Mary Poppins Returns - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Mary Poppins Returns Reviews

Page 1 of 73
May 22, 2019
It was fine but the music wasn't as good as the original. And why is the banker just 100% pure evil?
May 20, 2019
mary poppins retunrs its a film for all family. the cast are increible, the scenary are lively and fun, the music are lovely.
In the film the bank want to take the Bank`s house , they have until friday to pay all the money, Mary poppins entrance are great, the film is very ool and funny
May 18, 2019
Over 50 years in the making, Mary Poppins makes her grand return to the big screen in this brand new sequel to the 1964 original classic. Emily Blunt plays the practically perfect in every way magical nanny, originally played by Julie Andrews. Blunt does an excellent job bringing a new take on the titular nanny. She leads the film with an intrepid supporting cast including Lin-Manuel Miranda, Meryl Streep, and Angela Lansbury. Much like its predecessor the sequel is a musical that showcase brand new songs that are well crafted and really enjoyable. It not only features incredibly beautiful visual effects, but also a nice throwback with its combination of live action and traditional hand drawn animation. They do also include some nice computer graphic imagery in the film, most notably during the ocean scene in the "Can You Imagine That?" musical sequence. This sequel is a lovely homage to the legacy of its predecessor, while delivering a magical new Mary Poppins story that's familiar yet still an enchanting follow up to the 1964 film.

Walt Disney's original film is both highly regarded, as well as considered a bit of a relic of its time. Although its appeal has not diminished with the iconic music, and memorable performances of Julie Andrews and Dick Van Dyke from the original film. Emily Blunt makes the role of Mary Poppins her own marvelously, with a stricter and firm portrayal than from Julie Andrews kinder take on the magical nanny. Blunt gives Mary Poppins a slight edge while maintaining her gentle side. The supporting cast do splendid jobs in their roles. Some honorable mentions include Lin-Manuel Miranda is very charming as Jack, a lamplighter and former apprentice to Bret from the original film. Meryl Streep brings a delightfully quirky performance as Mary Poppins Eastern European cousin, Topsy. Angela Lansbury (who voiced Mrs. Potts in the animated version of Beauty and the Beast) has a very sweet small role during an uplifting musical number towards the end of the film.

The musical score and songs is helmed by Hairspray songwriters Marc Shaiman, and Scott Wittman. Their songs are not only highly enjoyable but have a surprising amount of depth to them. Although, they lack the irresistible charm and feel more like counterparts to the Sherman Brothers tunes. That's not to say the songs are in anyway as bad as some would have you believe, they're beautifully crafted and feature some wonderful messages for both kids and adults. Some of my standout favorites in the film are "Can you Imagine That?", "A Cover Is Not the Book", and "Trip A Little Light Fantastic". However, the song that is my #1 favorite in the film is the one Angela Lansbury sings called "Nowhere to Go but Up". It's a truly beautiful finale song. Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman do a tremendous job integrating the songs while moving the plot forward at the same time.

The story of this sequel delivers a big dose of nostalgia. It tends to feel as though it almost mirrors that of the 1964 film, but still manages to expand upon its predecessor. Although, it hints at an important part of the plot rather early on in the film. The visual effects and animation are quite possibly even more magical than the original. I'm especially glad Disney stayed true to the originals legacy of using traditional hand drawn animation. Not only that the film also featured some pretty neat computer graphic imagery, particularly during the ocean scene in with the dolphins in the "Can You Imagine That?" musical sequence.

Overall Mary Poppins Returns is a truly wonderful follow up to its predecessor. Emily Blunt is a fantastic new Mary Poppins for a new generation, with an equally impressive supporting cast. The score and songs are exceptionally beautiful. Even if you don't find yourself humming the tunes when the movies over doesn't mean they are necessarily bad, they just don't quite reach the standards set by the Sherman Brothers. It honors the legacy of the 1964 film with its music, visual effects, and animation. The plot is similar to the original, but suffers from revealing is plot quite early in the film. Yet it still manages to capture much of the magic of the original film quite brilliantly.
½ May 15, 2019
the special effects are amusing, but the story feels rushed, and mary poppins feels vulgar on her interpretation, i think the actress didnt quite made the fit
May 12, 2019
Excellent! Just as good or better than the first one.
May 10, 2019
I really enjoyed this movie.
May 10, 2019
Loved this movie. Enough references to the original to make it feel like a continuation and enough newness to hold my interest.
May 8, 2019
The nostalgia in this movie is legit. Emily Blunt somehow managed to perfectly capture the mystique of the enigmatic Mrs Mary Poppins, she ain't no Julie Andrews, but she came damn close and did Julie justice. Her singing voice is pretty good, though I'd be lying if I said I wasn't missing Julie Andrews' higher octaves. Mary Poppins knows how to make an entrance, and Emily's version made quite a spectacular one. Keeping in tradition with the original film, this film wonderfully blends CGI, live-action and 2D animation in one seamless go, proving that Disney's still got the chops to do a proper 2D animation, it was their bread and butter after all. The story is refreshing yet familiar enough for fans of the original to spot the similarities, though it's more of a nostalgia trip. The music was wonderful, though it doesn't come close the original songs, some of which were name-dropped in the movie, but that doesn't detract from the entertainment value of the film. Dick Van Dyke's cameo was hilarious and Angela Lansbury (Mrs Potts from Beauty and the Beast) was a wonderful sight to see at 93. Not that the film really needed a cameo by Julie Andrews herself, but that was the one thing the movie was sorely missing. It's difficult to sum up the movie in just one word, but there is one particular word that sums it up practically perfect in every way. As Mary Poppins said herself, it's a word you say when you don't know what to say: It's Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious.
May 6, 2019
Awful movie. Mary Poppins returns could have been a brilliant movie, but shot for shot it is a budget copy of the original. Songs are not memorable, Emily blunt voice throughout the movie is too stern all the way through, no melody in her voice like Julie Andrews .
May 4, 2019
We saw this 2x. Great family movie. Love the music and loved Emily! Truly wonderful. Bring back more musicals.
May 4, 2019
Derivative from its predecessor and having the misfortune of being the sequel to one of the most beloved Disney movies of all time, Mary Poppins Returns is still a fun sequel thanks to some catchy new songs, good performances with Emily Blunt being a suitable replacement, for lack of a better word, for Julie Andrews as she inherits the personality traits of her counterpart but still has enough changes for Blunt Poppins to have her own identity, amazing production design and dance choreography - "Trip a Little Light Fantastic" is no "Step in Time" but make do with what you have" and sweet nostalgic tone. Mary Poppins Returns may not be supercalifragilisticexpialidocious but it still serves as a lovely return to the world for those who grew up with the first film whilst successfully managing to introduce the character to a younger generation.
May 3, 2019
Very cute Emily blunt is brilliant in this movie. Carries the same vibe as the original
May 3, 2019
This is TV series level production with a horrible story line and a new take on Mary Poppins character - turning her into a raunchy vaudevillian. Emily Blunt is the only reason this positive, exception being going along with the vaudeville scene.
May 3, 2019
Mary Poppins Returns film seems to be a kind of a musical film. So, it's a little difficult for me to review because I'm not that much fan of those kinds of films.

First of all, Emily Blunt as Mary Poppins surprised me. Although I've saw just on film which she was in (film name is The Girl On the Train), I didn't think that she could fit the role. But amazingly, she could. She did a great job, especially the dancing scenes which I don't like that much but those scenes are amazing.

The makeup is so good. Emily Blunt is so beautiful, like I could fall in love with her. (Just kidding. I was just saying how beautiful she was in the movie.)

The costume is also cool too. I bet the costume designer put a lot of effort to it. I love that they chose the old times rather than the current era. (You know what I mean. I love the English's old times because the costumes are so cool.) I totally love their outfits.

The acting is also good, especially, Ben Whishaw. I couldn't even recognise him because of his moustache. When he started to talk, I could recognise him. At that time, I was like oh, it's Ben Whishaw. LOL.

Everything is perfect in the film. The location, the settings and all, but there are two things I don't like. One is maybe because I'm not that much into original score, I don't like the songs. Those songs they sang made me annoyed. Every time they started to sing, I wished those scenes needed to over soon, so that I could continue to watch.

The other thing I don't like is the film is full of dancing scenes. It's like an Indian film where a lot of people are coming out of where the audiences don't know where they are coming out, out of the blue. I kind of don't like those kinds of films.

To summarise, the story is so simple but maybe the director is good, it didn't make me bored. I watched this last night before going to bed. At that time, I had semi-heavy eyes, but I didn't feel sleepy or fall asleep. I could watch it from beginning to end. Some scenes are funny and some scenes are sad, plus some songs made sad more and more. You will feel some emotions and at the same time, it will make you feel warm to see how Mary Poppins take care of children. So, it's a film that is good to enjoy with family. It's totally worth spending time with.
½ May 2, 2019
Wanted to see this for Emily Blunt. The cast is spectacular. Unfortunately, this is an unnecessary sequel. The Cover is Not The Book is a great tune, but there aren't any songs like Feed The Birds. It is a fun, enjoyable film.
½ April 29, 2019
How bad songs can throw away a movie that could have been good. Plain overheard songs in bad musical style, the kind they use for fill-in songs among the real ones.
April 29, 2019
Delightful! Although it is quite predictable, this is a very enjoyable movie that is a worthy addition to the original. Visually and musically superb and true to the original on both fronts. Emily Blunt delivers in the title role and the supporting cast are strong. A good movie that will surely become a staple for kids for years to come.
April 28, 2019
This film is very visually stunning, has great acting, directing, and catchy songs. However, it is very similar to the original. This film just seems like it saw what made the original fantastic and tried to replicate that as best as it can.
April 28, 2019
Great family focused film. Anyone familiar with the original will love this film. Emily Blunt beautifully captures the commanding yet kind roll of Mary Poppins. Fantastic musical score to go with it. Very well shot with good colour grading and very high quality sound. All round 10/10 a must see if you liked the original!
April 28, 2019
The entire reason people enjoy Mary Poppins is because of the Magic. This movie had very little of that. The music was cringy. The story dragged on. All of the characters were forgettable. Yet another disappointing remake. There's been many of those here lately.
Page 1 of 73