Soul Surfer - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Soul Surfer Reviews

Page 1 of 146
May 26, 2019
The Story Was A Bit Too Religious & Drifted Off-Track, But I Suppose The Family Executively Produced A Theme They Wanted Over-Arching It All.
March 30, 2019
The movie is great. The story is inspiring. But the CGI of Bethany arm is pretty bad, especially at near the end of film.
½ February 19, 2019
I enjoyed this movie. I love the real Bethany in her interviews she is precious. AnnaSophia Robb did an excellent job in playing Bethany. My favorites were Helen Hunt and Dennis Quaid in this movie. GREAT actors.
½ November 28, 2018
Soul Surfer is the true story of a teenage girl from Hawaii, Bethany Hamilton, who is destined to become a professional surfer. She's winning contests and sponsors are ready to sign her up. Unfortunately, while surfing with a group of friends, waiting for a wave with her arm dangling in the water, a shark attacks and bites off Bethany's left arm. Some quick action from the father of her best friend who is surfing with the girls saves Bethany's life; however, she is now left with her dream to be a professional surfer crushed. Not one to give up, Bethany gets back in the water as soon as she's allowed and she has to relearn how to surf with one arm. When paddling with one arm proves too difficult, her father devises a way to add a strap to Bethany's surfboard to help her gain control. This new device quickly has Bethany surfing like she did before her injury. When she returns to competition she is again frustrated by her inability to paddle as quickly as her competitors. Bethany can surf better than all of them but it's difficult for her to catch as many waves with only one arm. In the end, Bethany does well in the competition but not well enough to win. Nevertheless, Bethany is reborn with a new spirit knowing she has the power to overcome her injury and ready to continue her life embracing this new challenge.

This is truly an incredible story of a remarkable recovery from a traumatic injury followed by the will and determination to overcome a major disability. If you're a surfer you'll enjoy some good surfing footage in this film, but you may cringe at the over-use of cliché surf lingo most of which is no longer used. Those who are not into surfing will still find this story intriguing because it's not a story about surfing as much as it is a story about overcoming tragedy. The shark attack is not graphic and is fairly easy to watch. You may want to turn your head for a few seconds if this kind of trauma troubles you. The faith element in this film is fairly superficial and plays a minor role in the storytelling. This is clearly a Christian family who work through their problems with God in mind but that is not the main focus of this story. Overall, this is an enjoyable film to watch with the family. There's something for everybody in this movie.
July 30, 2018
This is a great, Inspiring movie, and a fun movie to watch with friends. This is my go-to movie. I love this movie!!!!!!
June 1, 2018
I've noticed that when the so-called "critics" rate a movie poorly on Rottentomatoes, the audience rating is always much higher! If you want a really good feel good movie based on a true story, watch this flick! They weren't out to win an academy award. They were simply telling a story with a heartfelt message. And there was no swearing, sex, or unnecessary violence.
March 26, 2018
I honestly don't understand all the lackluster reviews this film has received. No, it's not a perfect movie, but no movie is. Also, it's a PG version of a real life tragedy that's aimed for young people so they can experience it and learn the lessons in a way they can understand. Yes, some parts of the movie were cheesy but most parts as an adult has me holding back tears and fighting the chills. The shark attack scene was intense and realistic and the aftermath of what such an event would do to a close-knit family is totally believable. Not to mention Bethany herself and her family helped consult the director and crew of this movie. The first time I saw this film in theaters I was 11 and after that I faced a very difficult point in my life where I was handicapped for almost a year. This movie and Bethany Hamilton's real story helped me a lot. Anyone who has seen this movie and connected with it in some way has faced similar hardships and can respect it's PG movie approach to get a lovely message across. As an adult and a huge appreciator of well directed and realistic movies, Soul Surfer holds up to my 11 year-old splendor till this day!
March 21, 2018
Usually a little corny, but it's easily got enough inspiration and heart to help keep it ripping the waves with some spectacle even after the bell rings.
½ March 20, 2018
what a fucking terrible movie what the hell is this acting IS THE DOCTOR A RAPIST
March 6, 2018
this movie is a very good movie because it shows a lot the seperation, where even with the difficulties the main character has not lost focus and did not give up on his dreams.
½ February 14, 2018
An awful-inaccurate and overwhelmingly boring story.
The movie seems to focus on christianity more than an accurate portrayal of Hamilton. I wouldn't mind showing her faith but there is way to many inaccuracies throughout. About a stupid and yet cheesy shark attack. The acting is wooden and has many pathetic scenes that look poorly done. You might think it is inspiring, but there are better inspirational movies about huge things instead of a redundant film like this. To know better about the story, watch the real interviews about Bethany Hamilton.
February 11, 2018
Soul Surfer is based off the true story of Bethany Hamilton, a young, up-and-coming surfer who loses her arm when she is attacked by a shark. While the videography is breathtaking, the exposition feels a little too similar to a fairy tale to be taken seriously, making the shark attack overly anticipated and melodramatic. Immediately after the attack, however, Bethany is rushed to the ER in a heart-pounding race for survival. The conflict is fast-paced but captures the raw emotion of those closest to the main character. Throughout the movie, Bethany's friends and family do their best to support her, but their dialogue is predictable and cliche at times. That is, except for the parents. Bethany's parents are dumbfounded as to how to guide Bethany through such a tragic accident. Thier conversations bring forth the real hurt that goes on in limbo land when you don't know how to respond. Made to be an inspiring Christian film, I think the movie does a great job tackling the "Why suffering?" question but leaves the viewer feeling like the answer is too good to be true.
February 1, 2018
Makes me cry every time and I'm a big guy so kinda embarrassing lol
January 13, 2018
Entertaining movie from the start through the end credits, this is one of my new favorites. Yeah there's plenty of hokey-feeling plot points, but they're driven by stuff that actually happened, and the story is inspiring + the scenery is majestic. I'm not one to ever really be affected by sentimental movies, but this one affected me in every good way. Very highly recommended.
September 8, 2017
Since this was a true story, there is nothing to critique about it. It's a true story that looks like it can inspire anyone to do great things even after all seeming to have failed. I'm sure Bethany herself must be proud that her story can be spread out amongst many true story tales that intrigue the normal people of the world. However, there is always something to point out from a movie.

The special effects were done nicely, you'll notice very quickly how a certain thing was done and it'll have you questioning it, and the shark attack comes when you least expect it.

The performances amongst the actors were solemnly certain where most were modestly mediocre, but I wouldn't count AnnaSophia out completely, she did her part as strongly as she could.

Its the story that'll keep you interested more than what the filmmaker was doing with it, and that's really all that is necessary for a true event like this.
½ July 22, 2017
Loved it even if others didn't. Emma, Lucy and Charlotte 10/10.
May 4, 2017
I loved soul surfer. It was very inspirational and based on an incredible true story. This is one of the best movies i've seen.
½ March 26, 2017
This movie is great for children because it's telling them not to give up and try again
½ March 15, 2017
Such an amazing story of overcoming obstacles.
February 1, 2017
It's good movie to watch
Page 1 of 146