Quantum of Solace - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Quantum of Solace Reviews

Page 1 of 15
August 9, 2018
Somehow Marc Forster's direction sucks all the vitality out of the film. There's no thrill in the chase. With the exception of an absolutely first-rate fight sequence on scaffolding in a church under renovation, Bond is having no fun at all.
October 30, 2018
At the end of Solace there are a couple of unhappy but typical realizations: 1) that the film only runs 106 minutes when it seemed more like 166, and 2) that it's still hard to say whether Daniel Craig moves well as an action hero.
September 9, 2019
A plot of an unnecessarily complex development that fails miserably in something that its predecessor did very well: offer characters that seduce us. [Full Review in Spanish]
January 31, 2019
The angsty, truant Bond and his sulky ways get too irritating, the pout notwithstanding.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
November 2, 2015
Although it's not the most crushing disappointment of all time -- finding you have won the lottery but lost the ticket is probably more crushing, I imagine -- it is still a crushing disappointment.
November 2, 2015
Kurylenko is certainly gorgeous, but can't match Craig as a thespian, and the necessary chemistry between them is merely mundane.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 6, 2020
Quantum of Solace is one of the most listless Bond films I have seen.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
November 14, 2008
The only thing that's shaken is the camera work and I certainly wasn't stirred by a dang thing. This isn't a Bergman film: Bond can search his soul on his own time.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.25/4
October 14, 2012
At times, you feel you can see the character - and by proxy the writers - actually thinking, "So what now?"
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 13, 2008
I repeat: James Bond is not an action hero! Leave the action to your Jason Bournes. This is a swampy old world. The deeper we sink in, the more we need James Bond to stand above it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
November 14, 2008
This is the least satisfying production since The Living Daylights.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
November 14, 2008
With [this] too-shaken sequel, the Bond market experiences a dip.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
November 13, 2008
Not every director is well-suited to Bondland. "There's something horribly efficient about you," Kurylenko says to Craig at one point. The same goes for the film.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
November 14, 2008
Quantum of Solace is a model of mediocrity, even though Daniel Craig gives his all to a production that doesn't deserve him.
November 2, 2015
If they want to keep making movies like this with Daniel Craig as a British secret agent, I think they should at least change his name to something besides Bond.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
November 17, 2008
Now that 007 has got Vesper out of his system, maybe we'll get a Bond flick that doesn't just smolder but is genuinely combustible.
November 12, 2008
The movie never bores, but nor does it spark.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
November 2, 2015
Quantum of Solace barely feels like a Bond movie, what with all the staple elements of the franchise stripped bare in an effort to make an even more "realistic" adventure.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
December 24, 2009
Turns out to be almost as bad as its title.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
August 13, 2009
I'm so turned off by this, I don't even have the energy to trash it. Why should I think of something clever to write? The authors clearly didn't see that as a mandate.
Read More | Original Score: C
Page 1 of 15