On Her Majesty's Secret Service - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

On Her Majesty's Secret Service Reviews

Page 1 of 149
May 7, 2019
Emotional and outstanding drama.
May 7, 2019
Lazenby is bringing a lot of things new on the table, we may not like it or want it, but, hey, at least, it is refreshing.

On Her Majesty's Secret Service

Hunt is on a hunt. It is not well planned or equipped. In fact, if anything, it almost feels like an ambush while it clearly isn't. Peter Hunt, the director, has got one thing right for sure. The flirt of the game, it isn't thrilling, but is incredibly exciting to see these characters tease each other and us getting pumped for them. Such a connection was difficult to establish especially since the face of our beloved character was replaced.

And not only does it show the utter confident in their script but also on the actor George Lazenby who may not deliver complete list of requirements but somehow in its goofiness, it is an improvement to the previous installment- the film, not the Bond, NO, NEVER. But that's not saying much, is it, now. Clocking for more than two hours, the film asks a lot of patience from us, and against all expectations, the first and last act is mind numbing. The real treat lies in the middle chapter where the flirting is turned to 11 and watching them gleefully hide and reveal what they care for, is yes, fun to encounter.

If thought about, Lazenby, technically, isn't conjuring the essence of the Bond. He isn't confident, he cannot pull off even a one-liner let alone pull out a gun with an electrifying speed or handle his drink. He is good with girls though, so many, in here, some good and some bad, and frankly, the manipulative nature of their tracks did lure me in, instead of being aware of it. On Her Majesty's Secret Service we can see a lot of good "old style" methods that keeps you invested in the work days, as soon as you're on a holiday, it looks for cheap thrills; the very theme of action is off putting in here.
March 29, 2019
When I first saw this film (on TV in high school) I really wanted to like this film. It dragged and had a bummer ending.
I saw it again years later...Still dragged and had a bummer ending.
But, at least George Lazenby gave it his best shot.
March 16, 2019
my favourite 007 movie with the best bond girl one of the most iconic scenes of the saga and the best score
February 26, 2019
All in all it is a passable Bond film with a lot of heart, not the very worst in the series but certainly not the best. https://latetothegame.blog/2019/02/07/key-movies-of-my-life-james-bond-edition-on-her-majestys-secret-service-1969/
February 2, 2019
The best thrilling movie ever made!
February 2, 2019
Although the editing can be sloppy and the combat clunky, George Lazenby plays a fine Bond, the chase scenes are very engaging, and the plot is fascinating and multilayered.
December 13, 2018
Peter Hunt directs with the same precision and attention to detail that he does with his editing. This is a gorgeous looking movie. The pace is a little uneven, with the bulk of the action packed tightly into the last 45 minutes or so but its well worth the wait. George Lazenby does OK as the new Bond and comes out of it fine considering his inexperience. A personal favourite, it's one of the best in the franchise.
½ November 24, 2018
Admittedly, I didn't expect this to be much after being disappointed with the last film and knowing that Sean Connery had left the project. I was wrong though. The cinematography is miles ahead of anything done previous to this installment, and the storytelling is captivating. 007 actually appears human in this film, and from start to finish, the story is told as it should be. Salvalas is captivating as Blofeld, in a way no previous iteration could be. The film suffers the most because it is a Bond film sadly and some choices in plot points should have been altered so that there were less plot holes and so that this could be a prequel to the others, in order to account for the change in face as a change of time. This, along with Goldfinger, will be among the films I recommend from the Bond series.
November 5, 2018
The only time it showcases in a special and well elaborate manner - James Bond getting married, even if it was for a few hours. the skiing scenes were awesome though.
½ September 22, 2018
I understand why fans do not like George Lazenby's take on Bond. His acting is wooden and it is not great. I recently re watched "Majesty" and changed my opinion on it. I used to think it was an average film but after my second viewing, "Majesty" is a great film and one of the best Bond films.
½ July 24, 2018
Why would you leave us like that Sean!? Why!?
On Her Majesty's Secret service has some thrills but Lazenby is a terrible Bond and this also has one of the worst endings ever.
-3.5/10
½ July 20, 2018
I was a bit disillusioned, the film had a weak history (the villain did not have a good motivation, the Geroge Lazenby did not play a big role like James Bond, and the film had rather unnecessary scenes). But the film also has strengths, such as photography, casting (besides Geroge Lazenby) and the action was also good. I recommend.
½ July 10, 2018
Lazenby does an ok job..My least favorite bond.
July 1, 2018
On Her Majesty's Secret Service features George Lazenby in his only screen appearance as Bond, and as such is too often overlooked. Lazenby isn't a great actor, but he's physically impressive, and very adept in the action scenes, while Diana Rigg plays one of the best written Bond girls with gravitas and panache. The film is also gorgeously shot, impeccably scored, and has a brave ending that lands like a punch to the gut.
March 21, 2018
This is the most underrated of the Bond films. Similar to the book and absent the Bond gadgets, it may run a little long but keeps you involved in the plot and characters. Diana Rigg is the best Bond girl, although unlike the others she is a Bond woman. George Lazenby may lack a little as an actor, but keeps you involved in the story very well. The Swiss scenery is magnificent and the story more believable than most of the Bond films. This is a Bond film that shouldn't be missed.
March 18, 2018
Love it. Great score, classic song and a wonderful dynamic between Lazenby and Diana Rigg.
½ January 23, 2018
Lazenby is fine as Bond, but the rest is over pretentious at best. It gives a Bond Girl that deserves his love, a villain who wants to be a tyrant and an atmosphere creating Nirvana. It's quirky, weird, boring and honestly not "Bond. James Bond".
½ January 7, 2018
this is a surprising good Bond movie, with a lot of very hilarious scenes at Blofeld's allergy clinic.
Page 1 of 149