Silent Hill: Revelation - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Silent Hill: Revelation Reviews

Page 1 of 113
March 8, 2019
1/5. This movie has a few creepy images and fun, but brief, performance from Malcom McDowell, but the CGI and the American accents are simply awful and the story is incredibly boring.
½ December 31, 2018
This second Installment to " Silent Hill " was not that good, and I was disappointed because I loved the first one a lot. The acting is pretty poor, and the screenplay isn't much better. The only thing good about this film were the special effects and the 3d does make for some interesting moments. I really wanted to like this movie, but even as a fan of the material I found myself unable to appreciate it. So for this not being a successful second installment, and not delivering what the first did, I give " Silent Hill : Revelation " D-.
December 29, 2018
I waited 6 years for this movie to come out, so in 2011 (when i found out they are making a sequel) I was extremely excited and had to see it opening weekend.
Being a fan of the video game, I was excited to find out that this movie was going to be more like the 3rd video game and had a little of the first one still as a story.

I am utterly disappointed I paid money to see this, not to mention the 4 extra bucks to see it in 3D.

To be kind the acting was so-so. To be blunt...I've seen student films with better acting. This is the kind of acting you would expect for a straight to DVD type of movie. Not something with such a big budget with such amazing production value scene to scene. Was upset when I found out the main character was Sharon. Didn't look anything like her in the first one. I was also disappointed that Jodelle Ferland did not appear in this one as Alessa. Erin Pitt, however, did look very much like Jadelle's version of Young Alessa. I was also excited to find out Carrie-Anne Moss was going to be in this...another let down. She looked very much like her video game character, Claudia Wolf, however had WAY TOO MUCH MAKEUP making her look like an albino. So Evaluation of the Casting director...THUMBS DOWN. Big boo all around. Bad acting, from actors/actresses with little experience. And those with experience had either little parts or REALLY BAD lines to read. So boo on the director and screen writer. You guys should be doing a giant face-palm. The only part of this movie I enjoyed was the production design of the movie. They never should have changed the way Pyramid Head's Helmet looked. It was fine the first time. Oh and the last scene of the movie...C'mon...made me think there was going to be something else...and then the credits? Really? The best part of this movie was the fact it was only 1 hr and 34min. Couldn't imagine sitting there for another half an hour of that movie.


-- FOR THE RECORD --

BEFORE GOING INTO THE MOVIE (OPENING NIGHT)
THIS MOVIE WAS RANKED AT 87%

NOW THAT I AM WRITING THIS REVIEW
IT IS RANKED AT 59% (AND FALLING)
December 13, 2018
One of the best comedies of 2012. Nuff said
September 16, 2018
For me personally i absolutely love and enjoyed watching silent hill revelations, and ii still love to re watch it also it remains in my top favourite movies for life
½ August 26, 2018
How hard is it to read a synopsis of Silent Hill 2 before attempting to expand upon the universe?
April 21, 2018
The Nurse scene was brilliant. And that's the only positive thing that can be said about this abomination of a film. Whatever the first movie managed to accomplish in terms of video-game adaptation, is utterly lost in this filmic atrocity.
½ April 15, 2018
This film is by far one of the worst video game adaptation ever. The first film was made by a director with passion and love for the series. Clearly, this film didn't share that same passion.

The eery tone that haunted the first film is completely absent here in this loose attempt to adapt the 3rd game in the series. This film is almost the complete opposite of the first. The characters are all wrong, boring and horribly acted. The creatures are poorly designed and lack the depth they had in their representations. The scares are WAY too in your face and has an overabundance of stupid jump scares. Quick note, Pop Tarts aren't scary but this film thinks they can be. And of course, the horrid "3D" in the title means there are moments in this film where they try way too hard shove the 3D effects in your face. Something I've not seen so badly forced into a film since Spy Kids 3D. Like they were trying to compensate being terrible film makers with an overused gimmick.

Like me, just pretend this film doesn't exist and go watch the first film. Or better yet, play the games.
February 26, 2018
I believe people who have played Silent Hill 3 over and over will appreciate this movie. And also understand this movie had a limited budget.
½ December 8, 2017
terrible. not scary. not well made. bad acting and dialogue. pretty useless overall (1 viewing)
November 6, 2017
Spoooky. Liked a lot :)
½ November 6, 2017
Bad movie, do not convert a video game into a movie not the same effect.
½ October 21, 2017
Boring, boring, and more boring. This sequel offers nothing new, and is just a rushed version of the original. The monsters were terrible, and didn't even feel threatening. The plot was all over the place, and the villain looked like a rejected Cenobite from Hellraiser. The only positive I could give is that the circus-bunny thing was cool but, could've been taken farther. Also the effects were pretty good, and so was the acting. I don't recomend this movie but, if you just have to see a copy of the original silent hill then watch this one.
September 10, 2017
This doesn't deserve even one star. Being a huge fan of the games and so much hype for this probably the worst movie I've ever seen in theaters, this movie is so disappointing.
½ September 3, 2017
Absolutely awful with nothing good about it especially the awful acting, one of the worst films ever made
½ August 28, 2017
Absolutely dreadful. Having a semi-decent predecessor and a spectacular video game basis to work with, it's amazing how poorly done this film is.
April 12, 2017
its okey for a watch but if you played the game you would hate it
February 17, 2017
Nonsensical, boring drivel.
½ January 5, 2017
SH:R succeeds in carrying over some of the best elements of the first film - such as the scary nurses, special effects, and gore -, but without added improvements of its own, this sequel holds but a fraction of the first movie's quality.
½ November 24, 2016
"Come To Silent Hill" = no thank you
Page 1 of 113