Miracle on 34th Street - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Miracle on 34th Street Reviews

Page 1 of 86
December 25, 2018
A curiously dull and occasionally depressing Christmas flick, Miracle On 34th Street is certainly well meaning, but feels way more like a kid's film than it should. It's not patronising or condescending, but it panders to its target audience while doing little to challenge them. Richard Attenborough makes for a great Santa: Charming, warm and full of cheer. But the supporting cast, with the possible exception of an underused Mara Wilson, never comes to life or even seem very invested in what they're doing. There's a romantic subplot that pops up now and then and is never interesting, and there's a pair of baddies who are supposed to be comic relief but are never funny. More than anything the film is just forced and forgettable. It goes on about 20 minutes too long, and has an ending which exists solely to force as many sentimentalities down our throats as possible. Definitely not a Christmas classic, and not a film I'm keen to revisit when the festive season rolls around again.
December 24, 2018
A Beautiful light-hearted Christmas film that can make a believer out of a grown up
December 19, 2018
it may not good as the classic.but to me its a classic retelling and a remake that succeeds.
December 9, 2018
In my opinion this is the greatest Christmas movie of all time. The casting of Santa is perfect and I have never enjoyed watching a Christmas movie more. This movie is simply an embodiment of what Christmas should be! Ho Ho Ho
½ December 5, 2018
Very sweet film, which should be watched every festive season.
November 29, 2018
Better than the original! I was sceptical at first, but it won me over!! Mara Wilson is priceless!
June 26, 2018
Nice and cute little family movie about the meaning of christmas. Attenborough is a gem in the role of Santa Claus.
April 9, 2018
Miracle on 34th Street est une preuve s'il en fallait que le John Hughes des années 90 avait totalement perdu sa faculté à écrire des films compétents. Deuxième réalisation du yes man Les Mayfield, ce conte atterrant de bêtises et de bons sentiments ne semble pas savoir à qui il s'adresse. Si la première moitié est un film pour enfants tout ce qu'il y a de plus classique, la seconde s'enterre dans un procès d'une lenteur sans nom. Les acteurs sont corrects, mais ils ne peuvent sauver un sommet d'ennui mortel.
April 1, 2018
Lacks the magic from the original but it still has charm.
February 11, 2018
It has the original's spirit and modernizes it.
January 2, 2018
A real family film with a classic xmas vibe. Still holds strong today.
December 24, 2017
I've never seen the original Miracle on 34th Street, as a child this was the version I grew up with every Christmas. I hadn't seen it in a good number of years since my childhood days and when faced with the choice of purchasing this film or the original on Blu Ray, I decided on this version simply because it was familiar and I wanted to see how it held up. Unfortunately my memory did not serve me well as this movie is not at all the joyous perfect Christmas film I remembered. The aspects I enjoyed include the actual character of Kriss Kringle played by Richard Attenborough and the cheesiness of it. The concept was also interesting even if the result of the final court room was a bit ridiculous. The idea of Santa in this movie legit being a simple crazy old man who just happens to believe he is Santa Claus is super interesting to think about once the credits roll. Other than this though, the rest of the movie falls flat. The conflict with the main company that hires Mr. Kringle, Cole's, and their business competitor was forgettable. The child character of Susan was annoying and off putting as the delivery of many of her lines and the writing of her script sometimes made her seem like a child genius and other times like a normal little girl. It was just very awkward. I didn't buy the romance of Bryan and Dorey whatsoever and the actual character if Dorey just ended up feeling so bland, boring, and annoying that it really drags the movie down even though it is a major focal point. Overall, I don't recommend seeing this as an annual Christmas film, sigh, maybe the original will give me more hope if I watch that next year.
December 22, 2017
Far superior in logic and realism to the original. The only thing missing was real stores and products from the original.
December 18, 2017
(4.0 out of 6)
When what we see we can't believe when those that come out once a night is in broad daylight to meet the man known as Father Christmas. When what we see we can't believe when those are intoxicated and drunk off their sleigh to see there is another replacement ready to fill in. When what we do see and believe when we got such roles perfectly when we are the real deal.

When what others see and don't believe they know those are not real when it's a tale told only for children. When somethings we see we can't believe looks just like the real thing. When what others balance and able to do all we can't believe what they see they can do.

When we can't believe what we see when someone who represents the store sends customers elsewhere when they only care about happiness then business. When what others can't believe what we see when the competition does, to out do them. When we can't believe what others say when such happy moments makes others sad. When we can't believe what we see when those take their role too far to keep such roles going.

When we can't believe how far those would go to compete, when such holidays means greater profits that we need to get others not to believe in what they see. When we can't believe others would do such a unjolly act in harming another others stage a fight between father Christmas and the non believer. When we can't believe what we unearth and see when those who believe we are something turn out to be another thing when we are seen crazy.

When we can't believe to see a trial take place in which we put Father Christmas on the stand. When we can't believe who others say they are when we have all along been doing his work in his absence. When we can't believe all what Father Christmas represents to bring into question those magical things and traditional things to see that it's believable and unbelievable.

When we always been in moments where it was hard to believe in such things and faith helped us through. When such places need to be taken serious to go based on facts and evidence that either proves or disproves what we believe is actually here.

(unfinished)
May 4, 2017
A great holiday movie that will make a believer out of you. (First viewing - Childhood)
May 3, 2017
Decent, if a little redundant. While everyone, especially Attenborough, does a great job, isn't the point of a remake to give audiences something new? Forgive me, but I don't think this does. So, I'm just going to review it on its own merits. This is a joyous holiday film that's full of warmth, humour and that all-important Christmas spirit. Settling down with this movie and a mug of hot chocolate can start Christmas. The only way to do it better is to stick a copy of the original film on.
½ April 14, 2017
This is a very poorly made movie. If you want to be diagnosed with heart disease have a drinking contest and take a swig each time you cringe.
January 3, 2017
The best Christmas based film out there. Richard Attenborough is actually Santa, it is the only possible explanation to why he is that good in this film.
½ December 26, 2016
***1/2 ''If you can't believe, if you can't accept anything on faith ,then you are doomed by a life dominated by doupt .''
December 24, 2016
While Mara Wilson's 'precocious super-inteligent child' might have been overplayed and overly typecast (with no disrespect to a phenomenal little actress), Attenborough's earnest portrayal of the 'symbol of the human ability to suppress our selfish tendencies' makes this an absolute must for the holiday season. A movie challenged with re-telling a story rooted in slapping the Santa Claus myth in the face with a sceptical and coldly litigious reality check manages to, largely through excellent casting and music, carry you effortlessly through to a heartwarming climax. When you've seen It's A Wonderful Life and haven't cried enough, watch this quaint and quintessentially 90s, if still heartwarming, masterpiece.
Page 1 of 86