Solomon Kane - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Solomon Kane Reviews

Page 1 of 87
½ May 21, 2019
Every time I found myself sinking into the story, upholding my suspension of disbelief and enjoying myself, the movie had some way of pulling me back out into the real world, either with hammy acting, unsubtle literary symbolism, or an incredibly predictable plot.
April 10, 2019
I really like dark fantasy, and this movie kept the tone and gloominess throughout, but with the lack of good action and good characters and a quick story dull it. It starts off strong, introducing the protagonist with some decent action, yet somehow loses its grip. The main character loses his motive and just gets a new one. It's not bad but from what I saw in the beginning it's somehow a downgrade that happens thirty minutes into the film. The combat is okay; it is the favorable part in the film but it wasn't too violent. I don't know why it's rated R, I don't think they ever dropped an F-bomb, it was only blood and it wasn't excessive. This is an alright film, interesting to say the least.
April 4, 2019
I feel like it would have been better as a novel. I get a real Steven King Dark Tower vibe from it and I would have rather read it than watched it.

The only other complaint is that it isn't very well structured, going into a flash back for about fifteen minutes.

All the back story should have been done at the begging and then let the movie follow go forward naturally.
February 25, 2019
Good adaptation of Solomon Kane. Too bad there wont be any sequels.
½ January 10, 2019
Just found this to watch and have to say. I wish I'd seen it sooner. Purefoy was great! He swashbuckled his way through a landscape that has that delightfully creepy vibe that makes you feel as if magic is afoot st all times. The characters were nicely done, the costumes were fantastic and the stunts were great. I liked the story and followed it with interest. A fun movie, well worth watching. Sadly, it doesn't look as if the trilogy will happen. I wish it would though. In a time of remakes, and plodding clod hoppers of tentpoles, a good old sword and sorcery film with good acting and great characters is needed.
December 20, 2018
Works as a genre film.
Super Reviewer
November 25, 2018
Solomon Kane had the unfortunate task of capturing an audience who expected so much more. The biggest issue with Kane is the budget, it clearly lacked the budget to capture the overall scope. Purefoy was born to play this role and he is amazing, it is just a shame this was a one off film. The film is quite bleak and the issue here being an origin film is the formulaic story beats. I enjoy this film as a guilty pleasure and I'm disappointed it didn't garner the audience to gather a sequel or series. Solomon Kane deserves a followup, they built a world that deserves a revisit. A good film and definitely worth watching for all the fantasy film goers out there. 25/11/2018.
½ November 25, 2018
A pretty good fantasy movie for its time.
November 6, 2018
Have watched using boxxy software , I think it's a great movie
½ October 29, 2018
Love this movie. Great, dark fantasy movie.
September 12, 2018
The story line seemed a little too "Van Helsing meets Puritans" with some poor graphics to accompany the narrative. Still, the movie should please any fantasy/monster movie lover.
½ July 2, 2018
I don't know why this whole thing felt so familiar but I didn't enjoy it much. It was like a second class TV show with lots of mud, some blood and darkness .
March 12, 2018
REally like this movie.
½ February 19, 2018
You would think with all the rain they get in this film there would be a lot of slipping, sliding and getting muddy, guess they forgot to tell make up that.
½ February 17, 2018
A badass pirate man kills a bunch of people.
The Devil doesn't like that for some reason, so he sends his Reaper to collect the guy's soul.
The badass pirate man gets scared, runs away, and swears to be peaceful so the Devil will leave him alone. For some reason, this doesn't work, and to save the day he has to kill a bunch of people...

What?

Why would The Devil have a problem with some dude killing a bunch of people? Isn't evil, like, kind of his thing? And why would he try to get the guy to kill more people by capturing and enslaving a whole bunch of random people for no reason?

I'm sure the answers to my questions are somewhere in the film, but I only made it aboiy 20 minutes in before turning it off.

The plot is all over the place, the characters are dull and one dimensional, the dialogue is hard to take seriously because it takes itself TOO seriously, and the cinematography is super bland.

Maybe I was expecting too much out of an action movie, but even the action was fairly dull and seemed restricted by budget in the oddest places possible.

I'm just glad I didn't spend money on it. Please take this trash off Netflix.
January 21, 2018
'Solomon Kane' doesn't stray one bit from its genre and has no interest in pretending to be anything other than what it is: a bloody, violent and dark medieval/fantasy epic with an impressive production design, thrilling action-sequences and an arse-kicking main character, strengthened by Purefoy's intense and satisfying performance. Narrative and characters are inconsequential here, apparently, leading them to be paper-thin and somewhat corny. It's not going to win any awards and the final act is pretty weak, but it is what it is, and what it is is entertaining.
December 30, 2017
This is by far the deepest and most legit movie i have ever seen. The characters are so well done made and the acting is near perfection. Good movie.
December 13, 2017
A gem of a British film not really talked enough about. It deserves much credit for its cinematography and large action sword fights. james Purefoy is Solomon Kane through and through with a redemption and heroic burst of character steers the film and story to the end. Has gore and grit, it deserved a sequial.
½ October 6, 2017
I'll watch anything with the late great Pete Postlethwaithe and he was his usual excellent self here. A good role for James Purefoy as well. Although at first it seemed a bit much, the film got better as it went on and had more of a purpose, if you can say that about this genre of flick. Worth a watch if you like sword and sorcery.
½ October 1, 2017
Really boring film. Didn't get what was happening in half of it.
Page 1 of 87