Men with Brooms - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Men with Brooms Reviews

Page 1 of 17
June 12, 2016
I must say that I was pleasantly surprised by this movie. The only actors name that I recognized was Leslie Neilsen and I recognized the debt collector but didn't know his name, however this movie was really enjoyable! It ends up dragging you into it and also taught me things about curling that I didn't know. Overall, I would and will recommend to others that this movie is worth watching and one that I would watch again.
May 22, 2016
Fairly horrible. Had to stop watching 1/3 of the way through. Extremely boring.
½ February 13, 2016
Not a very big part for Leslie Nielsen bud glad he joins the rest of an oke cast . Curling may not be the very most atractive sport but they make it entertaining to watch . Nice one ! SOMDVD
January 9, 2016
Rare sport shot in a movie. Funny moments.
September 6, 2015
a good, funny Canadian film showing that in strange unique ways life can work out. The use of curling (an odd choice if outside of Canada) is a smart and interesting choice that proves to payoff
February 13, 2015
I am a redblooded American born and raised in Illinois who can't stand sports...and this film from Canada left with me with an admiration for curling. This is an uneven work, zigzagging from poignant drama to crude dude comedy at the throw of a stone, and ultimately, it's no different than any other underdog sports team movie, but it has special moments in it that make it all worthwhile.
April 19, 2014
Some good chuckles here and there, but focused far too much on the romantic aspects...a lot more potential was wasted. That being said, nice Canadian movie with all the clichés. OK way to pass time but not essential, unless you want to be up on the top curling movies of all time...
½ February 24, 2014
Leslie as a Canuck with stones & shrooms. The perfect drive-in flick.
½ October 20, 2013
Not the funniest movie Leslie Nielsen ever made, but any movie that makes fun of the come-from-behind- to- win type sports story pic can't be all bad.
December 30, 2012
It was quite a fun movie with a simple plot. The story proceeds well considering its pretty much going entirely just around a curling match. The comedian Leslie Nielsen and other characters are funny. Add Molly Parker and an interesting sport, curling. So why not give this film full five stars? Maybe it was just that the humor, which often goes a bit below the navel, shouldn't be the only thing in the movie that keeps it going. The chemistry between Chris (Gross) and Amy (Parker) isn't working so well either, or rather, there isn't much of it. Molly Parker's Amy, a beautiful woman, and many other characters besides Amy and Chris remain a bit of a stranger to the watcher. However, there are not very many curling movies out there to my knowledge, and this is a well done comedy and overall I liked it.
December 17, 2012
It was quite a fun movie with a simple plot. The story proceeds well considering its pretty much going entirely just around a curling match. The comedian Leslie Nielsen and other characters are funny. Add Molly Parker and an interesting sport, curling. So why not give this film full five stars? Maybe it was just that the humor, which often goes a bit below the navel, shouldn't be the only thing in the movie that keeps it going. The chemistry between Chris (Gross) and Amy (Parker) isn't working so well either, or rather, there isn't much of it. Molly Parker's Amy, a beautiful woman, and many other characters besides Amy and Chris remain a bit of a stranger to the watcher. However, there are not very many curling movies out there to my knowledge, and this is a well done comedy and overall I liked it.
½ December 9, 2012
It's too bad the most likeable character died in the opening scene...
November 5, 2012
Men with Brooms has a heavy dose of false Canadianisms and a soundtrack that even Anne Murray would pop into her tape deck...keep your brooms on the ice Curling fans, this one's only marginally recommendable.
½ October 27, 2012
A distinctly Canadian film where a funeral reunites a curling team to compete in the prized Golden Broom tournament. Average comedy but Gross nicely captures life in a small Atlantic Canadian town where Moosehead is the beer of choice.
July 14, 2012
This could have been so much better. What promise...
TheDudeLebowski65
Super Reviewer
½ December 4, 2011
Men with Brooms is a decent comedy, with a decent cast. Unfortunately Paul Gross has tarnished the "career" he's supposedly had when he directed the beyond awful "war" film, Passchendaele. Therefore this film is eclipsed by that film. Anyhow, before Passchendaele's release, Gross directed this film, and I did somewhat enjoy it, but it lacked something to make it memorable. The idea for the film was interesting, and the gags are good for what they are, but the script does show limitations and the film could have been better. There some good jokes in this film, unfortunately to due an underdeveloped script; most of them fall flat, and go nowhere. The cast (aside from Gross, cause he's a tool) are pretty good here, and I personally think that if Gross wasn't involved in the film, it would have made quite the difference. For what it is, Men with Brooms is a funny little film, and despite the fact this was directed by Paul Gross, it's not as awful as his later film, Passchendaele. The film does have good comedic elements that for the most part are good, and work well enough to be an entertaining film. Overall not a perfect film, but good to watch with friends. The film has some good laughs, despite the fact it's uneven. Watch Men with Brooms but skip on Passchendaele.
Page 1 of 17