The Merry Gentleman - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Merry Gentleman Reviews

Page 1 of 9
September 30, 2017
Keaton and Macdonalds acting is just wonderful to behold. It's interesting and well played.. if you want a nice happy package at the end of your movies you will be unhappy. If you like good acting , noir and an intriguing end it will work
½ April 13, 2016
Michael Keaton directs and stars in this dull drama that slightly proves he's better off a great actor than a mediocre director.
April 13, 2016
Surprisingly emotional despite its slow pace and dull events.
November 9, 2013
A first draft. Not worth seeing, but not entirely terrible. If you're stuck watching it, you'll stick it out. But you won't be satisfied.
August 22, 2013
I am not a fan of Michael Keaton and this story doesn't sound like anything that I am interested in.
½ July 11, 2013
Actually a pretty good movie - though slow at parts
½ March 16, 2013
It was what it was, and successfully did what it was meant to. And slow is not a bad thing in a movie.
April 25, 2012
It is intriguing, though
March 5, 2012
a unique film. a gem.
½ February 29, 2012
It's both strange and amazing that the movie succeeds in being as compelling as it is, considering how little actually happens in it. I was hoping Michael Keaton's directorial debut would be a dark comedy, but I was pleasantly surprised with a quiet character piece, filled with tenderness and melancholy. I wouldn't recommend it to everyone, but I enjoyed it.
½ February 18, 2012
Terrific performances from Michael Keaton and Kelly MacDonald (man I lover her accent) and an interesting slow burning story, although the ending leaves you a little confused, but in a good way.
December 31, 2011
Had to give this movie a second chance. This movie requires the audience member to be in a mellow mood, one should also watch this during the Christmas season. Not bad for Michael Keaton's directorial debut.
½ November 15, 2011
Great character piece this one is. The characters have depth but you really need to think to see the depth. Acting was great, as it usually is in indie films. Nice job!
November 13, 2011
A quiet, unassuming drama with two nice lead performances. Keaton makes his directorial debut here, and the result isn't half bad. Kelly MacDonald is an actress I have had my eyes on since Trainspotting and she has never been given the right role to breakout into the mainstream (I thinks he was robbed of an Academy Award nomination a couple of years back for her PERFECT performance in No Country for Old Men); and she doesn't disappoint here either. She's dependable and good and very affecting. This film is slow and it meanders along ... but it made me appreciate the heart of it. I also have to give the film props on a nice ending -- I wasn't sure how it would all tie together at the end; but I think Keaton took it in the only direction possible. The Merry Gentleman is not for everyone but it isn't a waste of film.
½ October 24, 2011
I really enjoyed this character piece!!!
blkbomb
Super Reviewer
½ October 22, 2011
Frank Logan: You find presents under a tree. I found a girl. 
Kate Frazier: You must have been a very good boy. 

"A man with a secret. A woman with a past."

Despite its flaws, I really liked The Merry Gentleman because of its uniqueness and because it was one of the oddest emotional movies I have seen in awhile. It was oddly emotional because the characters don't show too much emotion, but Michael Keaton's direction dictates the emotional feeling of the film. Everything about the movie had a feeling of dreariness.there really was no cheerfulness to be had and I think that's what made the relationship between Kate and Frank all the more emotional.

The movie revolves around two people. A sweet young woman Kate, and a killer, Frank. Kate sees Frank on top of a roof after killing someone but doesn't see his face. She is questioned by police about the incident, but she can't really give the anything because he was to far away. Then the two actually meet and begin to become friends. There's no real plot to begin with, but the movie does do some great things with the characters. I love the way Keaton played with the viewer about Kate's past and her black eye. She would always give a different answer, but everyone really knows what it is.

I liked Keaton as an actor and as a director with this film, but what really sold me on it was Kelly MacDonald. I loved her performance. She was so subtle with all the large emotions that were going on in her characters life and made the movie all the more effective. The relationship between her character and Keaton's was oddly believable. Now that I really think about the movie, everything was odd. It isn't like a normal crime drama, because it isn't really about the crime.

It is easy to see why this movie is hard to like. It is slow, it is bleak the actors show no emotions, and the ending doesn't really feel like an ending. But Keaton didn't set out to make a movie that would be easy to like. He did a great job with a movie that is character driven, with two less than exciting characters. I don't know how he did it, but he did.
September 26, 2011
Not a bad first effort at direction, and the acting is very good.
½ September 24, 2011
Directed by and starring Michael Keaton, it will remind of film noir and the spare style of 70s indies.
August 21, 2011
I expected more from the relationship between the two leads. Theres too much repetition of fairly meaningless moments.
Super Reviewer
June 5, 2011
Reminiscent of the superior Last Lullaby, Merry Gentleman is beautifully shot, with Keaton giving a very nuanced performance. Its' biggest drawback, however, is a significant one; the pace is best described as glacially slow.
Page 1 of 9