Miral - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Miral Reviews

Page 1 of 9
June 23, 2018
The director injects some showy images into the mix but, without a defined frame for Schnabel to paint in, "Miral" is an unholy mess.
May 28, 2018
This is an extremely one sided film that introduces nothing intelligent or intriguing. It's also very offensive and maybe even racist.
May 10, 2017
I really wanted to like this flick. It was an interesting topic, but it felt like an after school special because it missed nuance and depth. Very pretty video sequences, but they, also, felt tacked on. The story line was pretty predictable, Based on truth doesn't mean dramatic. It was a lecture in film.
½ June 19, 2016
Make no mistake, it's the political incorrectness of calling a spade a spade in this particular case - that accounts for just how underrated this film is. The ever-taboo bottom line here is that many of humanity's ugliest moments arise when fundamentalists convince each other that they deserve to improve their position by taking away from the comparatively defenceless. It doesn't matter whether those fundamentalists wear swastikas or yamakas. It's all about as ugly as ugly can be.
½ November 17, 2015
Israeli occupation of Palestine painting the Israelis as the bad guys. Gotta love a one sided perspective!
½ September 17, 2015
Julian Schnabel não faz milagre. O filme é uma boa história desperdiçada.
March 25, 2014
His one complete failure but it's interesting to me because I can finally see what he CAN'T do.
December 7, 2013
My Favorite Film Is 1941's Citizen Kane.
October 23, 2013
The true story of Hind Husseini is a fascinating one. Unfortunately the movie spends most of its time on much less interesting characters. That combined with some questionable politics and the miscasting of Freida Pinto make this a disappointing film.
October 19, 2013
I LOVED it! Engrossing, entertaining, and realistic, allowing one to see the Middle East situation from the viewpoint of a Palestinian who in the end sided with peace. I ran a non-profit organization in 2002-09 that funded tolerance workshops for both Israelis and Palestinians. While I'm Jewish with relatives who are Holocaust survivors in Israel, I feel that this film depicts accurately the Palestinian experience and in the final section in which an Israeli girl is introduced, an important Israeli viewpoint as well. Before seeing the film, I saw an interview on Charlie Rose with the real "Miral," on which the film is based. From the most challenging of childhoods, this beautiful woman (physically and spiritually) has made so much of her life. We should all be so courageous!
September 22, 2013
This is an excellent movie, exposing the brutalities of the oppressive regime, emotional, insightful, brave. MUST SEE
May 30, 2013
good movie. a little bit hard to understand. suppose to be English with English subtitles but when Arabic was spoken no subtitles were used. two movies in one. first the orphanage and school which hind Hussein build and ran until the day she died. then the movie of miral, a young girl who grows up in the orphanage but tries to define and protect her Palestinian state from the Israelis.
April 6, 2013
The stories of a number of Palestinian women, starting in 1946, ending in 1993, focusing on Miral who grows up in the 1980s.
March 10, 2013
Far from excellent, but certainly not deserving of anything as low as 17%. Miral tells the untold half of a controversial story with style if not substance, and is an earnest effort.
November 22, 2012
This movie is about the story of Miral during the circumstances that were forced upon her by the Palestinian - Israel conflict. with that said Miral is a great movie and it brought tears to my eyes. But it seems that the critics' reviews about this movie is dangerously effected by their view about the conflict that it blinded them from what the movie is about, some of them (if they had the power) would really want to change the events of the story just to defend the other side, but this is a real story, not a documentary and what Miral suffered through occupation is true as well.
November 20, 2012
It starts of well, but fails to mention the kids were leftovers from Dier Yassin literally dropped off at the Old City walls. It shows only half the sotry and not in epic details the genocide. The 2nd half focusses on the ills of Arab society and subliminally portrays how bad they are indulging themselves in sex and drugs, especially the former. It then concludes with the notion that it is a 2 sided conflict and the onus is also on the victim to seek peace. Very little info on the realities of the brutal occupation after the 1st twenty minutes, and doesn't show the reality of the ethnic cleansing operations ny zionist terrorists such as Irgun and Stern gang. A film about the Nakba would be much more honest
November 7, 2012
Inspirationnal story which lacks in the movie
October 27, 2012
I don't know why the name of the movie is Miral!! they should name it "Hind".. Also it's weird that they brought an Indian actress to play Palestinian! Her performance and how she speaks Arabic was really bad for this role...
September 28, 2012
Absolutely great! If you've been there, you would understand. Regardeless to political views, what Hindi did is priceless.
Page 1 of 9