Salinger - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Salinger Reviews

Page 1 of 6
June 19, 2018
2/3 of the documentary on reclusive author J.D. Salinger is engaging and fascinating learning about how J.D. grew to become a writer, join the army and his early failures in love. However, the latter third of the film drifts into tabloidish filmmaking with overdramatic music, silly editing tricks and unnecessary graphics that appear to be something out of TruTV or our modern-day "news" outlets, not an actual documentary.
March 22, 2017
I found it fascinating to just to see photos of the elusive Salinger.
July 23, 2016
um...maybe? Probably need to do some research first i. e., Catcher in the Rye, to appreciate this.
Super Reviewer
½ May 26, 2016
For any fan of Holden Caulfield this interesting work explores the fetid earth from which he arose, along with some antidotal commentary from celebs who're fans just like you. You won't find out why he isolated from society, but if you are a fan then indeed you already know and can thusly enjoy watching celebs and others NOT KNOW, even after claiming to've loved Catcher.
½ January 2, 2016
Netflix, streamed sometime in mid 2015
½ January 1, 2016
It was interesting. One of those does what it says on the tin kind of docs
November 26, 2015
An average documentary on an extraordinary figure in literary history who basically wrote only one phenomenal Best Seller & chose never to write again.

JD Salinger undoubtedly a creative genius was the mind behind the book Catcher in the Rye which became a global phenomenon & due to a negative past experience with Hollywood he refused to let it be filmed.

The Documentary is not the best in layout & format but this man was so fascinating (especially his 299 days in battle during WWII) it's covers all the holes. If you literature this is a must see & Catcher in the Rye is a must read.
½ April 2, 2015
I was shocked to see what the critics were saying about this film. To me this was a great documentary. But I kind of agree. I want to hear about what his written work has done and created an affect on the world. It did focus to much on how "crazy" people saw him as. But I didn't see that as a bad thing.
It still respected him.
February 8, 2015
It could be I'm rather partial to Salinger, but I absolutely love this documentary.
October 25, 2014
Like many other reviewers have already mentioned, this film was overall nothing short of average. Learning the great writer's beginnings, war experience, writing passion was the best parts of the film. The remaining portion was not needed, especially learning about his love life.
October 9, 2014
2/3 of the documentary on reclusive author J.D. Salinger is engaging and fascinating learning about how J.D. grew to become a writer, join the army and his early failures in love. However, the latter third of the film drifts into tabloidish filmmaking with overdramatic music, silly editing tricks and unnecessary graphics that appear to be something out of TruTV or our modern-day "news" outlets, not an actual documentary.
September 28, 2014
lost interest after a while, but the ending shocked both myself and my fiancee both. we are very excited for Salinger's posthumous books to come out.
August 11, 2014
Interesting, eye-opening, documentary on the great novelist JD Salinger. Well-researched, it includes details of his life that weren't widely known.

Has the usual documentary stuff: a linear blow-by-blow account of his life, including some the more pivotal events and how they later affected him. Quite fascinating how his character is shaped, and how he then puts some aspects of his own character, and experiences, into his writing.

However, it's not all wine and roses and only positivity. All aspects of Salinger's life are revealed, and some will surprise you. Perfect he was not.

On the down side, I felt that most of the interviews with stars were unnecessary. They really didn't have much to add and were just there as a cheerleader squad.

Very interesting and well worth watching.
August 3, 2014
The life of J.D. Salinger deserved a great documentary. Unfortunately this is not it. It's an overly long, sprawling, uneven look into the life of an American great. There are some great moments, especially in the first half. The section covering Salinger in World War Two is particularly well handled. And some of the interviews are illuminating. But the second half and the coverage of his reclusive life is overly dramatic and not very satisfying.
July 31, 2014
Would be better without the cheesy over-the-top bombastic bits. They seem a bit phony.
½ July 28, 2014
The "PTSD theory" of Salinger is the spine of this film. There is a lot to enjoy here even if it feels a bit scattershot.
July 11, 2014
I kinda have to agree with the critics who criticized it... It could have been better. But I'm still glad it was made.
June 28, 2014
For those captivated by Salinger's writing, this intelligent and often invigorating film provides fine insight into his world.
June 23, 2014
Interesting documentary that makes you wonder about Mr.Salinger
Page 1 of 6