Sawney: Flesh Of Man - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Sawney: Flesh Of Man Reviews

Page 1 of 1
½ May 15, 2015
In short: Ample blood&gore, exactly as advertised, but the story desperately needed a consistent plot and some background about local folklore

I saw this film at the Imagine film festival 2013 in Amsterdam. As could be expected from the synopsis on the festival website, a lot of blood&gore was prominently showcased. Somewhat less expected is that we got it together with several quotes from the Bible, a combination that was not really explained.

It was a good idea to use the journalist as binding element to tie the story together. There was also a parallel story about a police inspector, who for a long time failed to solve the mystery of the disappearing people. Of course, his superiors were not happy about it. (*** warning *** spoiler ahead ***) In hindsight, we know why he failed. His connection with the underground (literally) operations were left unclear, however. Could he be a distant relative of the "insane family of inbred killers" (quote from official film website). Maybe such an explanation is not really necessary, but I certainly missed it to wrap up the plot.

All in all, I gave a so-so (3 out of 5) score for the audience award when leaving the theater: it was certainly well written and well executed, but lacked a consistent story and a plot, not even some sort of reason why it all happened as it happened. Of course, for those who are willing to read between the lines, it can be that the initial visit of a doctor to assist in the birth of a baby, being the last living survivor of a species that lived on human remains (as per the voice over), may serve as a vehicle to explain what happened after the prologue. That this cannibal family is "legendary" does not suffice for us, who know nothing about local folklore and related legends. This could have been explained better to prepare us for the desperately needed context. The 90 minutes running time is not that long that it cannot bear an extension with another 5 minutes to allow us connecting the dots. What remained is a lot of bloodthirsty killing without any purpose. The festival audience ranked this film nearly last (45th place out of 48) with average score 5.39 (out of 10).
April 16, 2015
Sawney: Flesh of Man is terrible movie that tries to be a Scottish Wolf Creek mixed with American horror style cannibalism, but the overacting on the villain's part, and the cheap style of direction detracts any chance of enjoyment from this substance-less blood-fest. The story is a mix-up, it struggles to maintain consistency, and the stupid "twist" makes half the film worthless. Sawney: Flesh of Man has received little attention and little praise for good reason, it has nothing of value.
Super Reviewer
March 27, 2015
Spent way too much time on developing the mystery. Sawney: Flesh of Man (Lord of Darkness) is a boring Scottish horror drama about the legendary Sawney Bean and his family of cannibals. Set in modern Scotland, the bean family abducts people and eats them. One journalist wrote negatively about them and his girlfriend was abducts and eventually forcing him to investigate the dangerous lair himself. It had beautiful Scottish vista and plenty of unconvincing gore, but the story itself was ridiculous. No scares but plenty of yawning.
August 16, 2014
Ridiculous. I couldn't believe any of the characters. The acting was often wooden and the villan laughed "maniacally" like a cartoon character. This was probably just as well because visually it was really grisly - but just lacked any real psychological thrills, suspense or believability.
½ June 17, 2014
A nice little horror film but with a twist you can see coming. The movie info tells you everything thats going to happen with little left to the imagination - not that you will need it
April 1, 2014
Fun little Scottish horror flick about an inbred family of cannibalistic serial killers.
½ February 27, 2014
Think 'Saw', "Hostel', 'Chainsaw Massacre' - this is simply an extension of those films and genre in a barren Scottish environment. It is gory but never to be taken too seriously.
October 21, 2013
Plenty of gore, a bit of cheekiness and a decent plot. Not bad to watch!
½ September 29, 2013
Bunch of cannibal inbreds, descendants of the original Bean clan terrorize a Scottish city, killing and eating people. A young reporter tries to get to the bottom of it with the help of a local copper.
Boring, predictable, not very fun.
½ September 6, 2013
I loved this film! Although it's a low budget movie, you'll never guess it was as it looks stunning and the make up and effects are top notch! Although the plot is a bit silly (the twist ending is stupid), it's still a very enjoyable watch. Be warned though as it's thoroughly nasty in places! Some of it even reminded me of a short film call "Roadkill: The Last Days of John Martin" in that it's just relentlessly brutal at times, but this film somehow manages to be light hearted too. Infact, the Sawney character reminds me alot of Freddy Kruger with his deadpan quips. Look for the scene with the head in the fridge and the "you won't want the soup then" line!

Sawney: Flesh of Man is a film that I can highly recomend to anyone who loves a good gore film as this is easily the best modern horror film I've seen in years! it's only it's daft end that stops me from giving this film a full 5 stars! Excellent stuff :-)
½ August 30, 2013
Not a great movie, there's no real story to get hooked into. The "horror" isn't very horrific and the movie runs at a snails pace. I wouldn't recommend it!
August 12, 2013
At last, a watchable full-length film from Britain.
June 14, 2013
way better than i thought it would be, very gory and better acting than anticipated.
½ February 22, 2013
Gory, home grown horror. Well worth a look
Page 1 of 1