Oklahoma! - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Oklahoma! Reviews

Page 1 of 44
April 12, 2019
Like most old musicals, the songs are more memorable than the actual movie itself.
December 17, 2018
The film has great musical numbers and Dancing. But it is sadly stitched together by bad protagonists and stereotypes.
½ August 26, 2017
Rodgers and Hammerstein's 1943 Broadway groundbreaker was finally made into a film in 1955 and became Hollywood's first roadshow musical, and stays remarkably faithful to the hit show (only two songs were dropped); the casting is almost perfect with Gordon MacRea and Shirley Jones (in her film debut) in fine voice, Gene Nelson as a singing/dancing Will, and the offbeat casting of Gloria Grahame as Ado Annie. The film itself won Oscars for Sound Recording and Scoring.
½ April 1, 2017
Menarik ketika melihat film yang hampir semua pemerannya sudah meninggal
January 17, 2017
Boy meets girl, boy loses girl, boy gets girl back again, territory obtains federal status. In between there are some of the best songs broadway produced. For that reason alone you should watch it. But be aware that the characters are as flat as the landscape. The cowmen -v- farmers barn dance is a stormer but this is, of course, a dance-off between two stereotypes. If a bomb dropped on the entire town halfway through your reaction might be 'That's a pity' before going off to make a cup of coffee; but you'd still miss the songs.
November 19, 2016
150605: I could have gone without the dream sequence in the middle, or at least a shortened version of it. Otherwise, this is a fun movie. Found a new favourite in Gloria Grahame. Happy to have been here.
December 26, 2015
I loved the first 2 Chipmunk movies but Chipwrecked wasn't too good so I thought the Chipmunks lost their flair; not true for this movie. Alvin and his brothers are still up to their same fun mischievous ways. The comedy, good music,and warm fuzzy feelings is classic Alvin and the Chipmunks and this movie doesn't miss it. And Dave's AAAAAAALVIIIIN screams are hilarious in this too.
October 31, 2015
wonderful classic movie about love in the wild west with catchy songs from rogers & Hammerstein
October 23, 2015
OOOOOOOOOOOOklahoma!
October 14, 2015
I am a fan of the music and play be I do think the leads for the movie were a miss, Laurie is presented as a brat and curly is too cardboard for my taste. Think the filmed play version with Hugh Jackman was much better and did retain all the music.
September 26, 2015
It's a classic that has always kind of bored me.
September 13, 2015
Ahhhhh,The Original Western Films From The 18-1900's, Originally Very Good And 2 Hours Sitting Down.
November 23, 2014
I would rather go for Vincente Minnelli's Meet Me in St. Louis if I want passion for native soil or the emphasis of American values.
½ July 30, 2014
(First and only viewing - 2/15/2011)
½ June 15, 2014
I wanted to marry her when I saw the moonlight shining on the barrel of her father's shotgun.
½ May 8, 2014
Rodgers & Hammerstein's first collaboration gets an elaborately choreographed adaptation in this 1955 film. The story, set in Oklahoma territory during the fledgling years of the 20th century, centers on a love triangle between a smart-aleck cowboy (Gordon MacRae), a sullen hired hand (Rod Steiger), and a precocious farm girl (Shirley Jones). The plot and acting has its quaint charm, but the enduring legacy of this production is owed mostly to the songs. "Oh, What A Beautiful Mornin'", "The Surrey With The Fringe On Top", and "People Will Say We're In Love" all get a sumptuous, grand, and colorful treatment in this enjoyable movie. Pleasant and charming, Oklahoma! is recommended viewing for cinephiles and an essential rite of passage for theater geeks.
½ April 22, 2014
Some interesting stuff, but it's mostly lost in this stretched out musical that doesn't nearly have enough story to go with its running length. Also doesn't help I just watched Seven Brides for Seven Brothers shortly before Oklahoma, when that movie handles similar settings and style much better.
½ March 18, 2014
Oklahoma might've been good in 1955, but it has aged badly. What used to be waving wheat is now dead remains of what it used to be.
½ March 9, 2014
A bit of a slog and surprisingly dark in places. Still, can't beat the "Oklahoma" number!
½ March 8, 2014
It sucked and was the worst of the mostly excellent R&H musicals. I'll explain why on my other review site.
Page 1 of 44