Mary Shelley's Frankenstein - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Mary Shelley's Frankenstein Reviews

Page 1 of 81
½ May 15, 2019
This movie is as infuriating as the book. Why does Frankenstein get all upset when he sees his creation??? Its as fucking easy as just talking to him, treating him like the baby he basically is,and showing him things about life. But victor is a fucking weenie. So upset. This never should have been a horror movie.
½ February 3, 2019
A poor adaptation of the classic monster story. Boring and just plain weird. (First and only viewing - 10/19/2010)
January 29, 2019
When you hear the word England you immmediately think about the Queen, no wait I was just kidding you think about Harry Potter! Well in this movie you have actors who portrayed the greatest charachters in the HP saga like Helena Bonham Carter, John Cleese and the director and actor of the movie Kenneth Branagh. The movie though has amazing actors like De Niro and Celia Imrie but all the film is really boring. I would rate this movie 1 star and a half just for the cast and the make up that by the way is really well done.
Super Reviewer
½ January 25, 2019
With a sophisticated direction, awesome make-up and a beautiful score, this underrated adaptation does an excellent job expanding and enriching Shelley's story, especially by making the creature less a monster and elaborating more on why Victor creates him in the first place.
January 1, 2019
Thiugh the movie had no scares or maybe did not aeem exciting enough, Kenneth Branagh did an excellent job at keeping it historically accurate to Mary Shelly's epistolary Frankenstein, unlike other films that incorrectly depict the creature and make not sense when referencing to the book.
December 26, 2018
As a big fan of the book, I have to say that not a lot of movies could have held up to scrutiny. Although this version takes artistic licence (the mom, the creature's origin, Elizabeth's fate), it remains an outstanding movie more than worth (at least one) viewing.

People who have never read the book can delight in the storytelling and lush direction, while those of us with an attachment to the book can celebrate the Miltonic, Promethian, and Tamboran touches that made it in to the script (at last).

With excellent actors in all the roles, the retention of the Arctic exploration frame narrative, and obvious love for Shelley's creation, this is truly a beautiful movie that I will never tire of watching.
½ August 5, 2018
Mary Shelly's Frankenstein is unworthy of having the author in the title, this film is more loose than anything else with a problem with consistent tones and melodramatic acting besides Robert De Niro as the Monster. I gave the film the rating it has because of that one performance which gave some enjoyment in the movie. It is sad that since 1910, there has never been a faithful adaptation to the big screen.
½ November 14, 2017
New Notes 11.2.2017

Branagh's adaptation spends relatively little sympathy on the Creature and almost excessively on the true monster of this tale, Frankenstein himself, who is overly romanticized, at times annoyingly. Typical of Branagh, who's a bit obsessed with seeing himself portrayed in this over-the-top, melodramatic, epic movie staginess.

The film takes on more the appearance of an adventure film, less a horror with it's sweeping, circling camera moves and Patrick Doyle's brassy chivalrous epic score.

It fails to capture the spirit of the book with it's rapid edits and inability to settle into frame of mind, which is the essence of Shelley's writing that makes it all the more horrifying. Images fly across the screen to shoot plot points out like a semi-automatic, but we're unable to linger in these places, experience the sensations, know the torture.

I was delighted at first to see Creature would spend some time at De Lacey's cabin, but it turns out to be the only sympathy we get, besides what happens outside of Ingolstadt. From here, Creature makes a campy transition as the cabin burns, swearing vengeance upon his creator, thus becoming the film's villain.

One too many liberties are taken to call this 'Mary Shelley's' Frankenstein. Though I enjoy some of these changes, as they pertain to my own thinking. I too thought Justine was well suited to be Creature's choice of bride, a missed opportunity in the novel that Branagh and company seize. Just as well, his cause to reanimate Elizabeth is sensible for a man like him, and the tragedy it results in is obvious, though absurdly filmed.

I feel like the film is confused between whether or not it wants to completely honor Shelley's work or merely be inspired by it, which the latter it ultimately was. But it didn't commit to that, which I feel contributed to the suffering of it's pacing and troubled, unsettled screenplay. Universal took bolder steps establishing their own cinematic universe for the character and a screenplay befit for film audiences. James Whale's direction was clear and concise, committed to his own vision and the telling of that script, less the novel. As a result, the film honors the book in ways perhaps not directly focused. We spend peaceful moments with the Creature, and his sympathy is tremendous. Frankenstein is truly heinous, and there's no attempt to cover that up. Branagh's feels confused and jarring, perhaps in an attempt to depict how confusing and maddening life might seem when you suddenly wake into it from the depths of darkness. Perhaps the intent is for us to see the world as Creature sees it, sweeping around frenetically - but if that was the intent, it failed with it's romantic adventurism. Some moments of peace, quiet, birds chirping, water flowing, and butterflies flapping surely would've helped.


Old Review:

Branagh took a nice piss on one of the greatest stories ever written. DeNiro brings a fascinating sympathetic performance to his monster that is so necessary, but otherwise Branagh takes his very un-cinematic approach to the film so as to keep us bored to death.
½ November 11, 2017
interesting storyline that was different from the others. Good job by Robert DeNiro as this was a different role for him
October 27, 2017
Loved this remake...WTF is wrong with people? Seriously...look @ the full cast. I ADORE AIDEN Quinn & would see him in anything. Celia Imrie is the most UNDER-Rated Actress ever. John Cleese is ALWAYS Brilliant.
July 17, 2017
Kenneth Branagh pudo hacer un mejor trabajo.
June 29, 2017
This is one of the absolute worst big budget films I have ever seen. It gets two stars because it is HILARIOUS to watch. To be sure it is awful, however, it is awful in a way that is fun to experience and make fun of (and awful in a good enough way that I do own it and watch it on occasion).

I don't really know what Kenneth Branagh was thinking with this one--the fact that his films are usually way above average, stylish and smart makes it all the more baffling as to how this cringe-worthy mess occurred! Literally every single aspect of this film is over the top. The overdone acting from all involved--including the PHYSICAL aspect of acting (only DeNiro can *possibly* be excluded from the OTT acting comment), the frantic camerawork and Patrick Doyle's over affected score all work wonderfully together to create a throbbing embarrassment of a film.

A note on the score by Patrick Doyle: oddly, Doyle's score to Mary Shelley's Frankenstein is easily one of my all time favorite film scores. I have listened to it so many times between 1995 and today that I know each and every single note. It is in my constant rotation. Out of context it is FANTASTIC. However, in context of the film, the score simply amplifies everything that is wrong with this movie. Certainly an unexpected outcome. At any rate, I highly recommend listening to the soundtrack on its own as it is the one thing about the movie that truly is great--again, out of context.

Great bad movie to watch with friends who also appreciate the fun that can be had when watching great bad movies. :)
Super Reviewer
June 10, 2017
I like certain design elements but I wish the movie's tone wasn't consistently hysterical from start to finish. There are no moments of quiet to appreciate the Gothic horror.
May 24, 2017
An admirable attempt by Kenneth Branagh but it should NOT be called Mary Shelley's Frankenstein.
May 6, 2017
Very interesting performance from DeNiro, His portrayal was the only likable character in the movie. Branagh's direction was a little "over the top" as he made the movie more of an "action" movie than horror. I think the movie could have been better with some more subtlety but some people like all the "overly dramatic" scenes. By the way, Branagh looked AMAZING in his shirtless scenes!
½ November 12, 2016
At times it's exceptional poetry - at others, it can be a fine mess.
½ November 7, 2016
2016-11-08 lots of plot holes and illogical actions
October 25, 2016
Bold, overblown and heavy, this is a disappointing adaptation but a marvel to watch thanks to Branagh (both behind and in front of the camera) and DeNiro's inspired performance.
October 22, 2016
While it veers into melodrama, Mr. Branagh's take on the gothic tale is undeniably faithful to the literary source material.
Super Reviewer
½ June 22, 2016
Good adaptation of the novel into this suspenseful, traditional horror film. While everything was not completely accurate to the novel, the film did an excellent job making its own way through the story. DeNiro as The Creature was amazing, definitely the best performance of any of the actors in the film. If you study this book in school, don't take your test based on this film, but it's a good supplement to the book.
Page 1 of 81