Robot & Frank - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Robot & Frank Reviews

Page 2 of 59
June 18, 2016
Certainly not what I expected just looking at the poster, but this combination of elements would probably still be unexpected even if I'd read the description and saw the trailer. Unexpected and unexpectedly enjoyable.
June 10, 2016
This was truly a remarkable movie
May 26, 2016
Great film. Lot of heart. Loved it
½ May 25, 2016
Emotiva y original historia sobre el uso y exceso de la tecnologia. A destacar Frank Langella.
May 21, 2016
Bit of a hidden gem this, amusingly heartwarming but never in any way that feels overly sentimental towards the lead character.
May 15, 2016
82%
Saw this on 14/5/16
Though at just 89 minutes, Robot and Frank has enough story and twists packed in it to make a good observation on Old age and the near future setting aids the film pretty much. With fine performances, this film strives to be realistic and does not want to make itself seem like an Oceans 11 for the Old folks.
March 20, 2016
I waited years to see this. And when I did it was a disappointment. As shallow as a comedy, without the laughs.
Super Reviewer
½ February 16, 2016
Very lovable, calm and funny film about an old burglar and his personal robot butler that stirs his old interests in him. The Sci-Fi hints are subtle but work great, especially the robot design is wonderful. Langella is a wonderfully grumpy leading man, the rest of the cast is just as excellent. A very satisfying little film.
February 10, 2016
Not bad! It's a fairly simple film about a guy who is losing his memory and his son gives him a robot to help him around the house. At first he hates the robot, but then he bonds with the robot and uses him to relive his glory days--stealing! It's fun to see the two working together. There aren't a ton of laughs, it's definitely more of a serious movie. But it was fun. Cool to explore the possibility of what robots can do for us.
½ January 29, 2016
This movie is dull and pointless. Brilliant performance by Frank Langella but theirs no story.
January 8, 2016
An overall okay movie. It would have been far more engaging had the cast put effort into the performance of their acting. LOL but seriously I don't know. Something was off the whole time. The pacing of the scenes, it was like the actors weren't into it at all. The twist as well was less effective because of that.
½ January 7, 2016
It is ok, but strange plot
January 2, 2016
Very well done. A lot to enjoy.
January 2, 2016
Heart warming and suspense filled story of a man losing his memory and independence. Loved the story/acting. The revel of one of the characters was cool. I didn't see that coming. Great movie.
Super Reviewer
December 14, 2015
When we first began considering the possibility of artificial intelligence in film most usually it was of an antagonistic variety, i.e. HAL in Kubrick's 2001: A Space Odyssey. Most recently the idea being floated around is that we, in fact, come to be amorously predisposed to that which we invent ("It reminds me of somebody...") as in Ex Machina or Her. In that vein comes Frank Langella's moving portrayal of a senior resistant to technology who comes to feel quite differently in time. Highly recommended. Great stuff by all involved. Superior.
December 12, 2015
A light-hearted adventure with thoughtful performances, a heartfelt story and an amusing script.
½ November 27, 2015
Set in the near future, Frank, a retired cat burglar, has two grown kids who are concerned he can no longer live alone. They are tempted to place him in a nursing home until Frank's son chooses a different option: against the old man's wishes, he buys Frank, a walking, talking, humanoid robot programmed to improve his physical and mental health. (Samuel Goldwyn Films)
½ October 30, 2015
Great movie.
Nice story
October 29, 2015
I don't understand this film. It gets good reviews but is completely implausible. Described as a 'quirky indie drama' it purports to be a study of dementia as well as a comedy. I thought it was silly. The behaviours shown were not believable, particularly Frank's. The robot too was highly unlikely. Watched it as a bit of light relief, but actually it was just too fluffy.
Page 2 of 59