My Big Fat Greek Wedding 2 - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

My Big Fat Greek Wedding 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 40
April 11, 2019
This movie is one, I have perfect family to have. All families have their quirks and we love them for it. This one is funny from the begining credits right until the last credits role. Who can't love a story about falling in love, throwing you loved one to the wolves, I mean your family, and then the wedding that is bound to come together after all!!!
½ February 24, 2019
My Big Fat Greek Wedding 2 was okay, but lacked the charm of the original. It focused too hard on jokes from the first movie, to the point of running them into the ground. The soundtrack was intrusive, and the pacing had serious, serious problems. It felt kind of pasted together. So basically, all very typical sequel problems. Spoilers under the cut.

Nia Vardalos acted her heart out with an earnesty that was almost heartbreaking at times, particularly since John Corbett seemed to be phoning the whole performance in. Ironically, this added to the realism of their marital subplot, as Toula seemed like a still- lovestruck wife who couldn't understand why her husband was bored and dissatisfied, and Ian seemed... bored and dissatisfied. Even when he was the one asking Toula to put more effort into their marriage, his delivery was, well, script-like.

Paris's teen pathos was just a little overdone, but then again, so was almost everything, so I'm not gonna blame that on Elena Kampouris. The shining star of the movie, in my opinion, was Bess Meisler as Yiayia. I still thought her sight gags were overdone, but they still carried most of the charm of the entire movie, AND she got a triumphant ending, which was nice to see.

Seriously though, the way Corbett was playing Ian, I was 100% sure he was already cheating on Toula through the entire movie.
December 29, 2018
My Big Fat Greek Wedding 2 is a funny film. It is about Portokalos family secret that brings the beloved characters back together for an even bigger and Greeker wedding. Nia Vardalos and John Corbett give amazing performances. The script is well written. Kirk Jones did a great job directing this movie. I enjoyed watching this motion picture because of the humor and romance.
½ November 5, 2018
Not as good as the first, also seen with boxxy software in my audio language, but still some highly laughable moments.
November 1, 2018
Not as good as the first one, also seen with boxxy software in my audio language, but still some highly laughable moments.
October 18, 2018
It was nice experience for me, a bit dumb, but I've enjoyed the STORY LINE and the COMEDY jokes in it. Nice music too. Especially the last song from the wedding party.
April 29, 2018
this is one of the better sequel movies, it brought back a lot from the last movie but it didnt go overboard. its a great movie yall just hate nice things
March 25, 2018
I lost interest and the will to live after 10 minutes.
½ January 12, 2018
Cute reunion but it doesnt have the same feeling as the first one. Aunt Voula definitely stole the show.
October 21, 2017
Very funny even funnier than the first one.
September 24, 2017
This movie is OK. It's watchable, but the sad thing is that there was no need for it. If you saw the first film, you've pretty much seen all Nia Vardalos's bag of tricks, so, unfortunately, you'll come away feeling that you have wasted your time. For fans of the first film, among whom, I definitely count myself, to wait fourteen years for a follow-up to be presented with very little in the way of anything new is disappointing to say the least. My Big Fat Greek Wedding 2 is not, by any means, a bad film, it's just a little bit pointless.
½ September 13, 2017
It was so bad that, even though I saw it for free on cable a year ago, I still had to make a special note to state on rotten tomatoes just how awful this was. And the first one was so good for this to be the follow-up. Shameful!
July 24, 2017
This was not as good as the first one was, but it was still nice to revisit these characters. Sadly, the jokes in this do not hit as much as I would have liked, but everyone seems to give genuine performances with the material. It is okay, but lacks the charm and wit of the first.
July 24, 2017
I really enjoyed it.....
½ July 11, 2017
i do like the first better but still hilarious
July 5, 2017
It is pleasant to see beloved characters from the first movie and there were moments that made me smile, but it isn't nearly as good as the first.
½ June 30, 2017
Fun but just not as fun as the original.
June 18, 2017
loved it just loved it
June 9, 2017
My thoughts on this movie are similar to what I thought about "Dumb and Dumber To" or "The Odd Couple II" where its great to see the same actors playing their classic characters again after many years, but while they do have a few shining moments, they are still not enough to save the movie from a poor script or lame gags upon other problems. It has sweet moments, but I was expecting a lot more from this movie based on the trailer that I enjoyed.
June 4, 2017
I like the fact that Nia tried to tell a more mature story than the sequel, a story that is really fitting to the characters. The only problem is that the story she tried to say does not match with the character and the tone of the movie. This is a comedy, full of Greek stereotypes(mostly true), and for that it can't explore the more mature themes of the storyline in he best way. It was fun, entertaining, but nothing like the original.
Page 1 of 40