Spanglish - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Spanglish Reviews

Page 1 of 308
March 28, 2019
It always gives me a good laugh. I love the grandmother character.
½ March 16, 2019
A lot like Adam Sandler's film Funny People it is supposed to be a comedy but not like Sandler's typical comedies such as That's My Boy, Mr. Deeds, and Big Daddy. Adam Sandler does not have to be obnoxious to be funny and this film proves it. Even if you do not typically like Adam Sandler comedies it is worth a watch because Sandler does a good job at not being obnoxious when he clearly wants to be.
½ March 2, 2019
This is easily one of the worst movies ever. It isnďż 1/2(TM)t even so bad itďż 1/2(TM)s amusing like the room, mummy returns, ect. Itďż 1/2(TM)s just unwatchable horrible
½ October 1, 2018
'Spanglish' isn't exactly funny however it does have some intrigue. Dramatically it certainly isn't flat however the supposed resolution towards the end feels unearned.
½ September 9, 2018
this is the worst film I've ever seen.
August 20, 2018
The primary focus of the movie should have been the mother daughter relationship, instead it disregards that for most of the movie before trying hopelessly in the end to tie it back in.
July 16, 2018
Great acting performances by the entire cast (yes, even Sandler) Clever writing. The characters seem cliche but the dialog is surprisingly thoughtful. This movie is very underrated.
May 9, 2018
While Sandler is certainly on his better game here, he is not enough to elevate this film. The story had potential, but is far more interested in pushing an agenda as opposed to playing the subtext. The writers seem to be talking down to their audience and virtue signal constantly. It wouldn't take much to improve this film, but it seems Hollywood politics are now more important than quality.
February 20, 2018
This was an interesting movie. The casting and acting was well done. I liked many of the expressive emotions communicated through the characters with no dialogue and emotive expressions. This is one of Adam Sandlers best roles. Especially since it is not a slapstick comedy role. It is not a deep movie but extremely heart felt. Nihilist cynics that live a Machiavellian lifestyle and have narcissistic personality disorder will hate this moral lesson driven story. But if you have the heart of a Teddy Bear, you will love this movie. The acting is superb; Téa Leoni, Paz Vega, Cloris Leachman, Sarah Steele, Shelbie Bruce all give incredible performances in this film. It's not an intellectual film but one that pulls at the heart stings and considers relationships and difficult decisions in adult life. But I can see that if you are a selfish immoral person with low emotional intelligence you will most likely hate this film. I liked it quite a bit. A bit sappy but tells a great story.
½ February 5, 2018
Horrible ending. Not good. Simply disappointing.
½ January 25, 2018
Adam Sandler egyik komolyabb hangvétel? filmjér?l van szó. Aki jól akar szórakozni, azoknak ajánlom.
September 12, 2017
Spanglish is a great movie that's worth of a sequel, in my opinion. The entirety of the tension throughout the movie was never fully resolved, in my opinion. Fantastic performances by all actors. I think every actor found their niche and maximized their on screen potential. I do, though, believe the movie could've used about 20 more minutes or so to develop the story more carefully, though. I've enjoyed the ride this movie takes me on each time I watch it. 13 years later, I'm still concerned about these characters.
August 20, 2017
Story about a rich guy in a loveless marriage who ends up falling for his Hispanic maid. One of the only Sandler movies I enjoy. This and Punch Drunk Love. The acting is terrible but James L. Brooks does such a good job with this movie's story that I liked it.
July 24, 2017
Unique, comical, and heartwarming. A cultural comedy that touches the heart and giggle-box with its creative writing and unique characters who all transform due to a selfish, self-conscious woman and a sweet, gentile, unfamiliar maid. Very accurate, in regards to culture and behavior which makes the movie more enjoyable on a realistic note. Sandler isn't as boast in this film, but he still makes a great chef/father. Vega is also very endearing and beautiful in this film as she ultimately steals the audience away.
July 22, 2017
One of my favorite movies. Tea Leoni is outstanding in this film. I recognized aspects of myself in her character, Adam Sandler's character, and Clorid Leachman's character, and not always flattering aspects. This movie is much better than the critics would lead you to believe.
April 27, 2017
is it just me? What's with all the poor reviews? I love this movie!
½ February 2, 2017
kind of long but semi-entertaining. The kids acted well.
½ January 1, 2017
It's good movie to watch
½ December 26, 2016
Téa Leoni is just amazing in this!
½ December 6, 2016
One of Sandler's better movies but it didn't do it for me.
Page 1 of 308