Searching for Debra Winger - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Searching for Debra Winger Reviews

Page 2 of 2
½ January 22, 2008
It was okay. I was torn between thinking these were just whiney actors bemoaning the choices they had to make and sympathizing with the lack of roles for older women. Those actors who truly chose to put their children first and drop out of hollywood won my respect with their simple grace about the whole thing.
January 15, 2008
This is a really enjoyable watch, but slightly one dimensional as there is only a few occasions where the joy of acting is actually discussed and explored in two sounbites from Fonda and Arquette herself. Winger comes accross as wonderfully wise and adjusted and really not at all interested in acting any longer. Interesting and heartfelt as opposed to probing, but I would say that this is a recommended watch for the few occasions that the film does go in to areas of genuine candor.
December 24, 2007
Rosanna Arquette goes in search of Debra Winger and other stars "of a certain age" who have slipped off the Hollywood radar. Staying employed in Hollywood after 40, if you don't have a penis, is extraordinarily difficult even for those who have amazing talent.
December 2, 2007
This movie is really interesting for me.
When I felt depressed at the work, I always watching it.
September 18, 2007
Interesting little documentary I picked up at the dollar store. If you are female and want to be a film actresss, you would probably be really interested in watching it.
½ September 6, 2007
Rossana does a fabulous job in this doc. So interesting to hear all these actresses talk about the business. If you like doc's you'll enjoy this.
August 28, 2007
It's about time someone said something...
June 8, 2007
sorry... i havent seen her either...
June 5, 2007
This documentary is a lot of heart without substance. Arquette is too busy throwing herself at actresses to really gain any substantial answers.
February 11, 2007
A beautiful film with inspiring women, relating their lives and their work. If I had to make a complaint, it would be that Arquette doesn't quite choose an entirely diverse group of women (outside of the 20 or so interviewees, salma hayek, alfre woodward, whoopi goldberg seem to be the only non-white or even non-blonde for that matter). And of course there is some silly references by some of the interviewees as to how acting is different from 'normal' and in some cases harder then being 'ordinary' which if they haven't done anything else, how would they know what normal is other than what they do. It would be nice to see something similar done with prominent women, across various creative fields and how they make their lives work.
January 17, 2007
i think this is a good movie 2 do andits good 2 see them real. but y arent there more movies w/ women this old why do the womena lways have tob e beautiful but nothe man?
March 24, 2006
A good documentary. Actresses must be "fuckable" to get a role. What a luck for the actors then..a lot of them would never land any roles if the demand was the same for men because many of them are "slimeballs"!!! Hollywood really stinks sometimes!
March 10, 2006
It was cool to see famous actresses talk freely about their lives.
March 12, 2004
i keep watching that same stupid teaser trailer for i heart huckabee's over and over. i know i know, very sad. i rented searching for debra winger, the saftey of objects, the missing, and nowhere in africa. so far ive watched searching for debra winger. i really liked it but it knida drug on at the end. i liked jane fonda and diane lane the best out of all the folks interviewed, i got tired of samantha mathis, i was like "uhh shut up!". overall, id give it a 8/10. i liked it pretty good. im about to watch nowhere in africa, i think im really going to like it. oh and i watched the trailer and the teaser for the villiage, and i have to admit, its looks but boring. i dont think it'll be getting any academy awards come next february. well im off to watch nowhere in africa.
Page 2 of 2