Oliver Twist - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Oliver Twist Reviews

Page 1 of 2
½ December 2, 2013
Best thing about this version: Tom Hardy as a sexy (which helps us get why Nancy stays with him) Sykes who is tortured by Nancy's ghost after he kills her. And the costumes and overall production design are fantastically dank and grimy.
½ October 6, 2013
Another fantastic BBC production a strong uk cast but some rolls don't quite click. Would love to see a darker version.
½ April 13, 2013
This was a wonderful adaptation. The cast was great and of course how can you not love the happy family reunion for Oliver in the end?
June 29, 2012
Wow! Dark and scarey...so different from "Oliver", the musical. This must have been so true to the original story. There were bits in it I have not seen depicted before, and I have seen a few versions of "Oliver". This was amazing. Edge of the seat stuff! Terribly sad too to know life was like that at that time. Well worth a watch. Great acting from most. Five stars!
February 17, 2012
Took a lot of liberties with the original story, so if you're looking for something accurate, it's not this. Most of the story's antagonists were humanized and made to appear softer towards Oliver than they actually were, especially Bill and Nancy. Still very well made, and well acted. Tom Hardy is terrifying as Bill Sykes and Julian Rhind-Tutt is great as the quietly vicious Edward.
February 15, 2012
Nothing out of the ordinary but Hardy is brilliant as Bill Sykes.
August 20, 2011
well there is plenty versions of the same story, written by Dickens,
it's an ok addaptation , nothing special in it
October 16, 2010
Finally, an Oliver Twist you really care about.
August 7, 2010
Took a lot of liberties with the original story, so if you're looking for something accurate, it's not this. Most of the story's antagonists were humanized and made to appear softer towards Oliver than they actually were, especially Bill and Nancy. Still very well made, and well acted. Tom Hardy is terrifying as Bill Sykes and Julian Rhind-Tutt is great as the quietly vicious Edward.
March 15, 2010
Liked the use of the modern music behind the old English Victorian setting.
October 23, 2009
I LOVED this! I thought the casting was great.
½ April 25, 2009
What to say, one of the better adaptations but not quite as good as the 1999 Masterpiece Theater. Some scenes are well done but the overall film is of inconsistant quality. Oliver is excellent, more attitude than I am used to in the role, but it works fine. Sikes was a miss, didn't have the presence for the role, didn't inspire fear. Nancy is black in this film which was a bit odd, but she did alright. I liked the portrayal of Monks as solidly evil. The music was quite irritating at times. The movie also lacked to occasional humor of the book which is necessary to relieve some of the tension of the story.
½ April 1, 2009
I enjoyed this rendition of Oliver Twist, although the pacing was uneven at the beginning. Lots of great acting and an interesting musical score!
March 24, 2009
Would love to see soon
½ March 17, 2009
Extremely good retelling of Oliver Twist. Timothy Spall is the best Fagin I have ever seen.
March 1, 2009
Extremely well done.
½ February 23, 2009
A fantastic rendition. I loved it!
½ February 23, 2009
Wow!!! There are so many unforgettable characters in this portrayal, and I just finished watching it, and I'm so overwhelmed with various emotions that I can barely get these words down. Some of the characters are a little over the top, but that's part of what makes them unforgettable. Some left me raging mad, others were so dear they broke my heart, but I'll never forgot them.
½ January 8, 2009
This was amazing but i nowwant to watch the one with ben kingsley
January 6, 2009
Aldri lest boka,he vel heller aldri hørt so altfor mykje om Oliver Twist, men virkelig verdt å få med sej! Absolutt gledelig overraska
Page 1 of 2