is maybe the coolest villain in film history, the design, the weapon, everything about him is just great. However, Darth Maul gets only one good scene in the whole movie and is very underutilized. Now the bad ideas include using CGI on NEARLY EVERY SHOT in the movie, there is literally only ONE shot in the whole movie without CGI. The pod racing concept sounds kinda cool but it's somehow extremely boring. Another terrible idea is the Gungans, I don't need to elaborate on that I think everyone knows why the Gungans are awful. Overall this movie isn't very important to the franchise and isn't really worth your time.
½ April 28, 2019
Star Wars fans often give The Phantom Menace more hate than it deserves. Before everyone gets out their pitchforks, I don't think it is a good film. I merely consider it not to be the worst Star Wars film - that dubious honor goes to Attack of the Clones. While The Phantom Menace is not a good film, with boring or annoying heroes and non threatening or underdeveloped villains, it is saved from complete awfulness by an exciting final battle and an excellent score.

The main issue I have with The Phantom Menace is that all of the main characters are at least one of the following: badly written, badly acted, or underutilized. Jar Jar is a general irritant, a poorly executed comic relief character who is often used by fans of the series as a symbol of their dislike of the prequels. Natalie Portman gives a mediocre performance as Padme and her character has some cringe worthy dialogue, especially when talking to Anakin. As for Anakin, Jake Lloyd gives a poor performance (which doesn't make the vitriol the poor kid received any more acceptable - he's a child actor being directed by George Lucas, after all) and is written as a sort of child genius who is special in every possible way (the chosen one, Force sensitive, an expert at building droids and podracers, an ace pilot, etc.), reminiscent of a younger version of the much-despised Wesley Crusher over on Star Trek. As for Qui Gon and Obi Wan, they are much more tolerable, but the film does little of interest with either character over the course of the movie.

The portrayal of the antagonists is also the source of some of the issues with this film. At the beginning of A New Hope, the film shows stormtroopers clearing the Tantive V of rebel soldiers while sustaining minimal casualties. This builds them up as menacing adversaries, something that is frequently forgotten given their later portrayals. The battle droids, on the other hand, spend their first few scenes being effortlessly reduced to piles of spare parts by the Jedi. The Neimoidians are equally nonthreatening, with a portrayal as greedy, incompetent cowards. This creates an issue for the entire trilogy and most of the spin offs set during this period, as it makes the main villains hard to take seriously. While Darth Maul is more menacing and has an awesome character design, he never receives any backstory or motivation - much like the criticism fans had about Snoke in The Last Jedi, except Maul is built up to a greater degree.

While The Phantom Menace is possibly one of the most despised film of its decade, the film has some positive aspects which prevent it from being entirely terrible. The score is one of John Williams' finest works, with "Duel of the Fates" being a particular standout. A lot of work also obviously went into designing the sets, starships, and planets, although the extensive use of CGI leads to the world looking less real than that depicted in the Original Trilogy. However, neither of these is the reason why I'm more forgiving of this film than Attack of the Clones. One scene elevates The Phantom Menace slightly - the climactic battle between the two Jedi and Darth Maul, set to the aforementioned "Duel of the Fates". This fight is one of the best lightsaber duels of the franchise and more exciting than anything else the next film in the franchise would offer.

Despite the flashy effects and an enjoyable lightsaber duel, there is no way I can recommend Star Wars: The Phantom Menace. The majority of the film is either boring or cringey. It is possible for a film with a mediocre plot and characters to stand out solely on the basis of its action scenes and visuals. A New Hope, while blessed with some interesting characters and worldbuilding, is beloved in large part due to its innovative visuals. An even better example is Avatar, which broke box office records because of its visuals, not its insipid plot or forgettable characters. The major difference is that these films had numerous scenes throughout the movie showcasing their strengths. The Phantom Menace spends too much of its runtime on pointless or boring scenes which provide little in the way of entertainment.
½ April 27, 2019
Wow not even John Williams wonderful score or the amazing special effects and character designs can save the film from its awful writing and direction.
April 25, 2019
Awesome and absolute star wars
Page 1 of 2047