Private Life - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Private Life Reviews

Page 1 of 4
May 11, 2019
Too slow, and with an uncomfortable premise. Using one's step- niece as an egg donor seems rife for potential family drama. Love the cast. Disliked the writing.
½ April 11, 2019
I love the Oscar race, getting to see films that you'd otherwise never watch is always a fun experience!

I wasn't sure about this, but the further into it I got, the more I went on to appreciate it. Paul Giamatti was his normal weird self, the biggest surprise were Kathryn Hahn and Molly Shannon in roles that you're not used to seeing.

Back to the reason I love the Oscar race, if a standard film ended like this, the audience may potentially riot lol. Thankfully I've grown to be accustomed to "surprise" unfinished endings.
April 2, 2019
We felt this could have been an excellent movie if the wife character was not a living gargoyle. Main characters are supposed to e interesting and likeable for empathy to occur. In the first ten minutes we felt it incomprehensible that an intelligent man could be attracted to the crass wife. It was also not believable the wife could write an intelligent sentence never mind a play. We hoped the husband would as, for a divorce. But by the end of theories, we thought his use of a gun would be more sensible. What could have been a meaningful movie with the right wife character,it was instead true torture.
February 24, 2019
Supremely emotional, subtle funny.

Greatly woven.
Dear Off beaters...go grab it.
½ February 19, 2019
This surprising dramedy from Jenkins explores trekked territory in refreshingly truthful and hilarious ways. Giamatti and Hahn are perfectly paired and Carter gives a remarkable breakthrough performance.
February 15, 2019
We saw the first 15 minutes and bailed. I know that in general, it's not enough time to judge an entire film, but having been through the in vitro process and many medical procedures we could not get over some of the most blatent errors. Maybe some were done for effect, but it was too much for us to sit through...

Spoilers:

During an egg retrieval, a surgeon would never recommend that the husband run across the city to immediately have his sperm aspirated and to have that surgeon be paid immediately at that moment. We bailed!
February 5, 2019
This tale about a couple dealing with fertility issues works because of the talents of the cast and a funny yet sensitive script. It also avoids giving them any easy answers to their problems, which feels more real.
½ January 24, 2019
I really loved this movie. I seriously cannot understand how it was not nominated for any Academy Awards. This movie is very well written and the cast is outstanding. This is a must-see.
½ January 24, 2019
Hey guys, I'm more surprised than anyone I liked this amazing movie. Using boxxy software i'll saw movie with super quality and with different dubbing.
January 20, 2019
Movie night with Iris.

Sometimes funny comedy on the quest for successful fertilisation. The strong cast make what could have been unlikable characters likable.
½ January 13, 2019
The dogs were the best part.
½ January 13, 2019
Reviewed 1.3.19 What a deft lil' gem of a script. Tamara Jenkin's writing is growing stronger with each new outing. Excited to see what she does next. No cheap tricks, just realistic and honest dialogue, delivered by a stellar cast. Paul Giamatti is his regular solid self, toning down his more outrageous tendencies to play Richard, the husband doing his best to hold it all together. As his wife, Kathryn Hahn, shows she has more than just comedic chops, delivering a heart-aching portrayal of a want-to-be mother.

For those emotionally tuned to such an experience, it'll cut deep as a drama, and hopefully provide some comedic comfort along the way. And for those unfamiliar with reproductive challenges, it introduces you to a whole new world. Education, well earned laughs, and perhaps some new found empathy. Not a bad way to spend two hours. Yet with an ending that will leave some questioning, and a subject matter aimed for a target audience, it won't deliver for all.
January 11, 2019
I was holding out hope for a happy ending, but instead there was no ending. Not that there's anything wrong with that...
January 10, 2019
This type of life scenario is rarely documented but happens around us. Reminded me to always treat people right all the time, be non-judgemental and be empathetic to couples who are seeking to have children. I'd recommend to watch it with boxxy software app.
December 31, 2018
What a complete waste of time. This film is plodding, dull and dopey with an ending more glum than a Michael Moore film.
December 30, 2018
So depressing!!! The wife was such a horrible person!! The husband was a lovable wimp. I feel like I wasted 2 hours of my life!!!
December 28, 2018
Private Life is achingly real and quietly powerful. It's a masterclass in writing and acting. Tamara Jenkins has created a film that encapsulates all of the sorrow and joy in life in such a way that is both wryly funny and also deeply emotional. Lead actors Paul Giamatti and Kathryn Hahn are truly superb as the New York scholarly couple trying to find ways to have children. They are on an adoption list but are also trying IVF with limited results. The film expertly chronicles their struggle and their exasperation at various obstacles. It's a revealing look at this aspect of life but also a reflection on what it is to be human. But this film is no drudge, it's full of warmth and great humour. It's a roller coaster of an emotional ride but one that I was sad to leave.
December 25, 2018
Such a great movie and so well played!
JC
Super Reviewer
½ December 25, 2018
Very sad and very funny with great performances by Giamatti, Hahn and especially Carter. Jenkins hits all the right notes in a one couple's search for validation of their own lives...a baby. The ending is killer. (12-23-18 NF)
December 18, 2018
Funniest movie I've seen in a long time
Page 1 of 4