Raise Your Voice - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Raise Your Voice Reviews

Page 1 of 5
October 19, 2004
Nothing to sing about.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
October 7, 2004
Effortlessly combining Duff's bad acting and bad singing with bad writing and bad direction, Raise Your Voice is an insulting waste of time that begs to be silenced.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/5
October 8, 2004
An earnest and eager Fame for the young and the tin-eared.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
October 11, 2004
Raise Your Voice is like a Hallmark movie of the week produced by an MTV intern.
| Original Score: 2/4
October 8, 2004
Her dad was right about one thing. Something terrible did happen to her in Los Angeles. She made this movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
October 7, 2004
Duff has more hairdos than facial expressions, but the movie is designed around the one she has down pat, a sort of sweet "I don't know I'm adorable" sort of look.
Read More | Original Score: C
December 28, 2010
Made for tween girls.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 8, 2004
A miserable waste of a harebrained script fleshed out with mediocre performances by a flailing cast.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
October 11, 2004
I like Hilary Duff, she's very charming, but she's stuck on this after school special level with these movies.
October 7, 2004
Like the Diet Coke family of lemon, lime and vanilla beverages, Duff's romantic comedies are all slight variations on each other. This one is a rip-off of Fame in which you can identify the specific scenes being bogarted.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
October 7, 2004
If you're planning to see Raise Your Voice, lower your expectations. Then lower them some more. Even then, you'll be disappointed.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
October 10, 2004
It has no spark, no wit, and no purpose other than to convince the world that Hilary Duff is a celebrity. I wasn't buyin' it 19 months ago, and I'm not buyin' it now.
Full Review | Original Score: D
October 10, 2004
Simple earnestness is one thing, but this film makes Touched by an Angel look like David Mamet.
Full Review | Original Score: D-
October 30, 2004
In watching the anemically manipulative Raise Your Voice, one wouldn't mind calling for a touch of well-needed laryngitis.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
April 29, 2009
Vapid story, shallow concept, bad acting, unoriginal characters, and a climax so cheesy I had to shut it off to keep from kicking in the screen.
October 7, 2004
The vocal stylings of Duff are particularly laughable...It's artificial, it's bad, it's a falsetto Max Headroom.
October 7, 2004
Depending on your age, Duff is either the perfect big sister or the perfect baby sitter. She is not the perfect actress, though.
Full Review| Original Score: 2/4
October 6, 2004
Sometimes, I wonder why I see these movies. Seriously, when was the last time you heard the words "Hilary Duff" and "great movie" used together without a mocking tone?
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
October 6, 2004
Another bland, prefabricated feel-good vehicle for another chirpy Disney-cultivated pop-singer teen queen.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
October 8, 2004
Oh, the comparisons just come so easily: Like Coyote Ugly, only sillier. Like Crossroads, only sickening-sweeter.
Page 1 of 5