Masterminds - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Masterminds Reviews

Page 2 of 23
December 15, 2017
I loved it silly stupid fun. Good late night flick.
December 12, 2017
The movie was so fun and hilarious. Highly recommend watching.
December 10, 2017
Does struggle the get the tone right. It jumps between hilarious and down right oddball goofy too often. Still, there?s some good laughs to be had while watching this
November 26, 2017
I was going into this movie expecting it to be cringey and it was. That was the whole of what made this movie good. Rented it as a 'laugh because it's so bad' movie.
November 26, 2017
So I Guess This Means Crime Does Eventually Pay Yeah?? 2-Million Unaccounted For & A Movie-Consultant Role Reenacting Your Own Foolish Behaviour. There Is Some On-Point Comic Moments But The Dynamic Of Cast Chemistry Feels All A Bit Like An Extended SNL-Skit. Luckily The Shortish Run-Time Keeps It Going To The End Strongly. It Was Worth Watching From A True-Story Of Stupidity Aspect, But Nothing To Rave On About..So I'll Leave It At That. :-)
November 25, 2017
This film is like the saturday night live version of a true story that is a bit funny to start with. The dvd extras had the true story told by the thief and the FBI. The whole film is uniformly crazy acted with total lack of serious. The film makers mostly exagerated what happened in real life but they continued the story differently than reality at the point where the thief was to be killed by the mastermind. It was the second biggest heist of the USA history. The red head thief actually sounds and looks a lot like a friend of mine. Funny.
November 25, 2017
Ok, I have to admin I had some laughs during the movie but...this doesn?t mean it?s a good one. In fact is super trash and doesn?t make anything to prove it wrong.
Just a small comment of a sentence pronounced at the beginning, something like that no one cares about the launchers of the space rockets. You are wrong! Elon Musk does, and the launchers love him back for this, because they always come back to him.
½ November 21, 2017
comical just a bit too silly
½ October 12, 2017
One of the worst movies I've ever attempted to watch. I only gave it half a star because it wouldn't let me give nothing...I couldn't finish watching the movie it was so bad.
½ October 1, 2017
I thought, even though it had some slow parts, this movie was underrated. While it was not a movie that always had me laughing, it was still entertaining.
September 24, 2017
The engagement photo session alone is reason to watch this.... in matching denim vests
½ September 22, 2017
This movie was below average. Was not as funny and entertaining as I thought it would be. The cast could have been better with the big names that were. brought in. Liked the plot as it was based on a true story.
September 12, 2017
A lot funnier than I expected!
September 6, 2017
Bad movie. Though the wacky characters and setting are a perfect fit for its talented cast and brilliant director, but there's not much humor that lands here and for a "true story" it plays out pretty routine.
September 2, 2017
I read the book about this 1997 heist years ago, and it was a compelling (and humorous) story. Why the movie makers chose to not do the real story is beyond me - it was much more interesting than anything portrayed in this sad attempt of a movie. What a wasted opportunity.
August 26, 2017
Despite a great cast, masterminds isn't nearly as funny as it could have been. The premise can be funny for a lot of jokes it's just a poor screenplay and flat jokes that go nowhere. Some of the performances are a bit over-the-top. I'm sure on paper masterminds a lot funnier than the end product. it's only watchable if you're a diehard fan of these actors. Otherwise pass.
½ August 25, 2017
This movie had no point of being made. All of the comedy fell flat, with a really stupid love story mixed in that felt completely off. All of the acting was pretty bad too, all of it felt unreal and it didn't flow too well. The only redeeming fact about it was that it was watchable and I finished it. Give it a pass.
August 24, 2017
The bloopers made me laugh more than the actual movie. Pretty awful movie.
August 23, 2017
Woof. Painful to watch.
Super Reviewer
August 21, 2017
There are wacky comedies like 'We're the Millers' or 'MacGruber' that balance between zaniness and competence, and then there are insanely wacky comedies like 'Masterminds' which overshoot both categories completely. Masterminds doesn't just teeter on the edge of being believable with a spot of zaniness or vice versa...it full on seesaws from one spectrum to the other making for an unfulfilled and spotty viewing with a cast built for stronger results.

Zach Galifianakas takes on the role of David Ghantt, a small town, backwoods security money truck driver who falls in love with Kristen Wiig's Kelly. She knows Owen Wilson's Steve, the bad apple of the crew, who helps persuade Galifianakis' character to help them break away with $17 million. It's amazing to think back in 1997, the Loomis Bank Robbery was the second-largest at the time. This was something that actually happened! Even with this nugget of knowledge given to us at the beginning of the film combined with the voice over work to help make this feel like it was something that actually happened, it all felt fake and conspired by director Jared Hess. None of it seemed plausible because of the cartoonish portrayal of every character. I get this takes place in the backwoods of some redneck town in North Carolina, but it was all far too silly and over acted to seem truthful.

There are few laugh-out-loud moments, and most of the giggles come from some solid physical comedy between Galifianakis and Wiig, but none of the supporting characters really flex their muscles and at just 90 minutes, you're in and out before the bank robbery even feels large enough to support the plot.
Page 2 of 23