Mortal Engines - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Mortal Engines Reviews

Page 1 of 42
May 22, 2019
I love the world building and the action scenes, but the plot was weak, the characters were flat, and their relationships cliche
½ May 18, 2019
Written by Peter Jackson with an IP that's supposed to match the grandeur of LOTR, Mortal Engines has a promising premise & packs amazing visual spectacle but I wish it's more. It's part BioShock & more Fallout. My mum told me she likes it though & I asked her how much out of 10, she said 7 so 7 it is.
½ May 17, 2019
I like it. Engaging and entertaining. Wasn't expecting an epic.
May 17, 2019
The first hour is bearable, the second hour degenerates into a pile cliches up to the point in becomes nigh unbearable. I've not read the book, and this film is NOT an endorsement.
½ May 17, 2019
an unusual setting, but i love it. great job, peter
½ May 17, 2019
I was surprised by how much I liked this movie... def worth my time.
½ May 16, 2019
It was fun and well acted but the film industry is very franchise heavy and it might struggle to succeed.
½ May 10, 2019
A big two hour long bag of clich´┐ 1/2 1/2 (C)s with some visual effects and apparently computer generated actors.
May 9, 2019
Neat effects but so many plot holes just makes it was.
May 8, 2019
Having read the book, this movie sadly does not live up to its standards. All that aside, the movie actually is fine. It's something you'd want to watch an ordinary friday evening in lack of other types of entertainment.
May 7, 2019
Loved it 9 plus /10 and I have no idea why it bombed. Poor marketing ? The film marketplace is too saturated ?? Unbelievable I'm shocked to see that this film was truly unrated. Something is seriously wrong when film this good doesn't do well.
May 7, 2019
I think the movie is a mess of too many storylines, of which none really is fully worked out.
May 6, 2019
All I can say is that it's not good.
½ May 6, 2019
No esperaba nada de ella y me ha gustado mas de lo que esperaba. La historia no es nada del otro jueves pero entretiene, los efectos especiales son realmente buenos y las ciudades me encantan.
May 5, 2019
Lack of originality and poor marketing turned this steampunk fantasy into a failure, but let's not forget that its true purpose is clearly to entertain, not to impress - and in that entertaining part it succeeds
May 4, 2019
It was very cliche in a lot of places, and jumbled, and the premise is objectively silly, but I absolutely loved it. The emotion of a movie is very important to me and this one got me.
May 4, 2019
It's a concoction of plot points from various other distopian movies, none of which it does well. The shots are beautiful- but seeing as it lacks a good cohesive storyline, it leaves a lot to be desired.
May 4, 2019
Hundreds of years after civilization was destroyed by a cataclysmic event, a mysterious young woman, Hester Shaw (Hera Hilmar), emerges as the only one who can stop London -- now a giant, predator city on wheels -- from devouring everything in its path.Mortal Engines is so damn enjoyable and beautiful to look at, I'm kind of glad it exists. The vehicle and world design is so aesthetically pleasing, the phrase "eye candy" doesn't do it justice. Especially the elegant airships.
With lots of impressive action, enhanced by breathtakingly detailed CGI, Mortal Engines is vibrant, energetic and exciting - a little too over-the-top at times, but not distractingly so. Hester Shaw (Hera Hilmar), is the big surprise here: she puts in a strong performance and deserves to have a bright future ahead of her.
When I watch a fantasy science fiction like Mortal Engines I just want to relax and be entertained and that's exactly what I got so I'm not the one who's going to complain. Just don't over analyze everything and enjoy the ride.
½ May 1, 2019
Not a masterpiece by any stretch, but not anywhere near as bad as the critics scored it. But let's be honest, there are plenty of far, far worse movies that get much kinder reviews.
½ May 1, 2019
This film is the next generation of Mystery Science Theater, so awful it's hilarious. If you're going to invest the time to watch this horrible film based on poor writing, shored up with bad acting and fair production then do it while drinking with friends that have a great sense of humor, and a natural ability to deliver one liners. Otherwise, i suggest you turn away and cover your ears.
Page 1 of 42