Mean Guns - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Mean Guns Reviews

Page 1 of 6
March 16, 2019
Fucking great.

I'd have thrown that knife by now
January 13, 2019
A flawed masterpiece complete with guns, gore and gritty existentialism. Several great performances from the B list and Christopher Lambert's most captivating role to date.
March 20, 2018
90s hbo at its finest. Great cast, wonderful score. Fairly original plot. A little bit of cheese but, 90s hbo. I mean come on. Overall easily one of my favourite guilty pleasures.
½ September 12, 2015
It is not a perfect movie but it is a fun and entertaining movie. Lots of great character interactions.
August 27, 2015
Couldn't make sense of it and didn't capture my attention so gave up as my brain just isn't able to take these films any more due to my difficulty concentrating since the accident.
½ February 9, 2015
Not a well planned movie and has a somewhat confusing ending, but worth seeing for all the violence!
Super Reviewer
½ April 22, 2014
Not a bad concept from Mr Pyun this time, a crime boss gets all his enemies in one place and holds a competition to win 10million. Thing is the competition is an outright killing match between everyone with no rules accept survive anyway you can.

This of course equals a mass of gun fighting and violence as baddies scramble to win and survive. Could of been totally cool but Pyun has gone down the light-hearted route and added a silly soundtrack of upbeat tunes along with a black/gallows type humour.

I like the idea of gallows humour but I just feel this could of been much better as an out n out serious hard action flick. Still its pretty good, has a few of Pyun's regular cast favourites and the always annoying mistake that a lot of action flicks suffer. A seemingly never ending stream of useless cannon fodder henchmen which always leads you to ask yourself...where did they all come from?, why are they such mindless sheep? and why are they all so ineffective?!.
Super Reviewer
July 6, 2013
Mostly just weird, cool action scenes though. Basically just one of those generic 90s action movies with people who are kind of famous.
June 27, 2013
Video game: the movie.
April 16, 2013
This is a great B grade shoot-em up movie. A crime boss (Ice-T) summons 100 killers that work for his criminal syndicate to a newly constructed prison before it has been officially opened. All of these killers have been skimming off the top of the syndicates business empire for years and thinking they have got away it. The crime lords have decided that instead of just executing all of them for their disloyalty - they will instead have a game and watch it all unfold over the prison cameras. They throw a heap of different weaponry into the center of the prison and tell them that the 3 people left standing will get 10 million dollars and be able to walk free - as long as there are only 3 left by midnight, otherwise they will all die. What follows is a carnage of blood and chaos of professional killer against killer, where only the most ruthless will be left standing. This is a very satisfactory B-Grade movie, with heavy violence, a mixture of different tough guy characters and one liners, all to a Mamba soundtrack. This movie succeeds very well with what it intended to do - and is a good mindless film to enjoy for what it is worth. You already know if this is your kind of movie - and if it is, give it a look.
½ March 12, 2013
Not a well planned movie and has a somewhat confusing ending, but worth seeing for all the violence!
½ January 22, 2013
Funny, but bad. Really bad.
September 7, 2012
This is that shit right here, this is that shit!!
½ August 23, 2012
I love this movie wit ice tee
May 10, 2012
This is a nonstop thrill ride that takes place in a prison where it is survival of the fittest.
April 25, 2012
fun movie, mostly action, cool characters, and all to mambo music
August 15, 2010
Didnt get to finish it, not sure if I should either.
June 1, 2010
Not a well planned movie and has a somewhat confusing ending, but worth seeing for all the violence!
½ April 5, 2010
Pyun creates yet another wonderfully low-budget high concept flick and pulls it off with style. Clearly he just wanted a reason for a few dozen people in a contained area to shoot and beat each other with baseball bats for an hour and a half. That reason: because Ice-T wants them to. Hell, the plot may be a bit muddy- something about a "syndicate" getting its massive snitch problem to take care of itself- but the unabashedly exploitative way in which this movie handles itself is exhilarating.

Michael Halsey should be in more films.
½ March 8, 2010
wow this was bad. The acting was horrible. The pathetic attempt at poetry was laughable, and the movie was pointless. The movie began with a room full of people, thirty at most. But throughout the movie, way over fifty people where gunned down. Now, where did these people come from? Directors must watch for these inconsistencies. Oh and by the way, did I mention that the plot was STUPID?
Page 1 of 6