Mine Games - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Mine Games Reviews

Page 1 of 2
October 1, 2017
FIVE STARS. OH MY GOD what a film. What a beautiful piece of art. Richard Gray is my hero. I have watched this movie more times than I have been to the gym in my entire life. Making the horror genre GREAT AGAIN.
March 12, 2017
Not really my kind of film.
November 27, 2016
This movie had me going
November 4, 2016
I thought it wasn't that bad! Sure, the movie wasn't executed to the potential we all saw in it, but it was an interesting theme that kept me guessing till almost the very end. I get it that most were angry about there not being a big resolution or maybe even a higher "evil" power, but is it really necessary for one? For me, I feel like that was the point! As "Guy" pointed out at some point, "this is hell" and perhaps that was the goal; to create a endless cycle of hell in which, whilst there seems to be hope, there really isn't because of "fate". Who knows, maybe what most of you consider a "poorly executed plot" might have just overlooked a pretty genius concept. For any good psychological thriller fan, I would still recommend this film!
½ July 14, 2016
There are just so many things wrong with Mine Games from the beginning to the very last second. I must admit that the camerawork was excellent, location was fitting and the premise itself is intriguing but everything else in this production is extremely inadvertent and I found myself rolling my eyes continuously. The script is weak and bland, every cliche you could possibly think of was present, the decisions the characters made were not just "typical horror movie bad decisions that people make when they're scared and not thinking straight" kind of decisions, they were just decisions that would specifically keep the movie from stopping in its own tracks. In the end, there was literally not one specification on why anything had happened. Not a trace of resolution or meaning for any of it. I haven't seen a movie with this amount of carelessness and large quantity of plot holes in a while. If you look at my other reviews, you'll see that I'm extremely generous when it comes to rating films, probably TOO generous. But this.... this truly needed a substantial amount of work in so many areas. I would not go as far to say this is a BAD movie because you can tell that director Richard Gray tried to get creative and have some fun with this so I do respect that he tried to create something unique in such a repetitive world of film. It just really needed so much work to be considered good. It upsets me that someone didn't tell this guy about all these silly and avoidable mistakes he was making during preproduction and production of this film. This could have been the next "Triangle," "Coherence" or "Timecrimes" but it ended up being a messy, negligent, and heedless attempt at the time-loop subgenre.
April 6, 2016
Way too much at the beginning, you have to ease into something that gross and loud, it kinda killed it for me
January 17, 2016
It's practically impossible to get past the poor acting quality. In fact, it's really distracting, and takes away from what could have been a decent low budget horror film.
December 30, 2015
Stupid plot and ending
½ November 24, 2015
11/23/3015: Other than the beauty of the girls this movie was horrible.
October 22, 2015
The biggest problem with this film is that there is no explanation AT ALL, No bigger evil that is pointed to as the cause. It's just bait, A movie which is forgettable. This is better then don't blink, But the movie just has bad directing and awful casting. And kind of predictable........

A movie that brings out all the bad stuff people DON'T want in a movie. 1/5
½ October 20, 2015
This movie is ideal for the phrase, "What the hell did I just watch!?" It really does a great job of tampering with your sense of time and your perspective on what the threat of the movie actually is. My biggest problem is that there is absolutely no explanation, no bigger evil that is pointed to as the cause. It seems to be generic during the beginning, completely confusing near the middle and the end is...I don't even know. Only reason I gave it a decent rating was cause I genuinely was disturbed after watching so I guess it did the job.
½ August 15, 2015
4.5/10
The ending of this movie was actually better and more intriguing than the movie itself. In the end it showed more promise and interesting choices that it could've benefited from them if used since the beginning. It's almost as if it could've been a better from starting from the beginning, ironically. Aside from al of that, the performances were average for the most part, although at least it had some recognizable actors. But overall, it wasn't scary nor with a better than average quality, but it had a good idea that wasn't executed very well.
~August 15, 2015~
½ August 9, 2015
Interesting concept but has been done before in Triangle (The Australia produced film with a similar cyclical repetition). The characters appeared somewhat disjointed with the character's almost being moulded in to suit the plot line. The schizophrenia appeared to be a cheap way of justifying the loop which perhaps in future could do with some more thought.
Super Reviewer
June 24, 2015
Clever title aside, this film, while certainly not without its interesting moments and themes, didn't really do much for me. This is more a sci fi-esque story than it is a horror movie, though it very obviously has some horror elements. Essentially, the idea is that there's some weird looping effect going on here, where they will go through the same thing time and time and time again unless someone is able to break the cycle by warning the others before they get to the cabin in the woods/forest. They also have to avoid one of their own, a schizophrenic no less, who's going out and murdering them for whichever reason. Talk about an easy scapegoat for a villain. Let's go after the schizo because, as we all know, those motherfuckers are dangerous, right? It plays into every mental health stereotype that is out there. If someone with a mental illness is not taking their meds, they'll end up killing someone. I have no doubt that this has happened in the past, and there's proof of it online, but it literally plays into every negative and unjustified fear people have regarding those with mental health issues. Anyone, if pushed to a certain point, can end up killing someone. If a man, or a woman, gets dumped by their significant other and they end up going on a killing spree this does not mean that everyone who goes through the same thing will end up committing the same acts. Same thing with people who suffer through these horrible diseases. It's just way too fucking lazy, honestly. Relying on the fact that people are uneducated about these illnesses in order to tell your story, that's just shit storytelling to me. At least The Voices, a really damn good movie with an excellent performance from Ryan Reynolds, while still relying on those same stereotypes, did so in order to tell a story about a character who was not living in the real world. It showed us how his mind perceived things to be completely different than what they were in real life. It was a disturbing character study. It didn't choose schizophrenia out lazy storytelling. It did so with a purpose. This movie, however, doesn't have a purpose. It's just justifying its own shitty storytelling by using schizophrenia as the driving force for the horror aspects of the film. There's no reason you couldn't have told this same story with the exception of the deaths themselves being accidental. There's absolutely no reason whatsoever, in my mind. Of course, this is the story the filmmakers wanted to tell and they have the freedom to do so, I still think the whole schizophrenia aspects of the film are poorly written. It's not like the sci fi-esque time looping is any better either. The problem lies in the fact that it literally comes out of nowhere, like there's no explanation given for what is going on. And I guess, if this were real, considering that none of these people were astrophysicists, it'd be difficult to find out exactly what the fuck happened. But this isn't real. They do hint at something in a throwaway line really fucking early in the movie and that's it, no mention of it ever again. I just think the writers did not have a good reason to explain why this was happening and they just completely sidestepped the issue instead of trying to find a solution for it. They just assumed people would go for it. And I guess, in some ways, I am over-analyzing this film. But I just wish they would've tried to justify their own story. And the thing is that this is not a bad movie, it still has more effort put into it than a lot of these really low-budget horror films, but not nearly enough of it for me to look past its glaring flaws. I do think the ending itself was very good and parts of the film were pretty cool all things considered. At best this is a below average film. It has some cool ideas and all, but it's got some really fucking lazy storytelling that keeps it from being truly good. I cannot recommend this in the slightest.
April 28, 2015
It's Groundhog Day,the less than thriller.
April 2, 2015
Well that's a big pot of frustrating with a dash 'how the hell did you not see that coming?!' (April 2, 2015)
February 16, 2015
This movie was mind blowing. There were so many twists and turns it was thrilling. The acting was wonderful and the dialogue flowed rather nicely! Definitely worth the watch!!!!!
January 20, 2015
Mine Games is very interesting...it tries to be many things, but these things don't necessarily make the whole any greater.

We have a good group of friends, all likeable in their own ways, go to a cottage for some relaxation and come across an abandoned mine. The characters begin seeing dead versions of each other, and one character hasn't been taking his meds.

The mine is rather spooky, as is the things found are very creepy. The group falls apart well, but the time travel element just doesn't work. The loose ends are tied up neatly, but it just doesn't feel like it goes anywhere.

Despite its lack of real cohesion, Mine Games is enjoyable and definitely worth a watch.
January 8, 2015
Very good, mind-bending movie with a solid story throughout
½ December 12, 2014
Not Bad, Kinda Trippy....
Page 1 of 2