Incubo sulla cittÓ contaminata (Nightmare City) (Invasion by the Atomic Zombies) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Incubo sulla cittÓ contaminata (Nightmare City) (Invasion by the Atomic Zombies) Reviews

Page 1 of 10
December 25, 2017
An italian zombie movie of the early 80s
½ June 25, 2017
Un reportero va a buscar un doctor para una entrevista, bajan del aviˇn todos infectados, matando gente con cuchillos.... tocando viejas, al final era un sue˝o, el reportero va a la entrevista y el sue˝o se hace realidad. El poster es much mejor que esa cosa. Ni la vi completa. Y no son zombies, estos a pesar de no hablar, sienten dolor, se quejan, saben usar un cuchillo..
½ June 22, 2017
Not on par with other zombie movies, but fast moving zombies, that know how to fight with weapons are scary.
September 29, 2016
This film mainly consists of a ton of well dressed zombies (i.e.: extras with mud on their faces) constantly running around shooting, stabbing and biting people in order to drink their blood. They are really more like crazed humans than zombies, but that's the obvious inspiration. There really isn't much plot at all, aside from different people panicking in different ways and a vaguely main character and his girlfriend trying to run away from them.
September 11, 2016
Crap, crap and more crap. Lame from start to finish. I suppose it has its few cool gruesome bits. Hard-core zombie fans might want to sit through it for a couple gross-out effects. But otherwise, steer clear. I'm pretty sure the Italians that made this film just ended up using some footage from other exploitation flicks. Bring on another Cannibal flick while we're at it!
May 15, 2016
Not Lenzi's best era ,but one of the classical zombie films..
April 30, 2016
Well paced, cheesy & fun. Some more Italian schlock from the legendary Umberto Lenzi. Classic!
½ September 12, 2015
Nightmare City can be a fun movie, but with its terrible make-up and special effects, and even worse acting at times, there is nothing here to suggest that this is even a competent piece of film making, let alone a good one.
September 7, 2015
This movie opens with a plane landing and then a fuck load of running zombies armed with knives, clubs and uzis come charging out, with make up effects that seem to consist of actors with pancakes on their faces, in no time at all you are left in no doubt what to expect, and what you should expect is a shit load of gory fun. I seriously enjoyed this insanely silly, mental film.
½ August 9, 2015
I would have to say that this one is well worth your time if only because you get to see a ton of crazy zombies using tools, weapons and attacking with organization, which you don't really get within the zombie genre.

Hell, the scene of them pouring out of an abandoned airplane is almost worth the price of admission alone.

A really rewarding and unique Italian zombie film, well worth a rental at the very least.
May 7, 2015
Good if you like running zombies who shoot and stab people instead of eating them.
March 29, 2015
A really entertaining Italian zombie/maniac movie.
December 7, 2014
This makes the zombie sub genre look ridiculous. An ending that is so piss poor and so generic, that i really do wonder how Lenzi even got the funding for this. The dubbing is some of the worst i have ever seen, along with Scenarios that make no sense whatsoever. Characters that have no sense of whats going on around them + the lack of personality they have. Zombies (or infected people) looks like a half ass attempt at creating something remotely scary. Terrible.
August 30, 2014
Utter Eurotrash but entertaining all the same. Great atmosphere and a wicked pace that will never bore you. The special effects are garbage but still carry a certain z-grade charm. The last half of the movie is all over the place and you'll be laughing and getting goosebumps all the same. It may not make sense but at least all involved were having fun making this.
June 7, 2014
If you like Italian horror, then gratuitous violence and nudity, and extremely cheesy FX go with the territory. 'Nightmare City' also boasts packs of sprinting, axe-wielding zombies -- so, bonus. A terrible piece of filmmaking, but damn if it isn't kind of entertaining anyway.
April 19, 2014
Excuse me, honey. I'm in a hurry.

In Italy a plane crashes in a small town. The plane and those on it are infected with radiation from a government experiment. Passengers emerge from the plan with guns, knives, and a mouth full of teeth. They use what they have to kill everyone they come in contact with. As they leave the small town and head towards a small city, the country of Italy is at risk of being taken over. Can anyone stop the outbreak?

"We'll find a solution in the end."
"You know there's no solution."

Umberto Lenzi, director of An Italian in Greece, Desert Commandos, Last Man to Kill, Paranoia, All Out, The Manhunt, Cannibal Ferox, Violent Naples, Ghosthouse, and House of Lost Souls, delivers Nightmare City. The storyline for this picture had potential but was a bit bland for a while before it finally picks up in the end. The special effects are surprisingly well done and the acting is above average. The cast includes Hugo Stiglitz, Laura Trotter, Sonia Viviani, and Ugo Bologna.

"I'm a pacifist. I hate uniforms."

I found this movie on Netflix and had to watch this picture. The plot sounded interesting and who can skip a worthwhile zombie picture? I found this film on par with the original The Crazies. Both films have a lot of dead space that turns boring but when there is action, it is very good. The special effects were amazing for this era and on par with Zombie 2. I do recommend seeing this, but it wasn't as good as it could have been.

"I'll do exactly as I'm told. The perfect male, chauvinistic attitude."

Grade: C+
366weirdmovies
Super Reviewer
½ April 7, 2014
Radioactive waste turns people into super-strong blood drinking maniacs. Big, dumb, gory Italian zombie movie, the kind where the monsters "accidentally" rip off their female victim's blouse before ripping out her heart. It's OK if that's what you're looking for, but it's of zero interest outside its genre.
April 5, 2014
Nightmare City is another in a long list of splatter zombie movies made during the 70's and 80's by Italian filmmakers. Umberto Lenzi, who was also known from making spaghetti westerns and later on in his career horror movies, directed this wonky schlock-fest about a group of mutated men and women who are out for blood, basically beating people up and hacking them to pieces. So technically, they're not really zombies, but yet they are. Apples and oranges, I guess. At one point they refer to them as vampires in the English dub, so go figure. The movie itself isn't one of the best that the genre has to offer, but it has some fun make-up effects and some good unintentional humor. It's not one of the strongest films in the genre, that's for sure, but there are some moments to enjoy if you're a horror fan.
March 2, 2014
Radioactive contamination 'infects' thousands of people turning them into flesh ripping maniacs! Lurid, dopey, bad dialogue, gore and um leotards! Yep, everything you'd expect from a 1980 Italian horror film. Good fun watchable trash.
Page 1 of 10