Quincy - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Quincy Reviews

Page 1 of 1
½ April 11, 2019
2,900 songs recorded, 300 albums recorded, 51 film and television scores, over 1,000 original compositions, 79 Grammy nominations, 27 Grammy wins, E.G.O.T. winner (only 18 people have ever accomplished this), producer of Thriller, conductor of "We Are the World"...

The man, the myth, the legend... Quincy Jones

This was an intriguing look into the life of a man who accomplished more than most people could ever dream of in a lifetime. The film itself was co-written and co-directed by Alan Hicks and Rashida Jones (his daughter).

My main reasoning for watching this was the fact that it was included on the shortlist for the 91st Oscars (original song) "Keep Reachin'" by Qunicy himself (featuring Chaka Khan). The irony is that you feel the history in this song! You feel Micheal Jackson, you feel Stevie Wonder. It definitely fits with the narrative of the film and shows the man still has it!

I wasn't a huge fan of the film as a whole, I appreciated bits and pieces of it and the overall story of what this man has went through and overcome is awe inspiring! I feel that you could really tell that the two mainly in-charge of the film are new to the medium.

I don't want to come off as hating the documentary, because I didn't. I just didn't walk away feeling that I understand the story behind this legend! I will admit I know far more now than before but there's more to a good documentary than just that.
½ March 25, 2019
Grandioso homenaje al gigante Q. La historia de Quincy Jones da para tanto, tiene tanto para contar, vivi├│ tantas cosas y cosech├│ tantos ´┐ 1/2 (C)xitos que es un placer ver este homenaje a este grande de la historia de la m├║sica.
December 16, 2018
The breadth of talent is truly amazing
Super Reviewer
December 10, 2018
"I wish everybody here...a long, long, long ass life; filled with a whole lot of...tons of...they say...love to share, health to spare, and friends who care."

Because that's what life's really about.
December 4, 2018
I didn't know very much about Quincy Jones, so this was really cool for me to watch and learn about this legend! The film focused mostly on his achievements and contributions, but I would've liked to see how his brain worked and more interviews with him.
½ October 24, 2018
Quite interesting profile of Quincy's life and career but perhaps a little more grit and depth would have enhanced it. It seemed almost to be a tribute to him - one that avoided the risk of criticism of the man. Perhaps this was inevitable given that Quincy's daughter was one of the directors
October 22, 2018
An exceptional movie about a truly exceptional man. We are provided insight into the life of one of the greatest geniuses of modern history. well done!
½ October 18, 2018
An intimate look into a monumental life, one that like its central subject moves quickly and covers a lot of ground-to a fault. There is too much music, too many achievements here to linger on the failures and wounds, to wonder how his struggles played into Q's artistry. In the end, it feels less like a documentary than a home movie, and less like a home movie than a visualized Wikipedia summary, that nonetheless pulses enjoyably enough with familiar faces and hit tunes.
October 15, 2018
From the start of this movie I was engaged and couldn't wait to see what came next. His life is so complex that there could be Q2 and 3. Loved the treatment of the subject,warm,loving and yet matter of fact. The standing ovation at the end by the audience was so well deserved. Great work team Quincy.
October 14, 2018
Love this movie! Such an accomplished man!
October 13, 2018
I wish this had given a few more detials about his life, but while he is still alive it was important to have the current Quincy on screen for as long as possible.
October 2, 2018
Best documentary I've seen in a while. So much talent, so much vision. What an inspiration!
September 27, 2018
I loved this movie. It was well written and directed. It was a true homage to a man of considerable talent. Loved learning about all his accomplishments. You can feel the love that went into the making of this film. Well done!!!!
Page 1 of 1