Shooter - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Shooter Reviews

Page 1 of 1759
April 30, 2019
Very good series to binge watch. Always in suspense and a superb story line. Could see why they ended it after three seasons but would love a fourth!
March 23, 2019
Strengths: It can be difficult to build a compelling action movie around a sniper, since most of what they do involves sitting around without moving. Antoine Fuqua manages to make the action scenes in this work well. They´┐ 1/2(TM)re shot in an interesting manner and keep you engaged. For example, the final shooting scene isn´┐ 1/2(TM)t overly long and features some really cool kills. It´┐ 1/2(TM)s the kind of stuff I came to this movie to see. Mark Wahlberg (Bob Lee Swagger) does a solid job as the lead. It´┐ 1/2(TM)s typical Wahlberg and that´┐ 1/2(TM)s okay. I also liked the smaller performances from Michael Pena (Nick Memphis) and Danny Glover (Isaac Johnson). The ending had a nice twist that was the one part of the plot I didn´┐ 1/2(TM)t see coming.

Weaknesses: The plot is nothing special. It´┐ 1/2(TM)s your generic conspiracy film and you can see a lot of the story beats coming from a mile away. Originality is not this movie´┐ 1/2(TM)s strong suit. There are also several plot holes and you´┐ 1/2(TM)ll find yourself struggling to believe a lot of what happens. I usually like Kata Mara (Sarah Fenn) and while she isn´┐ 1/2(TM)t bad here, it´┐ 1/2(TM)s hard to appreciate her scenes because her forced accent is awful. I think the biggest issue with this movie is that it takes itself too seriously. It tries to be more than it really is. Had it been positioned as more of a dumb, fun action flick, I think it would´┐ 1/2(TM)ve worked better.

Overall: If you´┐ 1/2(TM)re here for an impressive script and plot, you´┐ 1/2(TM)re in the wrong place. However, this has solid enough acting and some strong action to make it a recommend.
March 5, 2019
Absolutely love this movie. Mark Walhberg is Bob Lee Swagger. Wish they would make a sequel.
January 22, 2019
Great movie that I love to watch over & over. Great plot, enthralling from beginning to end. Great actors.
½ December 19, 2018
Great action packed Testosterone filled action :-)
October 17, 2018
Mark Wahlberg's character becomes involved in a conspiracy and uses his highly trained skills to try and settle the score. It's engaging and enjoyable with enough action to satisfy most of us. I'll watch it again.
½ October 15, 2018
im not much of an action movie person but this wasnt actually that bad, i enjoyed it
August 26, 2018
Incredible movie from start to finish
August 24, 2018
I'd say it's a pretty good action movie with a fair bit of suspense and a double twist ending. Do wish I could make out the words better, with the accents for me being a bit difficult to decipher.
½ March 21, 2018
Jason Bourne 2.0. Good movie.
March 15, 2018
Action fans might get more out of this by the numbers action film but it really offers nothing new and is a little disappointing.
January 17, 2018
This movie is fantastic. I have been looking through the ratings on all the movies that i really liked over the years and see a huge disconnect between what the so called Critics like and the Fans... this movie was great.
December 8, 2017
MARK WALBURG GETS INTO TROUBLE BECAUSE OF WHO HE IS. so he has to prove that it wasn't him who shot the guy that got shot. Somehow they get to Antarctica for a bit. Then it turns out he's innocent.
October 5, 2017
While it has some cool and fun action scenes to watch and a compelling performance from Mark Walberg, Shooter simply is filled with plot holes, undeveloped characters and relationships, and of course the lack of logic in general.
Super Reviewer
October 2, 2017
If the plot wasn't taken from a novel you could almost suspect this being a high budget ripoff of Most Wanted. The film has grown on me and it's a shame it didn't do better to grant a sequel as this has a very Jack Reacher aspect. The film is very shaky for the first 30 minutes, the plot is implausible and Wahlberg doesn't suit the grizzly type. Once the film kicks into gear you can see why Wahlberg is suited to the role and the story unmasks as something much deeper. I'm not sure if the novel series follows the films but there was a franchise missed here, you only have to see the audience has grown with this film. I enjoyed the film but I do remember not enjoying the film when it was released, it may have been lost with a lot of genres and you tend to overlook films that don't appeal straight away. This was a good film that deserved a follow-up and while there is a Tv show out there, I'm a little annoyed I didn't see this film at the movies. 02-10-2017.
½ September 22, 2017
Antoine Fuqua never disappoints. If you love one man army movies like Taken or The Equalizer, I HIGHLY recommend this movie. Awesome job Mark
½ September 18, 2017
- FLIXSTER WHY CAN'T I JUST DELETE A REVIEW??!!!! - Awesome! Never seen a really well done sniper oriented movie before. This and Departed make Wahlberg good in my book. - FLIXSTER WHY CAN'T I JUST DELETE A REVIEW??!!!! -
½ September 14, 2017
What a thrilling, on the edge of your seat movie! Now I won't lie. The first third of the movie, I was not too impressed and I almost gave up because I wasn't quite drawn to the only two characters they were focusing on. But then they introduce you to the entire cast and everything starts picking up. It gets really intense! Mark does an outstanding job playing a similar character to Jason Bourne. Tons of shooting, explosions, sneaking around, and ultimately pay back. It's one guy versus the whole world! Definitely want to watch again.
August 9, 2017
My current FAVOURITE Conspiracy Theory movie with Marky Mark...and Memphis alias Michael Pena' is an AWESOME REAL character. Another David and Goliath ANTOINE FUQUA ReMarkable Movie.
June 25, 2017
I loved it. As a vet I am biased towards all military movies
Page 1 of 1759