Monster Hunt (Zhuo Yao Ji) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Monster Hunt (Zhuo Yao Ji) Reviews

Page 1 of 2
January 7, 2019
i extremely enjoyed this, it had everything, It made me laugh, It made me cry. It had action/Fantasy/family drama with a love story. i could not wait to see the second. i am totally looking forward to a 3rd movie fingers crossed ;) #baby Groot & Wuba should hang out##AWSOME##
½ June 4, 2018
At least 6 times you'll say to yourself, "D***, that's ****** up." However, you'll keep watching.
February 18, 2018
Funny in both Chinese and English! Big Chinese blockbuster
December 16, 2017
Monster Hunt peut s'avérer très étrange notamment pour le public occidental qui n'est pas familiariser avec la culture chinoise. Par contre outre passé ces détails, le film s'avère plutôt rigolo et on passe un bon moment.
October 21, 2017
I don't mind odd as long as it is entertaining odd, but this movie is just, well, odd. It could also have been way shorter. There was no need for all those musical numbers. The rival monster hunter turned out to not be all that important so his part could have been cut back. There was a married couple who kept popping up but in the end they served no purpose. Cut them out completely.

I did like the comic relief of the head chef. The visual effects were better than I expected, although all the monsters had a sameness to them. They all looked like Chia pets.
April 22, 2017
this is a fun look in to a heart feeling movie between humans and monsters warring, that should not be . filled with comedy and action it is a enjoy to watch
November 10, 2016
161109: A unique and sometimes strange film. A subtitled, animated, musical, martial arts film. Some, if not most, of the animation was enjoyable. I could've done without the musical numbers. As a matter of fact, I just wish they hadn't done them. The action was fast and fun. Definitely a different film experience but well worth watching.
November 1, 2016
This movie is a trip. B-
September 23, 2016
Heartwarming and sometimes be as corny as hell.
August 26, 2016
This movie was SO cute! I need a sequel! ð???
July 31, 2016
interesting and strange
Super Reviewer
June 28, 2016
Yeah, the digital effects aren't the best, however, it has more heart, better characters and humor than the majority of Hollywood films. Just be prepared for the musical numbers. Lots of fun with a good cast to help it along.
June 20, 2016
It is the cutest ever && Wuba is too cute not to love: monster qualities and all ????
Super Reviewer
½ June 19, 2016
This isn't half bad all things considered. This movie actually broke all types of records on China when it first came out, well until Stephen Chow's The Mermaid came out earlier this year. Part of me is surprised that out of every movie to come out in China that this, again, until The Mermaid came out, was the one that broke all the records. Not saying that this is a bad movie, it's actually enjoyable in short bursts. I guess it shouldn't surprise me, since this is a more family friendly flick when compared to other Chinese films that come out in a particular year. Honestly, until the monster king is born, the movie is actually really entertaining. It's absurd and silly, yes, but it's also energetic and entertaining. Once the monster king is born, however, the film becomes a cutesy kids movie where the main purpose is to make the baby monster as adorable as humanly possible in order to create sympathy instead of actually trying to write a strong story around why this monster is supposedly so important. And that's really the biggest problem with the flick, I get that the story is meant to be the reconciliation, at least the first step of it, between humans and monsters after being forced to live in separate societies for ages and monsters being hunted down by humans. But what they don't do a great job at is tell you why this baby monster king is so important to all of that. Why is killing the future king of the monsters such an important goal for the villain of the film? I have no fucking idea, because they did a shitty job at explaining why. The monster king only serves to create a deeper connection between our leads and maybe show them that having and raising a child can be a rewarding experience. That's really all he's there for. Oh and to be cute as well. The cutesy aspects really do drag the film down. It's never bad or anything, but it gets to a point where it just becomes nauseating. There's some funny bits with the monster king, like he can shoot out, as an example, watermelon seeds as if he was an assault rifle. There's one scene during the climax where the lead character brandishes the king as a weapon and you get a slo-mo close-up of the king shooting out the fruit seeds. I thought it was pretty funny and, actually, somewhat cute. One of the only legit cute things that they attempted that actually worked and wasn't nauseating. It's clear that the film is the start of a franchise, given how things end up. And, you know what, in spite of everything, I actually wouldn't mind seeing a sequel, because I do think that now that we got the cutesy kids stuff out of the way, we can actually get down to the actual meat of the matter. Maybe I'm wrong, maybe the films will be less energetic than this one, but I see room for improvement with this world and this franchise. The action that's there isn't on the level of the truly top-notch martial arts films, it's obviously not either of the Raid movies, but what is there is actually quite good. There's this fight scene that takes place in an elevator shaft which is quite cool. Surprising given that it also involves two of the monsters, but everything in the scene looks good and smooth. So yea, I have a lot of problems with the narrative and the lack of explanation as to why this little monster king is so damn important, but the film moves fast and it's really energetic, so that's one of the strong suits. Not perfect, but it was meant to be more of a crowd-pleaser than anything else. The fact that this broke box office records, until the Mermaid came along, says that this succeed at that, at the very least. However, this is only average at best, but you can do far worse. You shouldn't go out of your way to watch this, but I'm sure it'll mildly entertain some people.
June 4, 2016
effects are extremely bad it's a knockoff
March 30, 2016
Fine Chinese movie with action, comedy and monsters. Not sure why it was the highest grossing at its timeâ?¦
½ March 5, 2016
The CGI is impressive, for a Chinese film, even though the art style of "the monsters" looks very "Pixar-ish". The plot is silly, but coherent and very suitable as an all-age film (no wonder why it earned so much money in the Chinese market). The acting is terrible, though, and the musical sequences are absolutely out of place and unnecessary. This film reminds me of Stephen Chow's "Journey to the West: Conquering the Demons", but with even less originality and fun. A passable film, no more, no less.
February 7, 2016
Its Ghostbusters meet Aliens meet Junior. Strangest movie I had seen this year, which I quite enjoyed.
½ January 27, 2016
Monster Hunt is like nothing you've ever seen. Smashing box office records in China and South Korea, it blends cartoonish CGI monsters with humans for a zany action adventure comedy fantasy with romance and all sorts of craziness. It was definitely not boring, and the action bits are well done, and the CGI is seamlessly blended in with the live action. Monster Hunt is very different, but still enjoyable.
January 23, 2016
It's really good! I watched it in China and now it's in Canada! It is the best chinese movie I ever seen
Page 1 of 2