Mortdecai - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Mortdecai Reviews

Page 1 of 41
½ March 30, 2019
Worst movie ever. I only watched like 20 mins and had to shut it off. I just couldn't stand it anymore. I believe that movie really put johhny Depp in a hole. Not even the most dedicated fans of johhny like me wants to see this movie all the way through. So sad for such an amazing talented man.
February 12, 2019
Begynner å bli litt lei av Depp nå. Han bør finne på noe nytt. Synes jeg.
February 9, 2019
A somewhat strange story, albeit an entertaining one. Although I found this film quite enjoyable, this crime-mystery, action spoof is admittedly, an acquired taste.
In the spirit of the 70's book that inspired it, the humour can be quite dated, yet not to the extent that the film becomes tedious or, dare I say 'unfunny', at any point. It doesn't take itself too seriously, and with a character named Jock Strapp, you can't either. Also, as spoofed as it might be, all the acting talents remain on top form!
Several sub-plots ultimately tie in to a rather satisfying end, and I must say, as much as its 'anti-hero' is dissolute, he's also rather charming!
Personally, I found it to be incredibly good fun, but by no means is it intended for everybody. As for the accents, the stars do us English proud, and Johnny Depp's Charlie Mortdecai accent is pure gold! I am incredibly envious of their abilities to pull off something so different from their native twangs.
January 13, 2019
The movie is great, is funny and entretaining you all are just mean
January 12, 2019
A QUIRKY FUN MOVIE. ONE OF MY FAVORITES.
December 23, 2018
Rich comedy following a stolen painting of high value. Silly comedy in high society. Amusing would be the word.
½ November 27, 2018
Can't understand the low ratings. Sure, it shifted from funny to a more straightforward crime show at the end, but my wife and I both found it very entertaining.
½ November 15, 2018
I can understand why people dislike this show but I think many have missed the point of the film. It is satire of a particular film genre. I enjoyed this. It showed off Depp(TM)s versatility as an actor. I(TM)d imagine a show like this would offend a particular class of English as well, as a resident from a ~ far flung(TM) colony the many gags were not only seeringly accurate but made for itchy humour. Reminds one to not take one so seriously.... quite. I watch this when I need a snigger so not recommended to all. Love Depp and Bethany in this. I say, well done chaps.
November 13, 2018
I'm not sure why this movie had such a poor rating... It was a witty & funny homage to the 60s era (film technique and all), and worthy of checking out! Chin up for the cast & crew, you folks made a gem that I love watching occasionally that guarantees a laugh!
½ July 8, 2018
STUPID movie. Pink Panther was also a stupid movie. I love stupid movies cause they give you a great stupid laugh. Paltrow is spot on. Ewan McGregor has a real flair for comedy in this one. Depp isn't funny. The silly mustache and goofy accent do not make you Peter Sellers.
Paul Bettany is fantastic and the brightest part of this film for me.
May 29, 2018
It was a good appetizer movie. I recommend it to have casual fun
May 28, 2018
It's OK If you have time to waste, but if you are looking for a serious movie this isn't it.
April 24, 2018
The jokes only occasionally land, the plot is thin, too many Americans portraying Brits... too much went wrong here.
Super Reviewer
½ March 25, 2018
A disgrace to everybody involved in the film, all the actors should be ashamed for taking on the paycheck instead of the script.

I've been going through backlog of movies and reviewing them all over again with dates but a film like this I cannot waste my time. 26-03-2018.
January 29, 2018
Di certo non una commedia brillante da Oscar, per ha un buon ritmo ed un ottimo cast.
Deep, da buon caratteristica, risulta sempre incisivo.
A mio parere il film non merita tutti questi voti bassi assegnati.
Secondo me il "flop" sta nella regia, che migliore negli Action Movie.
Io lo rivedr volentieri
½ January 18, 2018
The biggest problem with the movie besides being unfunny is the character of Mortdecai (who is a major source of the unfunniness). Didn't much like Jock either. Odd role for Paul Bettany and he played it weird.
December 9, 2017
Brits are the best at comedy on seriousness !! Hilarious and worth another play because I keep laughing and miss some parts. Please ignore the negative rating here and do a sequel !!
½ October 22, 2017
It was hilarious!!! =)
August 31, 2017
Very funny and a sleeper hit. Destined to become a cult classic. Ignore the critics' whining. Great fun!
½ August 21, 2017
No hace gracia por ningn lado.
Page 1 of 41