Sand Castle - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Sand Castle Reviews

Page 1 of 3
Super Reviewer
March 19, 2019
A protagonist ever so slightly reminiscent of that from The Thin Red Line. While Sand Castle is less pretentiously artsy, it could definitely stand to learn a few things from Red Line about character development.
October 21, 2018
One of the better Iraqi War movies that have come out recently. The characterizations and tone at the beginning sort of reminded me of those Vietnam War movies I used to watch while I was growing up, but it eventually evolved to something more.

The story revolves around how a US armed forces group tried to repair the Water Supply to an Iraqi village, but things eventually became complicated due to the local political situation which often had a pretty violent nature.
October 10, 2018
Some solid parts that work really well with a fair story. Cast does a great job
½ September 16, 2018
It gives bullshit thought about islam
½ April 23, 2018
The combat scenes are top notch with impressive visuals, but our soldiers here spend too much time digging in the dirt and sulking in their bunks.
½ March 31, 2018
? - Henry Cavill's beard
1/2 - At least it was well acted

Other than that, one of the most boring war films in recent memory.
½ March 27, 2018
Will I am hoping to see a part 2 of this movie because the ending was fucking aweful. I hate how movies just end.
½ March 4, 2018
Sand Castle is a deeply personal film about the war in Iraq that was written by a guy who was there. We still haven't closed the book on our involvement in Iraq and Afghanistan, but we're at the point where two generations of troops have gone and come home to their lives, and some very introspective films are coming out of the collective experience. This is one of the best I have seen.

To be clear, this is not an action film. The firefights are short, violent, and chaotic, a lot like real life. You barely see the insurgents, they blend back into the masses as fast as they appear. There is no big bad character to beat, no contrived personal conflicts to resolve, it's a film purely about a small team trying to accomplish a small mission in the middle of a very large and messy conflict. They want to help the populace, and for the most part the populace just wants them to leave.

The acting is good, and I feel like I know the characters; not because they're the stock one-dimensional war movie stereotypes, but because these guys act and talk and move like a lot of guys I knew and worked with. If you're a vet you'll notice stuff that's wrong, MRAPs weren't in theater yet, Those tanks at the start are about 20 years too old, etc. But that's about my biggest complaint, and it's nit-picky. I've seen several reviews say there isn't direction, no message in the film, nothing new from this genre piece. But they miss the point. This film isn't about the people, or the mission, or even the country. It's about the war itself, and what it's like to be a small cog in that very big machine.

In closing, there is currently an over-saturation of OEF/OIF based movies, and many of them are not very good (*cough* we're looking at you Hurt Locker). But I think the critics are dead wrong here, and this is a movie well worth watching, and the proof is in how popular it is with my generation of vets.
January 1, 2018
Many military movies usually get it wrong. The characters of this film are dead on. Bout time the hard working little guys get a movie about them. Good acting all around, but don't expect black hawk down action and budget. Just enjoy the story.
December 19, 2017
This isn't a movie destined to become a timeless classic, but it's a very human look at the war in Iraq.
December 14, 2017
Sandcastle seems very run of the mill at first but the lead performances are well done, and the film doesn't hang much of the cliches it uses. When we see our green recruit turn into a more hardened soldier, it isn't shoved down our throats with lingering close ups.
½ November 25, 2017
This generation's Big Red 1 !uu
October 23, 2017
(4.0 out of 6)
When what we see we need to get ourselves out from chaos we do what we must. When we see that we are making progress but others don't want to make us be the ones to show the progress when we are only meant to be seen as destructive, we see why we must stay. When what we couldn't see before we see now that we are making a difference before it's too late and such reasons why we are out here was for nothing. When we see we all wish to be home to bring the little home we know here. When we don't see that others can't be seen switching sides when the people don't see us staying to always fight our battles, staying to protect the us, there when word spreads that they helped, and they suffer such dates as others when war causes so many deaths. When we don't see such wars as a mission but a livelihood people have to bare the rest of their lives that the face and see everyday and not soldiers whom get to see home when they leave. When something's we see we can't fix when we don't see what's causing the problem. When the only thing America sees that is worth saving & helping is American that others see and no money is worth the life. When we see such missions are a busy to only deploy home as we usually do and move on, that we see thats all Americans can do to continue the war even further. When we don't see we should have not seen such things even further to regret no longer seeing that makes us even more of an asset to our country when we need soldiers to believe in what they see. When we see America leaves you with nothing when allies choose to help both sides to only see them choose the opposing side when abandoned. When war is about seeing the true failures of providing progress to combat them to see such missions accomplished.
October 12, 2017
This war drama is based on what war feels like build on the real-life experience of the writer, it's not based on any actual events. The debutant script by the writer is dry, nothing interesting happens and I was bored by the end. Its well shot and got a good cast but all of it's a waste on the indifferent script.
September 27, 2017
As a vet myself this is more realistic than that pos movie, hurt locker, which I couldn't even finish due to laughing at the plot. I will watch this one again. It isn't some Hero movie or lone wolf type of thing. It's a good look at what really happened in that war. They didn't want us there, we didn't want to be there, but the mission continues.
September 21, 2017
Bad movie. Based on true events or loosely based on experiences of its writer, there's not much originality to this film and with stale performances and a lack of a coherent plot, this greatly pales in comparison to the other war dramas out there.
September 18, 2017
Not a bad movie, I was entertained and felt like it could have been better and was rushed but worth watching if you're in the mood for a modern Iraq war movie.
½ September 8, 2017
This is what happens when liberals or your wife make war movies. Beta male in the military exploring his emotions. More time spent digging a hole in the desert than anything else. Watched to the end thinking it has to get better but sadly it does not. What to compare this to? Think Steven Segal with alot of naval gazing in place of cheap action shots. American Sniper this is not. Just glad I didn't pay for this crap.
September 4, 2017
It's a film that presents an emotional look into the Iraq War and shows how it effects both soldiers and the civilians caught in the middle of it all. There were some scenes that were unrealistic, but overall the film is pretty good.
August 22, 2017
Unrealistic, but entertaining.
Page 1 of 3