Nashville - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Nashville Reviews

Page 1 of 40
½ May 9, 2019
I am very conflicted on this film because while I love parts of it I find it to be incredibly overlong and parts of it are almost impossible to stay engaged in. Robert Altman is not one of my favorite directors because although he has made films I really like, Fool for Love (1985) and 3 Women (1977), he has also made some of the most tedious films I have ever sat through, Quintet (1979) and The Company (2003), depending on what day it is Nashville falls on either side. Today I feel a real love for it because despite it's faults it can be an absolutely joy and some of the satirical observations it makes are even more relevant today. I would put this in my Top 100 of films because it manages to do very special things in a few short scenes and that and the major influence that this film has had deserves recognition.

The film has 24 main characters who interact with one another in Nashville during the lead up an independent political candidate's rally and various people related to the music industry undergoing personal and professional trials.

The part of the film that I loved most was the character of Opal, Geraldine Chaplin, a nutty woman impersonating a BBC reporter who gloms on to whatever politics are convenient and is obsessed with fame. Her hidden prejudices and ironic shallowness can be seen when she enters the trailer of African-American musical artist Tommy Brown, Timothy Brown, who she assumes is white. She condescends his friends, also African-American, by referring to them as "You lovely people" and says that Brown must be very progressive to hang out with them. Another standout scene occurs when she is seen walking around an abandoned yard of dilapidated school buses and continuously adjusts her angle on the metaphor she is ascribing them to as it becomes clear she is mental and has none of her own political convictions. Chaplin gave one of the funniest performances I have ever seen and the fact that she didn't win and wasn't even nominated for the Academy Award for Best Supporting Actress was shocking to me.

The storyline that I appreciated second most was that of Linnea Reese, Lily Tomlin, and Tom Frank, Keith Carradine, a middle aged housewife and a young country singer who have a brief affair. Tomlin appears as a compassionate and sweet woman who while she cares for her children struggles with her philandering husband. Her pairing with Tom, who sleeps with nearly every woman in the film including his bandmate Mary, Cristina Raines, seems unlikely but we believe it during the famous performance of "I'm Easy." The camera closes up on Linnea's face as we see flashes of fear and sexual excitement cross her face as she receives attention from a male for the first time in a long time. Their post coital conversation is also sweet as she teaches him sign language but when she gets up to leave we see him angrily retaliate by calling another woman. The fact that he ends the conversation immediately after she leaves hints at the fact that he felt more of a connection to her than he does with his usual groupies but the abilities of Carradine and Tomlin to sell their connection in just a few scenes is impressive.

The film looks beautiful as it is very much a documentation of the fashion of 1975. Shelley Duvall's L.A. Joan in particular wears the sort of clothing you associate with a ~sexy' seventies woman and her afro and famously thin frame only add to the look. A lot of the young men sport long, shaggy hair and beards while the older men wear maroon colored suits and bell bottoms. The sight of an iconic city like Nashville at a time of such upheaval has a certain novelty to it and Altman captures many of the city's most famous landmarks.

This isn't a perfect film but I would like to talk about only the positive aspects of the film because it is worth sitting through the musical performances for the really interesting, detailed, funny parts of the film which are something that can only really be found in a Robert Altman movie.
January 26, 2019
The best, GREATEST movie ever made! With the best movie song ever sung: I'm Easy!
October 1, 2018
An absolutely horrible film. Not funny. Not clever. Just a bunch of vignettes that seemingly are supposed to lead to the surprising finish. You're actually hoping it will end, any way you can get it. I am amazed at the ratings I see here, frankly.
½ February 17, 2018
1001 movies to see before you die.
September 2, 2017
What a spectacle and epic movie. Following the lives of all these different characters was so interesting and gravitating to look at. I couldn't help but pay attention the whole time to see what would happen next.

Again Robert Altman doesn't disappoint. And with an awesome soundtrack and setting in Nashville, the film really does come alive and you feel like your a part of it all.

Deserves a re-watch.
July 3, 2017
In "Nashville" Robert Altman has made THE great American dramatic musical. Years later you'll remember large sections of it easily, and happily.
July 2, 2017
Nashville is the undisputed best of films about the search for the American Dream, with great laughs and poignance, and craftsmanship that is unmatched even with Altman's other work.
July 2, 2017
Brilliant, meandering story about a time and place and people with real humanity. Great songs and something you could watch over and over again and always find something new.
½ September 25, 2016
At over 2 and a half hours, "Nashville" isn't too long, it"s not long enough. I never wanted this grand blend of character motivation, humor, and country music to end.
½ August 11, 2016
While many movies focus on characters and story, the movie Nashville has a somewhat different take on a film. The film focuses on Nashville and how different aspects of the city from politics, gospel and country music all can en-compose people with vastly different stories and backgrounds. The movie is rough to follow with all the jumping between characters and scenes and is quite boring at parts, but improves over time. Being a country fan will help immensely as the film covers complete song performances by several of the characters and I found the song I'm Easy to be quite good. Despite some lull moments, the film does have some captivating scenes, such as when a singer is horrible and chastised into stripping for the crowd and the assassination finale that manages to bring all the characters together. I cannot help but wonder if the film did a better job of having letting you get to know the characters and perhaps had less of them, it would have become a more powerful film. I may not have enjoyed Nashville, but I really respect more of what it tried to accomplish as a film, and can agree that the concepts of the film are head of its time. It is certainly a influential film for structure does a good job capturing the essence of Americana.
July 19, 2016
Classic Altman. Worth it for the music more than the loose, hardly-existent plot.
½ May 23, 2016
Accurately captures the antipathy, the uncertainty and most importantly the humanity of a certain place in time.
March 29, 2016
Altman creates such a thralling environment, it's easy to look past the fact that this movie may be a little jumbled. The ending is extremely powerful and justifies the runtime.
March 22, 2016
A masterpiece of New Hollywood. A testament to a time, a country, and the people that inhabit them. An utterly captivating work of art only enhanced by the grounded presentation of its substance.
½ February 11, 2016
Ah, bila sam zaboravila kako je dobar sountrack!
January 22, 2016
Robert Altman has always had a taste for making offbeat character pieces, combining the comedic and the dramatic. Here, he sets a gold-plated standard, with a satirical look at the country and western music scene in it's titular capital. This sprawling epic is set over a few days in Nashville, Tennessee. It follows groups of characters performing throughout the city in the run-up to America's Bicentennial birthday, which will climax with a political campaign by the mysterious Hal Phillip Walker. Such stories include reigning queen of Nashville Barbara Jean (Ronee Blakley), curious BBC journalist Opal (Geraldine Chaplin), superstar singer at the Grand Ole Opry Haven Hamilton (Henry Gibson), married couple Del Reese (Ned Beatty) and Linnea Reese (Lily Tomlin), the latter is having a clandestine relationship with folk-rock singer Tom Frank (Keith Carradine). It's a brilliantly realised film, combining Altman's trademarks of overlapping dialogue, improvisation from the actors, (they wrote all their own songs!!) and documentary style shooting. (Altman shot so much footage, that it nearly became TWO films!! :O) It's a brilliant cast, and it is a very powerful, with some dark humour throughout, and it's a better film than Short Cuts, and once you see this film, you will become a fan of country and western, bluegrass and the Grand Ole Opry. Plus, you'll want to go and visit Nashville too!! :D One of Altman's very best films, and look out for cameo's from Elliot Gould and Julie Christie as themselves... :D

Robert Altman has always had a taste for making offbeat character pieces, combining the comedic and the dramatic. Here, he sets a gold-plated standard, with a satirical look at the country and western music scene in it's titular capital. This sprawling epic is set over a few days in Nashville, Tennessee. It follows groups of characters performing throughout the city in the run-up to America's Bicentennial birthday, which will climax with a political campaign by the mysterious Hal Phillip Walker. Such stories include reigning queen of Nashville Barbara Jean (Ronee Blakley), curious BBC journalist Opal (Geraldine Chaplin), superstar singer at the Grand Ole Opry Haven Hamilton (Henry Gibson), married couple Del Reese (Ned Beatty) and Linnea Reese (Lily Tomlin), the latter is having a clandestine relationship with folk-rock singer Tom Frank (Keith Carradine). It's a brilliantly realised film, combining Altman's trademarks of overlapping dialogue, improvisation from the actors, (they wrote all their own songs!!) and documentary style shooting. (Altman shot so much footage, that it nearly became two films) It's a brilliant cast, and it is a very powerful, with some dark humour throughout, and it's a better film than Short Cuts, and once you see this film, you will become a fan of country and western, bluegrass and the Grand Ole Opry. Plus, you'll want to go and visit Nashville too!! One of Altman's very best films, and look out for cameo's from Elliot Gould and Julie Christie as themselves... 5/5
½ January 7, 2016
another lost review 4 one of Robert Altman's best efforts.
November 28, 2015
What a mess. One star for some good songs on the soundtrack.
½ October 24, 2015
A film about USA, its myths, its habits. It could seem a film without a structure but there are some issues in it like politics, women, success, losers.
Greta final scene with a song with a simple but unforgetable phrase "it don't worry me".
September 2, 2015
Nashville has a boring and even non-existent story, just awful character development and it is over reliant on music which is solid, but I am not a country music fan and the only two songs I enjoyed here are I'm Easy and 200 Years, the rest are repetitive and forgettable. It is well acted, somewhat funny and solidly made, but it is overblown, has no purpose, story or characters and is at many times tedious. It is an overrated movie from an overrated year that is one of the worst years ever in film history.
Page 1 of 40