My Neighbor Totoro - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

My Neighbor Totoro Reviews

Page 1 of 3
August 30, 2004
Too much of the film...is taken up with stiff, mechanical chitchat.
September 1, 2008
Obviously aimed at an international audience, the film evinces a disorienting combination of cultures that produces a nowhere land more confused than fascinating.
August 15, 2005
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
January 14, 2020
On paper it may sound saccharine and lethally sentimental, but My Neighbour Totoro is nothing but wonderful and honest.
March 16, 2020
An emotionally true animated film full of whimsy and delight
Full Review | Original Score: 10/10
December 1, 2019
Miyazaki creates a universe where childhood and its perspective of the world is the rule, with the Japanese master highlighting, once more, his knowledge of children's psyche
August 20, 2018
The theme of innocent love is so prevalent and it feels good to watch unconditional displays of it, even within an animated fictional film.
August 24, 2017
It is as much a portrait of a time and place as it is the story of two sisters. Mei and Satsuki, like real kids, are sometimes infuriating, stubborn, and then in the next moment lovable.
August 28, 2019
A magic that, from the beginning of the action to the end, with Totoro or without him, delivers sublime 86 minutes of footage whose charm is impossible to resist. [Full Review in Spanish]
February 20, 2014
A film that crosses generations and cultural barriers: watching it, it's hard not to feel like a kid again.
Full Review | Original Score: A+
October 19, 2017
As simply as we can put it, My Neighbor Totoro is a masterpiece of children's animation. There's no one we wouldn't recommend it to.
Top Critic
May 23, 2013
The world the characters inhabit is less expressionist than impressionist, blessed with a delicate evocation of natural light and color that subtly incorporates Miyazaki's environmentalism.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
March 4, 2010
Miyazaki's cinematic magic is so enchanting that even a slew of unremarkable extra features won't take the smile off your face.
January 6, 2002
Here is a children's film made for the world we should live in, rather than the one we occupy.
June 29, 2018
Even the most amazing of the great Pixar films could be tagged with the label of "antiseptic." No one would use that for Totoro, which, especially if seen under optimum conditions, astounds with its vibrancy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
August 2, 2007
what Miyazaki has animated is an idyll, that most melancholic and nostalgic of genres, where landscapes vanish, innocence is lost and death is as much a part of nature as life.
March 6, 2010
Visually arresting and consistently compelling, this movie is magical.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
March 17, 2010
A soft, approachable film, about simple, peaceful emotions and characters. That may sound unambitious, but it is the most ambitious thing of all.
Full Review | Original Score: 10/10
May 6, 2013
With the finest rhythm of any Ghibli film, this masterwork gently see-saws the faint aches of youth with utter trust in the wonder of a nature-inspired imagination. In lulling, Ozu-like moments, the landscape twinkles in its beauty, like the film itself.
May 24, 2013
A beautifully observed film that has become a guaranteed charmer for all ages.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 3