Special Correspondents - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Special Correspondents Reviews

Page 1 of 7
April 13, 2019
Riky GErvais has had an odd career and this does nothing to alter that opinion.
IT must have sounded a good idea: 2 guys from a radio station get sent to cover a war in Ecuador but call in their reports from a room opposite the station. Then they have to get there to be set free... that was probably the last time it was actually funny.
April 10, 2019
Correspondents isn't the most memorable comedy, but Gervais and Bana make a good duo. With Gervais writing and directing, we expected more shock factor, but a subdued Gervais is better than no Gervais.
November 29, 2018
I've watched this numerous times. It makes me laugh every time. I think the reviews are unfair, which is what is leading me to write a review.

Objectively, The characters are not feeble. In fact both main characters are shown to grow in a positive way throughout the film. It's a great story told brilliantly. I found Gervais' unique take on the media an interesting idea throughout the first part of the film.

Subjectively, I am a long time fan of Gervais' work, and I was glad to see a lot of observations from the podcast days and from his standup work.
½ November 10, 2018
Entertaining, and quite amusing at points. The plot - for being absurd, was quite certainly novel to me.
October 27, 2018
A radio journalist and his technician fake their own kidnapping during a rebel uprising in South America and instead hide out in New York. It's an amusing premise humorously realised in the hands of Ricky Gervais and Eric Bana (in return to his comedic origins). Although it starts slow, the story twists and turns to take the audience to some unexpected places which makes it an engaging enough film.
½ September 8, 2018
Ricky Gervais I never found that funny but his movies are watchable. Eric Bana was well cast in this smarmy reporter role. Vera Farmiga was terrific as the uncaring money obsessed wife of Gervais. Works ok for a while, but it got boring quickly particulary when they were spending so much time in the room. Then when they went to Ecuador for real the action started. This wont stay in the memory long. Special Correspondents is like a mix of some great ideas but the movie never makes it there.
April 4, 2018
dire dreadful desperate
½ March 8, 2018
Fast forward and skip to 51 minutes in and I promise you won't miss a beat. It makes the movie much better
½ March 3, 2018
Ricky Gervais inspires a lot of loyalty from his fans. To my mind, he's stretching it to it's limits. Despite a good overall premise and some deft touches, this doesn't work as a comedy or a satire. It isn't funny enough for the former or cutting enough for the latter. That said, it really could have worked as contemporary satire in the current climate, but not with Gervais in front of the camera. I dare say he might have a future in movies, although the lack of A listers flocking to his projects after a decade in Hollywood suggests otherwise. His bumbling, distracted Englishman schtick makes Hugh Grant look like Oscar material. The rest of the cast turn in a decent shift and Bana is surprisingly good in a lighter role. Vera Farmiga seems to be on something of a downward trajectory, which is surprising given her talent. Kelly McDonald is always brilliant. Back to the drawing board for a second run out,
methinks. Next time, do it right.
October 3, 2017
I am actually shocked that this movie got such a low rating. I loved it! Ricky Gervais is a brilliant writer and actor. I love Ricky and have never been disappointed with anything he has ever made.
½ September 30, 2017
Probably Gervais' most consistent, focused foray in filmmaking, "Special Correspondents" has a fun premise, good acting and lots of big laughs. It's very pleasurable throughout and, even if - or because - it doesn't aim too high, it doesn't have one boring or needless scene. It flows marvelously and gets the job done.
½ September 2, 2017
It's a Netflix-produced project written and directed by legendary comedy mastermind Ricky Gervais, who also stars alongside Eric Bana.
A radio journalist (Bana) and his technician (Gervais) fake their own kidnapping during a rebel uprising in Ecuador and try to hide out in New York instead. Also appearing: Vera Farmiga, Kelly Macdonald, Kevin Pollak, America Ferrera, Raúl Castillo, Benjamin Bratt et al.
Like most of Gervais's movies, it's not as sharp and funny as his famous for based on his other works (TV series, standup, podcasts etc). Sadly, it's also nearly not as mainstream friendly as most of his movies which have at least some memorable LOL moments.
It's based on a decent idea and the screenplay is competent, but the humor is rather dry and intellectual, making one go I see what they did here" rather than really enjoying the show.
The satirical pokes about the authenticity of modern media business and the worthiness of the stars it creates gives the story at least some extra depth, even if you won't remember it the next morning.
Dialogue and acting are competent, too, but we spend most of the time in the company of two men with no palpable chemistry - just doing their work and being professional about it.
Always solid Vera Farmiga gives a more juicier performance as a technician's villainous wife but she can't conquer the overall dryness of it all, either.
The movie also looks cheap, which is not a problem in itself because the small budget sets its limits. But I have to say it's overall one of the less exciting Gervais projects I've seen. Sorry.
At least it doesn't go on for too long, although at 101 minutes it's not exactly short either. And yes, disappointing Gervais is still better than no Gervais at all.
IMDb says it's a remake of 2009's French comedy "Envoyés très spéciaux". Both have mediocre user rating but the newer version has a bit higher score (5.8 vs 5.3 out of 10).
January 26, 2017
This film is a lot better than people give it credit for and is up there as one of Gervais's bests. Both Bana and Gervais's roles are funny and suit them well and they showed very good chemistry together. The film had a very interesting story behind it and was enjoyable all throughout.
January 16, 2017
This movie always feels like it's about to go somewhere but each time it falls flat. Even the climax was so anticlimactic that I wasn't sure if that was it....pretty much a waste of time.
½ December 7, 2016
Legendary Ricky Gervais wrote and directed this good comedy. Alongside Eric Bana, who plays a journalist, he delivers an outstanding performance. Gervais and Bana are being 'kidnapped' but they really are still in NY. They have to put this charade up until the end.Good movie.
December 3, 2016
Ricky Gervais gets out of the office and into a whole new occupational hazard - field reporting - in his latest comedy, Netflix's "Special Correspondents." Some viewers may be surprised by how good Bana is doing comedy. Same with Farmiga, but that allows Gervais to leave some of the heavier lifting as far as acting to his co-stars. Gervais has again done a solid job writing and directing his own material. Perversely pleasurable, it works on its own self-conscious terms, though not all audiences will appreciate its English brand of sad-sack humour. He has great chemistry with Eric Bana as they bicker between themselves about the situation they've found themselves in, and the emotional and comedic core does eventually find its way to the foreground during the final arc of the story. It's not exactly breaking news, but the British comic certainly has fun going for broke. There's a lot of Gervais' usual self-deprecating humor in "Special Correspondents." Bana in particular seems to relish poking fun at his chubby counterpart - and it creates great odd couple humor between Bana's rugged good looks and charm countered by his co-star's schlubby persona. Overall, Special Correspondents doesn't offer a ton of surprises for those already fans of Gervais' sense of humor. It's not exactly breaking news, but the British comic certainly has fun going for broke.

VERDICT: "In The Zone" - [Mixed Reaction] These kinds of movies are usually movies that had some good things, but some bad things kept it from being amazing. This rating says buy an ex-rental or a cheap price of the DVD to own. If you consider cinema, ask for people's opinion on the film. (Films that are rated 2.5 or 3 stars)
½ November 6, 2016
In what could have been an interesting premise or buddy comedy turned out to be a shallow attempt at, well, I couldn't tell you what they were trying to do. It's a nothing story without a single character I could bring myself to care about. Though Mrs. Finch is easy to hate they generated heat for her using a shallow premise. I was left wondering why she was so bad, was she always evil to him, or why would she think he would ever have been putting her in a mansion.

It's bad, trust me, avoid it.
½ November 4, 2016
If you are bored beyond belief on a Friday night, this is not a bad option. Had a small hint of that uncomfortable British quirkiness to it. Overall, not bizarre or cheesy enough to the point of turning it off.
October 25, 2016
A low-budget Gervais movie which has so much potential, but ultimately fails to find the mark. Gervais plays his standard self-deprecating Brit character against a fairly strong Eric Bana in what is more definitely the lead role. The supporting cast are good, even though the portrayal of the Latin-American couple in New York is stereotypical (and bordering on racist) of under-educated immigrants. A bigger budget could have made this better, or maybe working with a company that's not Netflix so it actually has to draw a cinema audience rather than satisfying their contractual obligations to their customers. Despite this, there are amusing moments, but the plot twists were far too obvious.
October 6, 2016
Ricky Gervais knows how to write brilliant, painful and awkward comedy and he usually expertly follows this up with a gut punch of heart breaking tenderness. Special Correspondents is an enjoyable but instantly forgettable film. It was only really the 2nd half of the film that made me laugh and the characters weren't as likeable as in Gervais' previous writing. I also felt that Vera Farmiga was perhaps miscast as Gervais' onscreen wife, she didn't really have an onscreen presence for this role and felt she was a bit flat. It might be down to this being a remake and so there are aspects of the original film as well as Gervais' original writing. Enjoyable once but not one I'd go back to.
Page 1 of 7