Narcopolis - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Narcopolis Reviews

Page 1 of 1
½ April 15, 2017
I wanted to like it but it never came together. Sometimes simpler is better.
August 5, 2016
Certainly the mood and style of this film is worthy of a mention, but the futuristic dystopian time-travel storyline is woeful.
Super Reviewer
June 3, 2016
There's like eight different fantastic premises at work her, not a one of which is executed effectively. Though there was some aspects to enjoy, Narcopolis unfortunately commits the cardinal sin of the entertainment industry: It's boring. Not from start to end, but frequently, particularly in the first two acts.
May 4, 2016
It was a bit confusing at times, but it was better than having to work.
½ April 24, 2016
Justin Trefgarne has his first cinematic debut with the crowdfunded Narcopolis; a sci-fi drama about a future where drugs have been not only legalized, but are being pushed by corporate backers as being a safe alternative to street narcotics.

There were several things I really liked about this film, despite being what most people would consider a low budget type of film. First, as a science fiction, it brings a very unique idea to the audience. Although the majority of the film is in the detective style of neo-noir films, the concept is a solid one. Imagine a future, where the majority of citizens are not only using, but encouraged to do so though advertising and product guarantees. Narcotics are available in every society I can think of, but very few of them have been privatized outside of the prescription drug market. There is some decent acting, and I was particularly impressed by Eliot Cowan's portrayal as the protagonist Frank Grieves; who portrayed a massive and daunting man, battling his own demons, while progressing through a series of bizarre events.

The things that most people will notice are the poorly written plot twists, and dialogue. Some of the twists that are meant to shock the audience fall quite flat during this film, or are revealed at the wrong times. Perhaps due to poor direction or writing execution, it's hard to say, but there are several scenes that make little to no sense in the overall plot. A few of the actors are new, and you can tell in the way they exchange dialogue. Yet if you can look past these scene errors and look at the overall film, I think you'll be quite pleased at the end result. I encourage more films from Justin Trefgarn and hope he keeps to the same genre. I especially enjoyed the opening of the film, which set quite a pace that I wished that the rest of the movie kept up to.

Needless to say, it's a very technically sound Sci-Fiction / Drama, but most viewers will hold it to perhaps too high a standard. An excellent first entry along the lines of 'Equilibrium' (2002).

2.5/5
March 14, 2016
The actors were brilliant and delivered brilliant performances in what I'm sorry to say, was a rather boring moment in movie history. Quite frankly, the story had no flow, was very predictable, but the lighting was good; sufficiently broody to qualify as a Blade Runner stepchild. .
½ March 5, 2016
In the reign of a Chris Nolan this movie is pretty darn cool!!! No name actors and director. A real mind bender!!!
½ October 19, 2015
I quite enjoyed this film. Imagine Minority Report, Luther, Blade runner-esque film and you've pretty much nailed Naropolis' genre.

First and foremost, this is a film made on a budget. The special effects aren't exactly ground breaking, but they're by no means terrible. The storyline on the otherhand is (IMO) excellent.

You quite often see the main characters and their affiliates dancing around the point, narrowly missing their chance to essentially conclude a film (they can be dragged out over the space of 2 hours when the problem could've been solved in half the time). This is not the case in Narcopolis. This film is a drug orientated jigsaw that keeps you guessing right until Trefgarne wants you to see the fourth and final corner piece of the plot.

As a director he manages to muscle in some really hot social topics around us today including big business, drug classification and corruption. As an actor, he manages to claw through the grit of a saturated urban scene pestered by his own demons and the responsibility of his family.

If you want lots of screen blur, 4k resolution video and a completely unbelievable story go ahead and watch/re-watch Gravity. If you would rather a realistic, entirely human and atmospheric film suitable for watching on a MON-THURS evening I would highly recommend Narcopolis.
October 7, 2015
Pleasantly surprised.
October 4, 2015
It's a mediocre entry in the genre of the sci-fi movie but it does bring some interesting ideas to the table. It's worth watching one time.
October 3, 2015
Buckle up, Elliot Cowen drives you down the back alleys and dark shadows of the Sci-Fi drama Narcopolis. His solid performance carries the story as Officer Frank Grieves uncovers how deep his seemingly routine investigation goes. As he gets deeper, he discovers that at every turn, his search for the truth leads down a path where power and corruption are as addictive as the drug he investigates. As he steps through a maze of money, power, and corruption he finds that one of his greatest struggles is the one with his own life. It should be noted that the film is deep in thought and drama about what we really want our culture to become. It was fast paced and keeps your attention, but the film is a bit light on action.
October 3, 2015
This Futuristic film grabs you from the beginning. You get pulled into Frank Grieves world, where drugs are legal and most people are high 90% of the time. He struggles between the man that is a (Dreck) and being a good father. When a new super drug shows up to tests his belief in what is real. I loved the action packed fast-paced film. That leaves you on the edge of your seat.
Page 1 of 1