Paranoia 1.0 - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Paranoia 1.0 Reviews

Page 1 of 3
January 24, 2018
how to download this movie?
June 30, 2017
A bit of Kafka, a touch of Orwell and Terry Gilliam and a whole lot of been-there- done-that.
½ July 4, 2015
A smart well-paced sci-fi thriller of the mind.
March 16, 2013
I liked the concept, but the movie was too ambiguous and confusing, and the visual style was way overused. The Lynch/Cronenberg influence is a bit too obvious.
July 16, 2012
This is an interesting movie, that holds an awful lot back. The notion is Corporations ruling the world through viruses, but also raises the question of what our lives are worth in the reality we inhabit. Additionally, who are the good guys in this film, is never truly clear. Generally well done, if somewhat confusing, partially due to the filmmakers intentionally holding back certain things throughout the film, which did get on my nerves a bit when I worked backwards to figure some of them out.
April 9, 2012
A dark movie about a computer nerd who has a little trouble with thinking everyone is out to get him. He works from home and has a project that he is working on a the deadline is in 24 hours. He really loves his milk and makes frequent trips to the store. There is a specific brand he likes. When he gets back to his place there is a package inside his apartment and the door was locked when he got there. The parcel is empty and that starts a series of events that sends Simon over the edge of sanity. The cimenatography is really dark to match the film. It's a wild ride thats for sure.
½ February 1, 2012
This bizarre film has looks, style, and mood. But to what end? For what purpose? It's a movie about paranoia, but to me every scene felt more or less the same . Sorry Nate
October 26, 2011
One of the best dystopia films on the planet, this is a rare little gem that comes along, once in while, they don't make thme like this. I will say nothing about this film you have to watch it, its a marvel, and a masterpiece.
½ January 31, 2011
Rather good, weird, sci-fi mystery - reminded me a bit of A Scanner Darkly and a bit of 1984.
January 27, 2011
Explains the mycans. Ohnoes.
January 13, 2011
worth watching naman...story is good
October 11, 2010
Paranoia was an acceptable sci fi thriller with decent acting from the whole cast. It had a very good atmosphere and the viewer is intantly enveloped into the film. definitly the best quality of this film.

It also had a few good moments of thrills, and it did keep me entertained throughout the movie. And of course the symbolism in it does seem to be a little over kill but at the same time it wasnt to bad.

overall i thought this movie was entertaining to watch, but it is definitly not a movie i would watch over and over again.
September 15, 2010
This is the sort of sci-fi I live for watching: a great blend of over-the-top stylization, good acting, dark, thrilling mystery, and, above all, engaging concepts on where science and technology may be going. These are deep thrills. The setting, the light, and the events are creepy, eerie, and disturbing and yet sublimely powerful. Superb.
September 9, 2010
I wouldn't say this is an amazing movie. But I really loved it. It's about a computer programmer/hacker who gets infected with a computer nano virus. He ends up getting paranoid and acting crazy. He doesn't trust anyone. It was pretty slow and the acting was very bland/monotone. What I loved about this movie, though, was the atmosphere. Everything looks so bleak and dark. It was a nihilistic futuristic movie (think 1984). Total cyber-punk and I was totally digging it.

I think I liked it so much because of the old school coding. It wasn't magical floating through some cyber world hacking.

*SPOILERS*

"Dont forget that Nile got Simon the upgrade. Thats more than suspicious - it's clear that Nile is working for the corporation. Besides he says just before leaving "I am sorry, I am realy sorry" after delivering the upgrade. So he feels guilt because he likes Simon as a friend, but he has to do his job - again it's clear he works for the corporation :)"


"He says: "There are bad guys who can help you but won't, then there are good guys who want to help you, but can't. I'm a good guy." (or something similar)

The point is that he can't help the main character. He is a good guy, but he can't help. All he can do is to take out the brain so the corporation can't use it in their research. (It seems our good old main character didn't get this as well. He thought he would receive help) "
½ May 13, 2010
I have seen this.

I remember...5% of it.

2.5 stars!
April 24, 2010
another great low budget techno punk future
Super Reviewer
February 3, 2010
if someone like David Fincher had directed this and gotten real actors for it.... i dont know
½ January 29, 2010
boring, slow, pointless. once again, gratuitous boobies kept me awake long enough to see the end, then i promptly fell asleep (and i was carried to bed. how sweet heh.)
November 1, 2009
I really loved this movie and have watched it no less than 5 times. The ideas it extends seem to play on my mind well after it is over but my paranoia regarding technology runs deep, so it is no wonder it has such an impact. I do highly recommend you check it out if you haven't seen it. From the dark, cold, somewhat claustrophobic setting to the quirky yet not too over the top characters, this is a very rewarding film experience for lovers of sci-fi.
October 31, 2009
This is a different sort of cyber-punk movie. It has a pretty strong cast with Jeremy Sisto, Bruce Payne, Udo Kier, and the immortal Lance Henriksen and a wonderfully surreal story that would make David Lynch proud. It's allegorical stance about consumerism and advertising is somehow subtle yet obvious. Originally, when I started this review I was so-so on this movie but the more I think about it, the more I'm remembering little nuances and subtle idiosyncrasies that has me thinking I need to watch it again. Huh... did this movie just pull a life depicting art thing... or am I just paranoid?
Page 1 of 3