Mr. Church - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Mr. Church Reviews

Page 1 of 20
March 24, 2019
Loved this movie!! A fabulous performance by Eddie Murphy!!
March 24, 2019
Interesting dichotomy where the audience (the opinion that matters) loved and the critics hated the film. If you have any soul it is hard not to like this charming movie. Frankly this seems more like a strong black role than a subservient one. A man honouring a promise to a friend and becoming the glue that holds a family together who also happens to be black. Definitely a low key performance but that seems to be what the role demands, Critics definitely missed the mark and the point on this movie.
January 30, 2019
Loved! Great movie - have a tissue box near!
January 29, 2019
I loved this movie. The critics review is so often entirely different than what the public feels. The film certainly had some shortcomings - most do. But what is important here is that one finishes the film feeling good and feeling a reinforced sense of the goodness in people. The story line is not complicated, although Mr. Church is a complicated character with integrity. I strongly recommend it if you would enjoy a film that is heart-warming.
January 28, 2019
1/2 1/2' 1/2? 1/2 1/2 1/2? 1/2 1/2
January 27, 2019
Ive seen many movies. Sometimes its just nice to see something simple but profound.
One human touching the lives of others...
January 12, 2019
I loved this movie. Made me cry several times, but overall a feel good movie. Don't listen to the liberal reviews this movie wasn't racist at all, it was a beautiful story.
January 12, 2019
Beautiful acting, touching film.
January 11, 2019
Never heard of it. Stumbled upon it accidentally and really enjoyed it. better than all of the "comic book superhero" crap and the "that's the ending?" Non-ending movies that Hollywood thinks are so cutting edge.
½ January 11, 2019
Was expecting total and complete garbage. Was pleasantly surprised that it was watchable.
January 9, 2019
Such a beautiful story
½ January 7, 2019
Great movie, Eddie Murphy is an amazing actor.
January 7, 2019
I think this is Eddie Murphy's best role.
January 7, 2019
The character Eddie Murphy portrayed might have been out or his norm, but his performance was stellar.
½ January 4, 2019
I LOVE THIS MOVIE!!!!
Lots of love, compassion and best of all not a lot of cussing, no nudity or drug use. It's a wonderful change from all the nasty violence ridden movies. Eddie Murphy is an excellent actor; does well with any role he plays. Thank you for this great movie!!!! Also curios why the movie info says the names are Marie Brody and Charlotte Brody, but in the movie they go by Brooks?
January 3, 2019
A great movie of friendship, forgiveness, loyalty & compassion!
½ January 1, 2019
Don't listen to the critics. This movie is well made and had great performances. It's nothing new or groundbreaking, but it is good for the soul and a great family film about love and friendship. It shows how one person can impact someone's life. Worth a watch!
January 1, 2019
This is a family film that poses the question, "What is family?" It also asks, when does work become a labor of love? It also changed my thinking about grief. Well written script with understated characters, about how one man who thought he had failed to walk in his minister father's footsteps impacts many with his musical and culinary gifts. Mr. Church is an allegory about how one man impacting one family can impact a community; perhaps what the church should be. There is serious exploration of grief and recovery and the impact on children when a parent has cancer. The film also deftly, realistically, demonstrates how bridges and friendships were built across socioeconomic lines drawn in the 1970s. As with any period film, one has to view the characters as having just escaped a 1950s mentality (as even the sets conjur the 50s and 30s influences) rather than see the characters through the lens of our current time. The lessons learned here will stay with you...
December 31, 2018
I watched this movie last, man this one struck a cord. Well done, it will make you cry.
½ December 29, 2018
Such a lovely, heartbreaking and beautiful story!
Page 1 of 20