Running Time - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Running Time Reviews

Page 1 of 3
May 13, 2014
Shot all in one take (sort of) this movie is very hitchcockesque..... Ahem
December 1, 2010
Once you get passed the gimmick of it being all continuous long takes, the film has a relatively standard storyline, but there's some great character work, especially in the second have of the film. Bruce Campbell is actually pretty fantastic in this film, one of his best performances.
October 23, 2010
Cleverly made low-budget heist/romance.
July 10, 2010
Bruce Campbell stars as just released from prison Carl, who has been masterminding a plan the whole time in. Writer-director Josh Becker shoots in B&W, and it's all one take. No, I don't mean that there's a few very long shots here, I mean the entire damn thing, much like it's inspiration, Rope, is a (seemingly) long, continuous shot. Sometimes, the trickery is a bit more obvious, like when we pan across the van and across over an all black bit- I'm positive they stopped there, reloaded their film, and continued. Other times, it's much harder to figure out.

Of course, this style would all be for naught, if the didn't bring a sense of urgency and immediacy to the proceedings, but thankfully, it does. The script, while not mind-blowingly original, is good enough, and keeps everything in check. The heist plan goes awry, as things are wont to do, but it is still successful.; that's not a spoiler, as most of the film takes place after the robbery. It's a lot of fun to watch these characters under pressure, and the tipping point at which they go bonkers.

Campbell is excellent here, playing a slightly different version of his usual, smug, know it all persona; it's different enough to be noticeable, but not so different that it's much of a stretch. I for one, can watch Campbell do anything, so this didn't bother me in the least.

As his partners in crime, Jeremy Roberts, as Patrick, a kind of dumb, quick tempered lug, is the best. Roberts exudes a sort of slimy, selfish attitude that fits well within the story. William Davis, as middleman Buzz, is only OK, but not bad enough to ruin the film, neither good enough to be of any real note. Gordon Jennison as druggie/ getaway driver Donny is very good. He really acts and sells it, and a scene where Campbell catches back up with him is excellent.

As requisite love interest Janie, Anita Barone has suitable chemistry with Campbell, and sells the heartbroken fact, but when she's trying to be tough, it's not as easy to swallow. Still, she's ok.

The pacing, which is given a nice boost from the fun score, is good, and will have you on the edge of your seat.
½ June 11, 2010
Like the idea of the movie .. The cam work and story are soild . My complaints were the short run time ... and that CRAP ending . Still; got to say Bruce is the King
½ January 6, 2010
Great flick, one continuous shot(hidden cuts) Well made, good acting and Bruce Campbell not going over the top. Watch this !
½ July 12, 2009
Ice cream for any occasion...or just for FUN.
If chins could kill, bebe.
Super Reviewer
June 3, 2009
Most of this film is actually pretty engrossing.
A tribute to Hitchcock's The Rope, this film is shot in seemingly one shot, telling the story of a man getting out of jail and pulling a heist.
The one shot idea is gimmicky for sure, and become frustrating, yet really lends a realist feeling to the story. The realism, although is altered since it's shot in black and white and Bruce Campbell performance is reminiscent of a leading man of the '40s, giving this film a real sort of classical Hollywood B-Movie feel. Yet despite Bruce, everything else takes place in the present. This, however works and creates a pretty compelling film... until the last 20minutes.
The last bit of the film finds Bruce Campbell and the "lead" female "acting", giving back story and building a romance out of nowhere. The romance isn't very logically built, as Bruce doesn't remember her for most of the movie only for his memory to be jogged by an element of their past to reveal that he had this great love for her. One could say it's not well sold, and when these actors need to to the kind of acting that is needed for the scene, they fall short. The inclusion of music in spot isn't great and stands out like a sore thumb, when no music would have sufficed.
Either was, this is a great experiment, that I really enjoyed the hell out of for the most part.
May 7, 2009
I rented this becasue i'm a huge fan boy when it comes to Bruce Campbell... but i really shouldn't have bothered... filmed in real time and apparently in one shot (..its actually 3 or 4 four shots cleverly disguised to look like one shot) its pretty turgid stuff that even they mighty Bruce can't charm me into liking
½ April 23, 2009
One of Bruce Campbell's best! I would love this even if he wasnt in this.
½ December 14, 2008
Fairly uninteresting heist film. The only thing it really has going for it is the entire film is one continuous shot - while a great technical feat it does hamper the story in a few places.
Maybe worth a watch on a technical level but that's about it...
½ November 4, 2008
Cool concept, good acting, neat noir feel...and Bruce Friggin Campbell!!
August 8, 2008
This was a pretty boring movie.
The only reason I watched it was because I saw Bruce Campbell was in it and not even that made it better.
½ August 7, 2008
Stumbled onto this after seeing Army of Darkness and wondering what else this "Campbell" fellow had done. It's entertaining enough, though also fairly forgettable.
July 9, 2008
I really enjoy watching Bruce in roles that aren't Ash. It shows that he can act and he in strong in what he does. The move over all was really smart and felt fresh for what it was. There was some bad acting in it, and the ending is something left to be desired, but I still thought that that the movie was sound over all. I love these "one shot" movies.
April 7, 2008
In the long-take style of Hitchcock's 'Rope', only it's shot on location. Also, there's more cuts than in Rope, but when you don't exactly have control over the situation at all times (i.e. not shooting in a studio), that'll happen.

The camerawork absolutely kick ass and the performances are great, especially Bruce Campbell, who isn't going for the campy thing this time around. Seek out this movie.
March 20, 2008
It feels slow, but I wasn't at all bored. The style was ballsy. It forced the scenes to be filled with dialog, but that wasn't a bad thing. Not Campbell's best, but still pretty good.
Super Reviewer
½ March 16, 2008
Great low budget Becker film which follows Hitchock's Rope in trying to make it seem like it's taken in one shot. The story is forgettable, though Bruce is in it, but the filmmaking is very memorable.
February 15, 2008
An excellent film. Shot so as to appear to be one continuous take.
January 23, 2008
It's one of those few Bruce Campbell movies that are actually good. One might think that it's too short a movie, but that's all they needed to say and it's all in one shot, which was done extremely well, so kudos to whomever it was that held that camera.
Page 1 of 3