The Reaping - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Reaping Reviews

Page 1 of 363
January 16, 2019
A movie that tries to scare but utterly fails. Its a decent story about a woman getting in touch with her religious side. It has a decent surprise at the end. Hilary Swank isn't her best here. The dialogue is very hum-drum and doesn't suck you in. Aside from a decent premise here's not much to enjoy here.
Super Reviewer
½ December 15, 2018
Hilary Swank and Idris Elba lead the cast in the apocalyptic horror thriller The Reaping. When a small-town starts experiencing biblical plagues they seek the help of college professor Katherine Morrissey, who specializes in investigating and disproving religious phenomena. The script is a little uneven and does a rather poor job at revealing Katherine's mysterious backstory. However, Stephen Hopkins' directing adds a lot of tension and suspense, as does the score. And AnnaSophia Robb is especially good as a creepy little girl. The Reaping is formulaic and bit cliched, but it delivers some chilling scares.
October 10, 2017
This movie is so boring
October 7, 2017
I read a 1 star review that said i want to see it just to see how bad it really is. Really? seems strange to give a review of a movie you have not seen yet basically slamming it because movie "critics" said so. This is actually a pretty good movie, solid acting, good story, beautifully shot, and as far as horror goes this is leaps and bounds above most of the garbage putt out today. Once again this is a movie that proves "top critic" means nothing other then full of ones self.
½ July 16, 2017
just boring. poor effects and a meandering story.
June 18, 2017
The Reaping é um caso de horror bobo onde seu maior trunfo e ter Hilary Swank no elenco, uma excelente atriz que faz seu melhor para lidar com essa situação constrangedora, nada é tão assustador como o dano para a carreira de Swank causado por estrelar este descalabro profano.
June 15, 2017
Not the worst, not the best. Idris Elba must have done it because of Swank.
½ December 23, 2016
Terrible movie. The plot offers nothing truly unique or enticing, the pacing is dull and predictable, the story becomes muddled and convoluted by the end, the visual effects are tragic and the performances are lackluster, despite having an all-star cast.
September 15, 2016
The Reaping (2007)
Starring:Hillary Swank, AnnaSophia Robb,David Morrissey, Idris Elba,Stephen Rea,Andrea Frankle,William Ragsdale,John McConnell,David Jensen,and Yvonne Landry
Directed by Stephen Hopkins
Review
HEAVEN OR HELL. GOOD OR EVIL. NOW OR NEVER.
Hello Kiddies your pal the crypt-critic here has another film he doesn't hate himself for liking. I like the Reaping because that one thing a guy would enjoy in the bible,bring the violence. It also has a good story and acting as well.
The Reaping follows and ordain minister played by Hillary Swank,who has made it her mission to prove that GOD doesn't exist.She is called to investigate a series of deaths in a small town known as Haven(you know like that SYFY show)that all seem to be plagues brought on by a little girl.Yep then the rivers run red, the locus wreak havoc and the bodies hit the floor.
The film delivers an interesting premise challenging both science and religion,it has a suprising twist at the end and a stellar cast. Hillary Swank is good as always, David Morris keeps you shrouded in mystery wondering whether if he is good or bad.But my favorite performance in this comes from AnnaSophia Robb who plays the little girl causing all the plagues,to be honest I'm quite a fan of this actress and can't wait to see her in more films.AnnaSophia Robb plays one of the creepist little girls I've ever seen on film,she is conveyed through her eyes as threatning and she's believable and conviced me that this whole town was afraid of her.
This is yet another film I believe is disliked for no good reason it's dark,it's errie, and filled with atmosphere three things that are lacking in horror films now a days. Watch this I recommended this great film, I give The Reaping a four out of five.
September 15, 2016
the movie started off great. great storyline. actors. everything was perfect but by the middle of film it looks like a rush job like writers were switched and it became boring and stupid and by the end you just wanted it to end. it shown pontential for disaster for sure. its a hit or miss in my book.
½ June 27, 2016
I called this one early on.  I said "I bet it's not the little girl."  And I also said "I bet she's pregnant."  Guess what?  It wasn't the little girl and her pregnancy is supposed to be the shocking  ending.  I wasn't shocked.  I just said "yeah."  Anyway, the special effects were pretty cool but this movie wasn't super great.  Cults are freaky man.
February 5, 2016
looks like a great horror
January 31, 2016
quando parece que o filme é razoável o argumentista estraga tudo com um final a prometer uma sequela...
October 6, 2015
As generic and uninteresting as these modern day horror movies get....Swank deserved better.
June 9, 2015
I want to see it just to know how bad it really was...
April 24, 2015
150424: This film is not as bad as it's rated, it just doesn't offer anything really new. Typical biblical plagues movie with a slight twist. Had me jumping a bit. Decent cast with Morrisey and Robb. Swank has never looked so good. Weird, until yesterday, I had never heard of this film.
Super Reviewer
January 8, 2015
Thought this was going to be dreadful, but it ended up being surprisingly good. It was sufficiently scary, tells a good story, and has a couple of great twists too.
Robbanflix
Super Reviewer
January 2, 2015
A fair horror/mystery movie and actually its not so scary at all. Story is decent i guess but i have seen alot better movies before. Nice acting of Hilary Swank once again. Worth seeing u liked silent hill and other similar movies.
November 7, 2014
This movie is so confusing and it's not well explained. Starts off kind of slow. A former Christian professor questions everything about faith.
½ October 19, 2014
Yawn.... Good cast that is misused with lazy filmmaking with an interesting premise with horrible execution.
Page 1 of 363