My Big Fat Greek Wedding 2 - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

My Big Fat Greek Wedding 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 9
April 30, 2020
It was a mild waste of time.
April 30, 2020
This movie was not even a movie.
November 18, 2019
Overall, My Big Greek Wedding 2 is all hearts and sentiment but the rehashed humour and disappointing character development forms an ultimately lacklustre sequel.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
October 16, 2019
It's cute but not a great film.
April 12, 2019
It kind of broke my heart.
Full Review | Original Score: F
January 15, 2019
It feels like a desperate cash grab, with a terrible premise and some really jaw-droppingly bad attempts at comedic sequences.
Full Review | Original Score: F
June 13, 2018
I feel pretty certain that, objectively, My Big Fat Greek Wedding 2 was a very bad movie.
November 4, 2017
It's almost ironic that Vardalos' first film dealt with establishing her identity within her family unit, as this film can't find its identity - or provide a hilarious plot.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
September 12, 2017
My Big Fat Greek Wedding 2 could have been so much more than a reunion. It could have offered us the chance to celebrate the progression of family and culture in the face of a brave new world.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
February 24, 2017
Time has passed for the Portokalos family, but everyone is exactly the same as the first time we saw them. Such a regressive aspect is just one of many problems that dwell within My Big Fat Greek Wedding 2.
August 31, 2018
There are a couple of genuine chuckles here and there, but what the film ultimately lacks are the endearing qualities and surprisingly funny and heartwarming moments that made the first one such a hit.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
July 19, 2016
Vardalos rehashes the same script from fourteen years ago with most of the action revolving around faded relationships and culture clashes.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
August 2, 2016
14 years after the insanely inescapable success of My Big Fat Greek Wedding comes its sequel ... This time around, the charm is gone.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
June 20, 2016
Like roadside diner baklava, if it's a little dry in places, there's enough honey to make it sweet.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 1, 2016
Die-hard fans won't be able to resist Vardalos and Corbett's lovely on screen chemistry and just enough heartfelt moments to reconnect with the first film's love story. But the more casual fan won't mind not getting an invite.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
March 29, 2016
It would've been better if Nia Darvalos just left these characters alone. [Full review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 6.5/10
August 27, 2018
MBFGW2 is like going to a Greek restaurant and ordering a sleeve of unsalted saltines.
March 26, 2016
To be frank, there are things My Big Fat Greek Wedding 2 does better than the original, and things that it does worse than the original.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
March 25, 2016
These familiar pleasures don't outweigh the fact Vardalos doesn't find much new to say about the Portokalos clan or the immigrant family experience in general.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
March 25, 2016
My Big Fat Greek Wedding 2 sits there like a potted plant in the center of a bundt cake: mildly amusing but mostly useless.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Page 1 of 9