Mortal Kombat - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Mortal Kombat Reviews

Page 1 of 384
May 3, 2019
Oh lord, don't do this to yourself, please. Just wait for the Minecraft movie to come out.
April 28, 2019
To be fair, it offers some guilty pleasure fighting sequences an a solid soundtrack to match its atmosphere. But we have a movie with a terribly laughable plot, uninspiring effects, poor characterization, and some of the worst acting and dialogue imaginable. Its based on a video game, what do you expect. At least its not the worst we've ever seen.
½ April 11, 2019
Definitely the best video game movie, and while it may not be saying much considering that most video game movies are bad, I still love this film.

Sure, the acting and writing aren't Oscar material, and the special FX vary greatly in quality, but the casting is spot-on, the fight scenes are well done, the production design and photography are stylish, the soundtrack is awesome, and it actually follows the game in terms of plot and tone (minus the lack of gore).

A childhood favorite of mine too.
February 17, 2019
Honestly it's pretty bad, even by video game or martial arts movie standards. But it is fun to watch at times.
January 30, 2019
Best movie based video game.
January 29, 2019
Mortal kombat carece de respeto a si misma, su mal manejo en todos los aspectos hacen que esta cinta no logra ni un cuarto de la efectividad que deberia lograr con su simple nombre,es una adaptacion desastrosa para una idea inteligente.
½ January 16, 2019
1.9.19 owned @home w/Sh & J
½ December 30, 2018
Sure, the plot doesn't make a lick of sense, the slapstick choreography is a far cry from the fighter's famed ultra-violence, and the dialogue is mostly lazy quips and clips from the actual game, but if the source material is at bottom a button smasher, then this muddle is about as dumb and just as fun.
December 17, 2018
Mortal Kombat is a classic of sorts. It was the best video game movie for the longest time and I'm sure many people my age remember this movie somewhat fondly. Actually going back and watching it... it's dumb. The plot is paper thin and the fights look silly by today's standards. Even if you were a fan of the game they butcher whatever you may have liked about the game. Sadly this wouldn't be Anderson's last movie....
½ December 5, 2018
Epic soundtrack. Terrible film.
½ November 26, 2018
The Costumes are bad
The Special Effects are bad
Some of the acting is decent
Dialogue is trash
What the heck? Why does Goro and Reptile look so bad?
Plot is dumb
The Set is incredible in parts
The Music at the beginning is the best part
November 8, 2018
1st movie is not bad than M.K.A. movie.
September 17, 2018
Even though it's not perfect, this is one of my favorite all time films. Not a great film, but a very entertaining one. The dialog is cheesy but the atmosphere is rich and the action is fun.
½ August 21, 2018
This movie is not too bad. First of all, acting and casting is top class, character development is a bit off and the plot is a bit slow but definitely a very interesting movie with a fair conclusion.
½ June 24, 2018
Terrifically bad. I can't image a scenario where anyone would want to watch this except to make fun of it.
June 23, 2018
You know you love this movie -- MORTAL KOMBAT!
June 11, 2018
When I think about it, I believe that I'm being too generous with video game movies. Maybe it's because to hate them would be simply jumping on a bandwagon. I'll find out on the day I look at an Uwe Boll film. To be fair, Mortal Kombat does its best despite the constraints of the PG-13 rating for a video game series known for its blood and gore. The fight choreography is fun, there are some funny moments, Goro is an impressive animatronic and there's that kick-ass soundtrack. DO-DO-DO-DO-DO-DO-DO-DO-DO DODODODODO MORTAL KOMBAAATT!!! The PG-13 rating is the problem though. There's also the bad special effects including that CGI Reptile which looks terrible. I wonder if even back then it stood out for how terrible it looks. The performances are...not the best thing though Raiden is the best character in this movie. At least Paul W.S. Anderson did his best with the PG-13 rating for something that clearly works better in R-rated form though he doesn't circle his way around the rating as well as in Alien vs. Predator.
½ June 10, 2018
Mortal Kombat is how you say it so bad that it's good. moronically hilarious dialogue, weak performances, bland cinematography and over the top fight sense. Over all I would give this movie a 1.5/5 for at least trying to be something good. A feat that its uncalled for sequel failed miserably at.
½ May 27, 2018
it was an OKAY movie, certainly not fantastic, but still fun and enjoyable. I thought it was good, but most of the acting is just pretty bad. That's a big takeaway.
½ May 13, 2018
So lame plot paul needs to learn
Page 1 of 384