Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace Reviews

Page 2 of 12
July 6, 2010
Honestly, I had a decent time.
October 18, 2008
The special effects are some of the most dazzling and amazing ever seen on the big screen. In addition, the acting is excellent.
March 4, 2008
The horror of Jar Jar Binks aside, there's plenty in Episode I to keep us entertained.
July 14, 2007
It's still a galaxy far, far away, and it still looks like nothing we've ever seen before.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 26, 2006
It's good to have Star Wars -- any Star Wars -- back after such a long time; and it's worth seeing.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 2, 2006
Despite a shaky start and the presence of questionable elements throughout, by the time it arrives at its finale The Phantom Menace has won its place alongside the original Star Wars trilogy.
November 4, 2005
Lucas has protected his multibillion-dollar franchise by making a film targeted at children. It gives them exactly what they want--eye candy that moves at light speed.
Full Review | Original Score: B
May 20, 2005
What's important to remember is that the better moments don't merely balance out the weaker ones - they topple them.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 19, 2005
What is most striking about Lucas' movies -- all his movies, including THX 1138 and American Graffiti -- is a sort of startling obviousness.
Read More | Original Score: A
January 15, 2005
I must take issue with the intense backlash from other critics against the film.
Full Review | Original Score: B
May 20, 2003
No film made could measure up to the avalanche of buzz and craziness surrounding this release. There is plenty of both good and bad news here.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 8, 2003
I enjoyed the film and feel that it established the foundation for many story elements that were curiously unexplained in the previous trilogy.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
January 10, 2003
Film franchises come and go all the time in Hollywood, particularly in science-fiction circles, but the Force is still strong in this one.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
September 10, 2002
Lucas' films might not be very deep, but they're very complex and involving in a comic book kind of way.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 12, 2002
Even with a pretty rotten crust the toppings are still delicious.
August 2, 2002
The movie's visual artstry amazed me.
May 31, 2002
Se este fosse o primeiro episódio da série a chegar aos cinemas, ela não teria alcançado o status e a longevidade que conseguiu nos últimos 20 anos.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 25, 2002
It exactly has the same strengths and weaknesses as the original three, plus breathtakingly spectacular visual design and special effects.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
May 18, 2002
Episodio I tuvo la virtud de juntar a dos generaciones en un mismo fenómeno
| Original Score: 8/10
May 15, 2002
Lucas at his visionary best and at his maddening worst.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Page 2 of 12