Pokémon Detective Pikachu - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Pokémon Detective Pikachu Reviews

Page 1 of 55
½ May 23, 2019
Detective Pikachu is funny, charming, and overall a great time for pokemon fans and non pokemon fans alike.
May 23, 2019
As a lifelong fan I was thrilled to see some of my favorite Pokemon in the real world. Although it was predictable at times and did leave some questions unanswered it is a very enjoyable film.
½ May 23, 2019
The worst movie of the first half of 2019. Predictable twist, unlikeable characters, and terrible acting make this drag on forever.
May 23, 2019
Fun movie. Brought my 5 & 8 year old and they really enjoyed it. Good storyline. I thought some of the FX could have been done better but overall a great experience especially for fans of the Pokemon series of games and anime.
May 23, 2019
Wonderful animation, good set up, bad writing.
May 23, 2019
Genius move to have Ryan Reynolds voice "Detective Pikachu" because besides the immersive live action Pokemon world you get to see on screen (finally), he saves this film. No offense to Justice Smith (the lead protagonist) playing the "straight man" to counter the comedy of Ryan but he was just way too bland and boring for most of the film.
I can't blame Kathryn Newton either because her over the top acted character is definitely meant for younger audiences.

The plot itself is something out of a Disney Channel movie, but you have to expect that. Thankfully, the world where the story takes place helps you forget about that, most of the time. The Pokemon are all beautifully drawn CGI, staying true to original designs, but less colorful to blend them into the real world. This movie was definitely made to draw in new or casual fans, but also give hardcore fans lots of Pokemon eye candy with some dialogue and terms only fans of the game understand.

Bring your kids to see it, they will enjoy it. If you're somewhat of a Pokemon fan, don't worry, Ryan Reynolds will entertain you. If you're a hardcore Pokemon fan, you have no choice, you have to see it because it's the first "live action" movie.

One thing that's disappointing is that "the hook" for this film will be hard to explain if they do a sequel. You'll see what I mean. FINAL REVIEW: 7 out 10. If no Ryan Reynolds was involved, 4 out of 10. Yes, that's how good this Ryan/Pikachu fusion is. Enjoy with 3D with possible.
May 23, 2019
It's not a perfect movie and the story is predictable but I really enjoyed the characters and I am a huge 1st Gen Pokemon fan so I absolutely loved seeing a lot of my favourites in live action format. I will say, if you are not a fan of Pokemon, likelihood is you won't enjoy it as much
May 23, 2019
Pokemon Detective Pikachu, while littered with convenient plot devices, is nothing but fun. And that's the very reason I love it.

The movie embraces camp and the franchise it's a part of, building interest for a sequel through nothing but rich world-building. Geeky energy seeps through the screen, welcoming the audience with open arms. And while the story is nothing spectacular, it still works as a surprising mystery anyone can understand.

The movie doesn't focus on its most cliche elements, which lets it soar, and isn't afraid to let Ryan Reynold's version of Pikachu steal the show nor make story sacrifices that could hinder a sequel (which I think more movies should do).

Overall, Pikachu was an extremely fun popcorn flick. And I'd highly suggest it to anyone who isn't too picky with conveniences. Also, this movie needs to make more money, because there's a lot of this universe I still want to see.
May 22, 2019
Great movie, if you started with the classic 151 or came in recently this had lots of pokemon and explained a lot about the world they live in.
May 22, 2019
They gave a great glimpse of the world of Pokďż 1/2 (C)mon and great Easter eggs for loyal Pokďż 1/2 (C)mon fans and older fans too. Ryan Reynolds as Pikachu was great and funny.

I recommend it!!
May 22, 2019
Ryan Reynolds is awesome!!!
May 22, 2019
Lighting was awful, story was non-existent, acting was wooden and Ryan Reynolds was on maximum annoying form.
sqa y.
Super Reviewer
May 22, 2019
i loved seeing all the pokemon come to life!
½ May 22, 2019
A good movie not a great one just good, you will pass a good time but no more
May 22, 2019
Simply hilarious and fun.
May 22, 2019
PokĂ (C)mon Detective Pikachu serves as a strong new direction for video game moviesâ"it doesn't attempt to hollowly imitate the tone and themes of the PokĂ (C)mon games or anime, but instead takes the PokĂ (C)mon IP and uses it as a vehicle to tell a story that is unique and can stand on its own merits.
May 22, 2019
Pretty decent and totally enjoyable for people who grew up playing the original video games or at least watching the anime adaptation.
½ May 22, 2019
I enjoyed this film and I like the surprise at the end lol. Different from the anime story line, but still a simple good story.
May 22, 2019
it was a fun movie. No way perfect but still fun.
May 22, 2019
My GF & I love it very much. It's very wonderful to see all our adorable childhood Pokemons come to life in the big screen. The plot is passable (good enough) that we have time to focus on the magic, that is the Pokemons. Ryan Reynold's VO is spot-on, even though I can't tell a difference from Pikachu & Deadpool, perhaps without all the swearing from the former. Thanks for bringing us a live adaptation, we can really imagine living in a world full of all these magical creatures, oh the possibilities... Hence my GF is scoring it a 10/10!
Page 1 of 55