Pane e Cioccolata (Bread and Chocolate) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Pane e Cioccolata (Bread and Chocolate) Reviews

Page 1 of 2
½ January 18, 2016
Wonderful comedy/tragedy of an Italian's experience in Switzerland
½ July 26, 2015
A dramatic comedy. Typical Italian. It will make you laugh sometimes but not a lot.
½ February 5, 2015
a gem of a picture

Way back in 1985, my then girlfriend insists I watch a movie playing on television. As it was the beginning of our relationship, I consented. And I was amazed how much I loved it. Not just because I'm 2nd generation Italian and a raging closet Marxist, and not just because I laughed harder than I ever had or ever have since (just wait for the chicken coop scene), but mostly because this is a poignant (ridiculously funny and terribly sad) movie about cultural identity, envy and the struggle for personal fulfilment. What surprises me is how difficult this movie is to find. Until recently, I've only since seen it in VHS without English subs at a video store in Little Italy. Finally this year I found a DVD rip on the web. I watched it again to see how it holds up. While there is a bit of sentimental drag in parts, it's still a gem of a picture and still holds up after 37 years. Nino Manfredi was marvellous. Anna Karina was sublime. The plot was wildly adventurous. The illegal immigrant experience is just as relevant. And the chicken coop scene still had me LMAO. You'll love it.
Jason Derfuss
Super Reviewer
October 25, 2012
I feel like I missed many cultural references and so I don't quite find it as funny as it's supposed to be.
Super Reviewer
April 14, 2012
From 1974 this Italian piece plays at first like several skits from the old Saturday Night Live or even (going further back) the Carol Burnett Show, but soon you realise these light seeming comic moments have a heart and a soul as we follow one immigrant's journey to belong in a land of wealth and promise. Better than even its own beginning ... which might be on purpose.
½ October 1, 2010
? una commedia all'italiana in piena regola (ironica e crudele), che offre l'occasione per riflettere sulle vessazioni subite dai nostri connazionali in paesi trogloditici come la svizzera. Un'altra grande interpretazione di Nino Manfredi.
½ July 7, 2009
Hilarious! Nino Manfredi is a Kevin Kline-Robert De Niro hybrid with great comedic skill. Big laughs, but the film is also affecting as drama, and somewhat haunting in the end, giving the comedy a bittersweet undercurrent.
½ April 15, 2009
Very well acted, but a bit depressing.
½ January 23, 2009
Both funny and sad, always charming. A wonderful comedy, in a way only Italians can do. Delightful performance by Nino Manfredi. Fine screenplay and direction. Very likable and entertaining.
Super Reviewer
December 4, 2008
want to see this because it won best foreign-language film with the NYFC and was nominated for best foreign film by NBR
November 14, 2008
Refreshingly unique film, charming character. Nino Manfredi reminds me of Julian Barratt...
August 3, 2008
I think many Italians should see this film again to understand many aspects of the present.
June 15, 2008
interesting but messy
½ April 14, 2008
A comedy that drops disaster after disaster upon our loving protagonist.
November 17, 2007
The chicken coop family, one of the saddest and funniest scenes in cinema.
November 15, 2007
Parts of Bread and Chocolate feel dated, but to me that's almost a recommendation, and the plight of this slightly aging Italian waiter trying to make life decent as a foreigner in Switzerland is absolutely memorable. It's the kind of movie that goes from one absurd fix to another--losing your job and visa in one stroke, getting arrested for murder while eating a sandwich at the park, living in a chicken coop--but it endears itself with tiny character observations.
November 15, 2007
The movie where I cried the most...
½ November 8, 2007
the scene where Nino Manfredi watches the soccer match between Italy and Switzerland in a Swiss bar is exceptional
October 21, 2007
Brilliant and underrated. My favorite tragic comedy ever.
October 2, 2007
A great little story; Note, for your ultimate viewing pleasure, watch it with an Italian
Page 1 of 2