Shoot on Sight - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Shoot on Sight Reviews

Page 1 of 5
April 18, 2011
Shah's performance is really good, but the rest of the cast lags behind. Looks and feels like a made for TV event at times and the dramatic feel made me struggle to make it to the end of this one.
add comment
February 10, 2011
Important movie, however more for TV than for cinema.
½ August 20, 2010
Jag vet inte exakt hur mycket av filmen som är baserad på en verklig händelse, dåligt påläst på just det. Men jag tycker att det är en klart sevärd film med en ganska komplicerad frågeställning. Sen så tycker jag ju per defualt att europeiska filmer är bättre än amerikanska, men jag kan nog tycka att den här filmen är sevärd av fler anledningar än det :-)
½ July 15, 2010
Un thriller politico-religieux, plutôt bien joué, mais à l'histoire limpide, banale.
May 13, 2010
many movies have been made..post 9/11, tackling the issue of terrorism and its effects...the racism showcased is realistic, its not over board, with the limited scope, great actors and a tight screenplay..the movie works !give it a go, it would surprisingly impress ! having our pakistani model act well...is an added plus !
Harlequin68
Super Reviewer
½ April 7, 2010
"Shoot on Sight" starts with an unarmed Muslim, suspected of being a terrorist, shot and killed by police in the London Underground. Deputy Police Commissioner Daniel Tennant(Brian Cox) employs Commander Tariq Ali(Naseeruddin Shah) to not only be the public face of the inquiry, but also to head it which he readily accepts, feeling he is a step closer to a promotion. He in turn brings on board Ruby(Laila Rouass), a trusted colleague, as his assistant. It is a good thing Tariq is a policeman since he has to bail out his teenaged daughter Zara(India Wadsworth) from jail after a rave before promptly grounding her for a month. Things are not always so fractious at home as Tariq and his wife Susan(Greta Scacchi) welcome his cousin Zaheer(Mikaal Zulfikar) from abroad.

"Shoot on Sight" is a frustrating movie that desperately wants to have its cake and eat it too in its depiction of a Muslim community under siege in London after 7/7. The movie depicts that community as just wanting to live in peace as fanatics preach violence to a small minority. Of course, nothing good ever came from violence. All of which is good and decent but none of this, despite a good cast, is very involving. In fact, it is heavily contrived and sometimes even lacking in basic logic. Take the opening sequence for example. No matter how high the terror alert may be, would police really go in guns blazing on just an anonymous tip when there are probably so many? Plus, there is no ambiguity to the scene and therefore to the rest of the movie.
January 29, 2010
i want that junoon t-shirt.
January 15, 2010
A very carefully and well made film. 10/10
½ January 4, 2010
Just awful. Worse than ITV Drama awful.
½ January 1, 2010
Ok, so what's right with this movie, well really not much apart from the simple home truths, that the majority of terrorists get in via student status, and there are some very radical muslim preachers, and they intend and do, sway many people. Sway, no not sway, manipulate, would be a better word, that's what they do go get people to do their bidding.

But did we not all know this to begin with, I think we all do (or should do). Given that, the writers and producers should have realized that's not the main or even a section of an interesting story.

The film has really not taken a stand one way or the other, apart from a tv-soap opera standpoint. All very wishy-washy.

And that is the greatest loss.

The acting is about as good as you get on tv, and this is where this should have stayed - on tv.

Trite contrivances, the "racist" copper, married to a lady of colour, is just too much. The loss and gain of the promotion, would be better suited to again episodic tv.

Some of the acting is very strange, like the main characters wife, she plays the wife of a muslim, but she obviously isn't, and here 'stand offishness' and uncomfortableness is all too apparent in her performance. Even Brian Cox who appearance was surprising, seems to be well (very well) below par.

The dialog is very poor in quality, and it's all to apparent that the screen play was by someone who does not really understand the fundamentals of a) a three act play, b) realistic dialog. c) key elements of the story that are so obvious that even if it was raining cats and dogs you still see it coming.

And that's really a cardinal sin in terms of a screen play that no-one seems to have understood in this production, that you never, ever let the audience get in front of the story.

Here you can get 30min ahead, which thus makes it boring, stayed and ultimately very uninteresting.

A obvious, trite film that really offers the viewing public, nothing new, nothing interest, and nothing praiseworthy.

I for one hope and pray that this is not a general indication of the British film industry.
January 1, 2010
It's nice to see a movie on this taking place in the UK, and not the US. Shah was phenomenal, and I always love seeing Cox. A good plot with a touchy political background. Well done.
December 13, 2009
Good acting performance but too slow and story line is already know.
December 2, 2009
Om Puri, Naseer in any venture almost guarantee epic drama. And then you throw Gulshan Grover and it raises my expectations manifold.

I would not say that it was a disappointment, but the roles of Gulshan Grover & Om Puri could have been a bit more detailed. They were kinda too short.

I like the way the film asks questions and DOES not go all the way to answer them. Rather than that it raises some questions and then.. it raises some more questions. A very good movie to watch. Its nicely shot and the roles are pretty well defined.

I liked Tennats role too. " I am not a racist, but a realist."
November 16, 2009
I liked it very much.....it was slow but enjoyable
November 11, 2009
Good to see 3 bunch of Indians. Gulshan takes care of a butcher shop, Nasirudin is a proud commander waiting to be promoted and our Puri plays a muslim preacher who inculcates violence inside the mind of young bloods. Nasiruddin's nephew gets the victim of inculcation and at last he Nasirudin has to kill him, which was like taking your heart out. Muslim preaches about how we look at muslims and how muslims look at the world. The problem is created by some bunch of extremists who sit on preach for as long as possible till they boil the blood of young muslim to go at the war against the world. The movies subject was a deja vu, still I enjoyed it and liked seeing one of the guy carrying the flesh of sheep on his shoulder.
October 9, 2009
Tired of these type of movies. Great casting, great acting just didnt come to my expectation.
½ August 29, 2009
This covers few aspects of terrorism and its impact on society very well...rest is untold....
½ August 13, 2009
bit of a tv movie but wasn't unwatchable some creative licence with recent events and an untersting dilema if your a believer of religion or duty!
Super Reviewer
½ June 12, 2009
A film that looks and feels like a TV movie. It has a message, but it's a message that is painfully obvious to anybody with the slightest bit of intelligence. It's also handled in a very patronizing and contrived way. The performances range from very bad - Brian Cox (i.e. Excellent). The film does make mention of more interesting political and social elements, but goes for the easiest story to tell. Just in case you were wondering, most Muslims are not terrorists, but some extremists are.
June 11, 2009
This movies was neutral to a certain degree but I couldn't accept the idea that all terrorists are Muslims , there are terrorists not individuals but countries .the western media focus on Islamic terrorism and forget or neglect or better say close their eyes when directed toward the OTHERS who actually belong to them .
The War on terrorism is a great TERRORISM
Page 1 of 5