The Scorpion King - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Scorpion King Reviews

Page 1 of 335
½ March 1, 2019
Poor mans conan the destroyer which is already the poor mans conan the barbarian
February 24, 2019
Though not particularly different from other films, this one remains relevant through costume design, flashy action, and enjoyable humor. Yes, the idea of one man trying to take on The Man and realizing he can't do so alone is pretty standard and there are tons of historical appropriations and inaccuracies within the movie, but that doesn't stop this one from being a fun and entertaining watch. Hey, it put Dwayne Johnson on the acting map for a reason; he does a great job with what he's given.
½ January 5, 2019
With cheesy action sequences, a disappointingly stiff performance from The Rock, and lackluster visuals and set-pieces; This spin-off to The Mummy franchise sinks like a "rock"
July 9, 2018
The Scorpion King is a fun adventure with The Rock.

While not holding up as a great film, The Scorpion King is an entertaining action movie. The fights are well choreography. The set and costume design are excellent and feel realistic. The humor is plentiful with genuinely funny jokes. The Rock's charisma really shines and leads The Scorpion King to constant enjoyment.

Now on the other hand, the CGI is as dated as the nu-metal soundtrack in the background. The practical effects looks pretty decent all the same. The Scorpion King looks okay, honestly.

In regards to the acting, The Rock is no Marlon Brando, but he is sincere and tries his best. He comes across as genuine and makes you root for him. I like him in The Scorpion King more than any other role of his currently.

Similarly, Kelly Hu is wonderful as the stunning sorceress. She has some funny moments and many mystic prediction scenes that are pretty cool. Hu is very cool and memorable in The Scorpion King. Additionally, Grant Heslov is the ridiculous comedic relief. He is quite hilarious, but I can see why certain audience members might find him annoying. Michael Clarke Duncan is the fierce fighter and a nice serious actor in The Scorpion King. I enjoyed Duncan in this film quite a bit. Lastly, Steven Brand is the villain. I found him annoying more than terrifying, but at least you hate him well enough. Overall, I find the cast passable for The Scorpion King.

In all, The Scorpion King even better than the entire trilogy of The Mummy movies. It is a fun, yet simplistic action adventure. If you expect more than that, you will be disappointed. For everyone else, general audiences should be entertained for the duration of the movie, while never being blown away.
February 9, 2018
I have seen this movie more than anybody else that has rated it it's a great movie screw all of you guys is opinions
½ February 3, 2018
As dumb & cheesy as this movie is (specifically in the emotions and performances), it's every bit as fun. Director Russell gives us action / comedy scenes that have more cinematic flair than I would've expected in a throw-away spin-off (pulling guys through sand-waterfall). The Rock was already a charismatic star in this, his first leading role, mugging with awesome ease. If you're a fan of the Fraser Mummy films (which, why wouldn't you be?!), you'll find this fits that universe's unabashedly goofy tone perfectly.
½ November 15, 2017
With poor direction, middling editing, and a strong lead performance from Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson, The Scorpion King is a rare movie that I agree with the Rotten Tomatoes critic consensus about; action adventure doesn't get much cheesier than this. The action is fun and thrilling, but the pacing is uneven. The plot is good, and there are a few great lines, but the script is mostly tired and unoriginal. Overall, this spin-off is a fun popcorn flick that won't make you think. It may not live up to the not-so-high bar set by the first two films, but it's much better than Tomb of the Dragon Emperor and the Tom Cruise-led reboot.
July 28, 2017
Trying to tell an action fueled origin tale about a CGI failure seems too dumb and useless. That pretty much describes this movie.
Super Reviewer
June 27, 2017
When The Scorpion King first came out in '02, it would be hard to imagine that between this franchise and its forebears (The Mummy & The Mummy Returns), that it would be The Scorpion King who would continue to live on in the following decade. Though that's maybe less shocking knowing that Tomb of the Dragon Emperor happened.

Scorpion King delivers on a small amount of the hammy fun it could have been, though I can't help but wonder just how amazing it would be if we had gotten a Fast & Furious level Rock portraying Mathayas.
Super Reviewer
½ June 24, 2017
I remember disliking this film, this was due to the fact it wasn't in a similar tone to The Mummy. Rewatching this film and probably having a large Johnson presence now compared to the limited exposure I had before watching this film, I found the film to quite good. The film wasn't a classic by any means but it wasn't the dud everyone made it out to be. It is much better compared to both Mummy sequels and had filmmakers kept the franchise going with Johnson, this could have been a continuing franchise. I honestly believe if this film was made today, it would've been a hit, the film was a little too rough around the edges. I thought the characters were interesting and Kelly Hu walking around in next to nothing gets my vote any day of the week. The villain wasn't the best and it weakened a key ingredient for the success of the film. It's a shame this film didn't set the box office on fire but a revisit excluding the dud prequels and sequels they made wouldn't be a bad thing. I like these films and this film deserved a franchise, this will go down as an uneventful solo film. 25-06-2017.
½ June 6, 2017
It was the Rock's first starring role. And it's fun but no, it's not a good movie. Michael Clarke Duncan and Kelly Hu do their best with a lazy script. Luckily the Rock's charisma and the heavy metal score will keep you awake!
½ June 3, 2017
6/2/2017 (2): An ok film at best, but Johnson did pretty decent for his first leading role.
June 1, 2017
A horrible spin-off from The Mummy movies, even the Rock can't save The Scorpion King from its goofy script and terrible plot.
May 29, 2017
A little disappointing considering it is supposed to be a prequel to The Mummy, but it wasn't bad for an action film. I wish it had a better story. (First viewing - Teen years)
April 12, 2017
A lackluster swords & sandals epic.
February 7, 2017
Love the rock in this movie. Great action star.
½ December 26, 2016
Fantastic movie! Favorite line? Boo. Also can we talk about how great Dwayne is as an actor even given such cheese? Let's call him the cheese sommelier.
December 20, 2016
How the hell do you fail with this?! The Rock better be cooking up an apology.
December 15, 2016
The Scorpion King will be remembered for making a star out of Dwayne 'The Rock' Johnson and has some fun action sequences but compared to the initial Mummy remake series it's based off of it's a bit of a disappointment that never quite lives up to its true potential.
½ November 19, 2016
I know I'm 14 years late, but 'The Scorpion King' and 'Hercules' have so much in common that I can barely decide which film is better (Or worse). Probably Liked 'Hercules' better because 1.) The Rock was stronger 2.) He didn't have as many lines to ruin 3.) There was no Michael Clarke Duncan to put on a wig & makeup or get fucked in the ass for no apparent reason, got to stay away from that guy...
Page 1 of 335