Orwell Rolls in His Grave - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Orwell Rolls in His Grave Reviews

Page 1 of 3
March 21, 2016
If you've ever wondered why people in trailer parks are voting to lower the taxes of billionaires, This documentary will have you smacking your forehead and saying, "It's the media stupid!"
PantaOz
Super Reviewer
½ August 7, 2013
This documentary written and directed by Robert Kane Pappas is a relevant one for the modern society because covers topics including the Telecommunications Act of 1996, concentration of media ownership, political corruption, Federal Communications Commission (FCC), the controversy over the US presidential election of 2000 (particularly in Florida with Bush v. Gore), and the October surprise conspiracy theory. On the other hand, I can see the similarities with all other systems of control in China, Russia, Middle East and even Europe. It seems that government quickly follow up each other when they have to take freedom of speech from their citizens, regardless the political views.

I cannot say that I didn't like the documentary: it was relevant, had trustworthy experts who know their subjects extremely well, it had facts, it had plenty of interviews... but somehow it was too dry and lecturing for my taste. I am a lecturer myself, and the most important thing is to involve the audience into the lecture! This documentary didn't do that for me - I was always aware that this is presented information to provide me with truth which should alter my views on democracy in the United States. No need for that in my case, because I was an owner of a radio station in the late 80's and I know a thing or two about the subject, and all I wanted is to enjoy the presentation. Well, that was hard if you are just lining up the presenters and facts.

I was thinking to show this to my students, but I will edit parts of it before doing that, because in this form is a little bit too hard to "chew" the complicated subject of taking a democracy from the "demos" to the 1% of the US population! George Orwel's "1984" seems like a paradise compared with today's laws in the "Western Freedom" countries, with US as a leader.

Recommended for the information and revelation, not artistic value!
November 2, 2012
say hello to your business. I mean, government.
February 4, 2011
Heard all this before. But it never gets boring. Having read 1984 helped...
April 8, 2010
Nauseatingly relevant to the entire western world, 'Orwell Rolls In His Grave' is an intelligent, well-structured and convincing condemnation of American social manipulation by the then powers that be: George W. Bush's republican party, and their circle of ravenous, shameless associates and lackeys. Former journalists, producers and college professors sit and refuse to spin, as they detail our media's snivelling three-bags-full compliance with the will of the rich and ruthless few. The examples of blatant, pre-packaged corruption bring the dread and despair of a Hitchcock film. Or a Madonna video(sorry, I needed a laugh).

Robert Kane Pappas smartly laces his doom-and-gloom documentary with satire, and an amusingly bilious university address from Michael Moore - which also serves to nail down the overall message of the film(an apparently contradictory statement during Moore's wrap-up is a personal vow and call to arms, nothing more). Senator Bernie Sanders and journalists Greg Palast and Charles Lewis are also charismatic, natural story-tellers who offer compelling, often incredulous testimony. By the end, the film has looped smoothly back on itself. And, because - as is made painfully clear - there's just no way around it, on us.

The dramatic soundtrack illustrates but doesn't annoy. Eric Woods songs are also poignant. The use of fading blackness to highlight various quotations is also to good effect. Pappas lets his subjects do the talking during interview clips, but intensely narrates the whole thing. Every word is compelling, every sequence a twist of the knife.

See it with a money-grubbing whore.
July 21, 2009
Another film I believe would be better if i didn't already know about the issues. It is well done, but one might already know the main theme if one is familiar with the media bias of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. A recommended alternative would be Buying the War by Bill Moyer. That being said, it does make a good distinction between free speech of the people and of corporations and hints at the democratic paradox.
July 1, 2009
> simply indispensable if you really care about politics.
½ September 5, 2008
Leaves a sickening feeling in the pit of my stomach.
August 28, 2008
Must see. Primer for the new American century.
Super Reviewer
June 25, 2008
This is a doc. everyone should see. The content is excellent - you want to scream and wonder why no one knows this is going on, but it's obviously because the media doesn't want you to!
June 13, 2008
The US media is anything but diverse, competitive and independent. We all know that, and yet we are not in the streets protesting... This documentary, even if it presents facts that we already know, is a must see.
June 7, 2008
A timely documentary about the rising fascism in the United States
June 1, 2008
NON FICTION , ENLIGHTENMENT FOR THE IGNORANT
May 20, 2008
I will not accuse this film of liberal bias, since that is a term wholly created by our overwhelmingly conservative media industry. I will say that I agree with the message of this film, that our country is rapidly going down the toilet and indeed Orwell (as well as many others) would roll in his grave. Ever since I witnessed Bush attempt to change the "War on Terror" (an already repugnantly paradoxical phrase) to the "Global Effort Against Extremism," I knew we'd entered a grim Orwellian era in our country's history.
March 3, 2008
B = Well above average
January 28, 2008
Another must see documentary. If you aren't already aware of this subject matter, you are in for a big surprise! The similarity between Orwell's 1984 and today's American government (and corporations) is pretty scary.
January 7, 2008
Here's a movie that explains maybe too much -- but then again, that's why it had to be made. Some say truth is stranger than fiction. With this film (and subsequent reactions) we see the reality that truth often is too horrible to be acknowledged (no less accepted as such: per Chomsky, Lippman).

Kudos to you Mr. Pappas
½ January 3, 2008
Pappas's dense and informative expose on American corporate media's descent into an Orwellian nightmare makes for powerful but unappealing viewing.
December 24, 2007
A voir absolument si vous etes concernes par l'etat du monde et des medias. Et si vous ne vous sentez pas concernes, peut-etre le serez vous apres visionnage...
-
A must see for anyone with a political or social concern.
Orwell must be rolling a lot in his grave these days...
Page 1 of 3