My Big Fat Greek Wedding 2 - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

My Big Fat Greek Wedding 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 9
November 18, 2019
Overall, My Big Greek Wedding 2 is all hearts and sentiment but the rehashed humour and disappointing character development forms an ultimately lacklustre sequel.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
October 16, 2019
It's cute but not a great film.
April 12, 2019
It kind of broke my heart.
Full Review | Original Score: F
February 13, 2019
My Big Fat Greek Wedding 2 is a pure family comedy. [Full Review in Spanish]
January 15, 2019
It feels like a desperate cash grab, with a terrible premise and some really jaw-droppingly bad attempts at comedic sequences.
Full Review | Original Score: F
November 8, 2018
Again, feel free to grab another baklava, but the aftertaste of this wedding calls for an immediate annulment from this bouncy, bickering bunch.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 31, 2018
There are a couple of genuine chuckles here and there, but what the film ultimately lacks are the endearing qualities and surprisingly funny and heartwarming moments that made the first one such a hit.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
August 29, 2018
As a comedy, the film is great. None of the jokes will have you rolling in the aisles, but they are funny and easy to digest.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
August 27, 2018
MBFGW2 is like going to a Greek restaurant and ordering a sleeve of unsalted saltines.
June 13, 2018
I feel pretty certain that, objectively, My Big Fat Greek Wedding 2 was a very bad movie.
April 30, 2018
The film has all the charisma of a close relative whose quirks would otherwise been gross and grating had you not lived with him for the past few years.
December 3, 2017
Virtually every character is back. And the familiar cast appears to be having a wonderful time. The critics who are finding fault with My Big Fat Greek Wedding 2 aren't exactly wrong. But, I think they're missing the point.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
November 7, 2017
As an ensemble comedy, it somewhat works. But the jokes could have been more in number. Pass the spanakopita, please.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
November 4, 2017
It's almost ironic that Vardalos' first film dealt with establishing her identity within her family unit, as this film can't find its identity - or provide a hilarious plot.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
October 24, 2017
Fans of the original -- myself included -- are going to be so disappointed because My Big Fat Greek Wedding 2 is just awful.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
September 12, 2017
My Big Fat Greek Wedding 2 could have been so much more than a reunion. It could have offered us the chance to celebrate the progression of family and culture in the face of a brave new world.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
February 24, 2017
Time has passed for the Portokalos family, but everyone is exactly the same as the first time we saw them. Such a regressive aspect is just one of many problems that dwell within My Big Fat Greek Wedding 2.
December 31, 2016
The second film is likewise sustained by a generosity of spirit you don't often get in self-penned star vehicles.
December 28, 2016
There is so much food, music, dancing and crying that you want to come out, at the end, and find a quiet place to watch paint dry. Unless, of course, you loved MBFGW1 and have spent 14 years waiting for MBFGW2.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
December 28, 2016
With the original cast back, and Vardalos scripting again, it doesn't stray far from the 'overbearing family' formula that dominated the original.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Page 1 of 9